We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2014 in Newcastle, Charlestown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Pacific Highway | Newcastle, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 2, Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Summer 2014 in Newcastle, Charlestown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room was large and comfortable. There was a sofa to relax in with a convenient position to see the wide screen TV. Many comparable hotels have only a chair or a sofa that does not face the TV directly.

The hotel staff keep the rooms looking presentable and clean.

"Babbington's" restaurant is a very fine dining experience. The dinners are of a high quality. The breakfast offerings are very satisfying.

Despite the busy highway location, my room had no traffic noise.

The hotel staff were efficient and friendly.

One of the region's major shopping malls, Charlestown Square, is located about 5 minutes away by car. It can be reached in an easy 15 minute walk.

I chose to stay at Best Western Plus Apollo International. I had stayed at the hotel twice before. The location was near to the places that I wanted to visit.

I recommend this hotel. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Time your arrivals and departures by car to allow for highway traffic and the location. The single d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Kevin

Thank you for the time completing this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

It gives me great pleasure reading these reviews out to all the staff concerned and commending those that have gone the extra mile.By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    122
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
52
100
16
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stay for one night after our Cruise with Royal Carribean. We had breakfeast. And was serwed Egg Benedectin. Bueatyfull. So check that Scott is in charge for breakfeast. And includit in your stay.

The is just out in the middle. But thats not a problem with a car.

Clean and fresh roms. Frendly staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Google Translation
Hej Rulle,

Tack för att du tog dig tiden att fylla i gästundersökningen för vårt hotell.

Dina besök är mycket viktiga för oss och vi uppskattar dina synpunkter. Genom att berätta vad du tyckte om din vistelse, och hur vi kan förbättra oss, hjälper du oss att förse dig och andra gäster med förstklassiga upplevelser i framtiden. Vi hoppas att du snart kommer till oss igen.

Om jag kan vara till hjälp i framtiden ska du inte tveka att kontakta mig på 02 4943 6733.

Återigen tack för att du tog dig tiden att fylla i undersökningen. Vi uppskattar din lojalitet till vårt varumärke.

Vänliga hälsningar,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We walked in off the street to get a room at this hotel for the night whilst our motorhome was being serviced. We were greeted very warmly by the lovely Robyn Lee and we went with a Queen Deluxe Room including breakfast. The room was very nice and had a back door out to the garden, although we couldn't use this door for a few hours as the sprinkler was on the lawn right outside.
We had dinner in their restaurant Babbingtons Bar & Grill and it was a lovely meal with great friendly service. Can highly recommend the Sticky Date Donuts for dessert...these are to die for!
Breakfast in the morning was again lovely. A nice continental choice, plus a cooked meal. The restaurant overlooks the bush reserve behind the hotel which is very relaxing.
We were surprised at how quiet it was in the room too as the hotel is right on the Pacific Highway, but didn't hear any traffic at all. The hotel is walking distance to Charlestown Square which is a very large shopping centre with everything to offer.
Check out in the morning was again a very pleasant experience thanks to Hayley (we think that was her name..sorry if wrong) and Robyn. Can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again. B&B was $169.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway may be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Carole,

Thank you for completing the survey and sharing with all your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

I will express to all the staff members concerned your appreciation to the service received, it is always very encouraging to hear positive feedback like this. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by a very efficient receptionist and offered a discount with the breakfast. This was a nice touch. The room was spacious and well appointed. Just a suggestion if you wish to maintain standards light bulbs need to be checked when rooms are cleaned the lamp on desk didn't work, minor I know but annoying. TV reception snowy not a quality one would expect in a city area. Maybe over the Christmas period you have different cleaners than normal and standards drop as a result, long hairs in the bathroom near the toilet a little off putting.

Room Tip: Garden room lovely aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I must note that whilst you could not get the desk light to work this is only activated by placing your room key card in the key switch at the front door. I also acknowledge that the television signal in your room was not great, we are currently attending to this and believe this will be fixed shortly.

In reference to the hair found in the bathroom, I must apologise profusely. When cleaning the bathrooms the housekeepers are supposed to do a thorough check over. We are now looking into the use of hair nets to ensure no further incidents occur.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have never been inclined to write a review but I am now compelled to write one as I was so impressed with this hotel. From the time of checkin by Yvonne which was extremely efficient to the rooms which appeared to be recently renovated in a very sofisticated elegant manner. Dinner that evening was in the beautifully decorated restaurant and the service especially by Linda and Emily was first class. One could not have wished for 2 more polite, friendly and efficient staff. The meal was something I could only have dreamed of. Certainly worthy of 5 stars. Everthing about this hotel was fantastic and I will certainly look forward to spending another night there one day. I would recommend the Apollo International to anyone!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing with others, on Trip advisor, your wonderful feedback.

Our hotel’s young and dynamic team takes great pride in guest satisfaction and we care about each and every guest. The team was delighted to hear that our well-appointed and refurbished guest rooms, along with the efforts of our excellent front desk and award winning restaurant staff provided you with service that you can come to expect and deserve from a BEST WESTERN PLUS hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you intend on returning back to our fine hotel and our wonderful city of Newcastle, and look forward to providing you with another exceptional experience.

Sincerely,
Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very disappointed over Christmas. They provide a note saying there is no room make-up service over Christmas period as"guests won't want to be disturbed". Can you believe they think you would be so dumb to not know they are too cheap to pay staff penalty rates over the holiday period. Also, no free to air TV channels. The rooms are very noisy - thin walls. Overall. A cheap but pretentious dump. Stay away

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Guest

In reference to you recent feedback, the personal Christmas card letter that you refer to mentions that “should you require your room serviced” that you merely needed to call the front desk and it would be arranged. It is with past experience that on Christmas day, when the housekeepers knock on the doors to clean the rooms that many are told not to worry. We had over 8 housekeeping ladies that worked on Christmas day and serviced over 80% of all stop over rooms as well as all the departure rooms.

In addition to the Christmas card letter we also offered complimentary drinks down at the bar, complimentary homemade chocolates given in the rooms and left all my contact details on a business card, should you require anything over the Christmas period.

The room that you stayed in was the last of all the rooms scheduled for a television upgrade that will complete the newly refurbished hotel. I must note that whilst we acknowledge you could not receive free to view channels there were 10 Foxtel channels available that covered news, sports and movies. I must also note that this was mentioned to you on check-in.

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International hotel has recently undergone a multi-million dollar extension and total refurbishment, so your derisory reference to “Cheap” and your assessment that our property is a “Dump” is most disappointing.

We apologise for not meeting, and exceeding, your expectations during your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. I trust that this experience has not deterred you from staying with us again. If I can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International

Address: 290 Pacific Highway | Newcastle, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.