We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Lounge Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reading Cinemas

Reading Cinemas
30 Pearson Street, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290 , Australia
(02) 4032 1150
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Pokolbin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gold Lounge Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It will be hard to view a movie any other way now. We decided to see the Hobbit on the big screen. Seeing as we dont go to the movies all that often we didced to do it in a bit a style. Recliner chairs with a bottle of red, brilliant!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
182 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The theatres are quite new to the area and in the extensions to the Charlestown shopping centre. We have been and tested most of the theatres eg gold lounge, 3d and the normal ones.. you guessed it we liked the gold lounge best of all and there is also a great selection of food as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gold Class is ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Skyfall in Gold Class was great! Not hungry so didn't do food but companions were sated. Seats adjustable and very comfortable. All round great experience. Good sound system.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Typical cinema”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was an average theatre but nothing to rave about, with average seating with tied decor and limited selection of movies. Parking was not the easiest

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go Gold Class- You'll never go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I have been to Reading Cinemas Charlestown Gold Class a few times now and I could never go back to watching a movie in a regular cinema anymore. It's only about $10 more than a regular cinema price and it is SO worth the money! The service is excellent, the private bar area is a classy place to wait before the movie starts- no more lining up outside of the cinema doors! The food is ok, but was honestly a little disappointed. The pizzas are really just focaccias and the wraps have a heap of lettuce and not enough meat in them. But the desserts and hot drinks are amazing! And having it all brought straight to your seat at a time of your choosing is such a special touch. Inside there is a ton of space in between each set of seats and they are very comfortable. Definitely recommend going here!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Cinemas also viewed

Speers Point, Lake Macquarie
 
Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Reading Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reading Cinemas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.