We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best asian i've had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistana Malaysian Restaurant

Vistana Malaysian Restaurant
115 Pacific Highway | Charlestown, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Charlestown
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best asian i've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The actual restaurant is a little plain but, it's always very clean and comfortable. Food is just awesome, the missus and I have been here a few times in the past couple weeks since discovering it and we can't get enough, consistently top quality.
Staff are always nice and willing too.
I definitely recommend it for Asian food lovers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best cheap Asian feed in Newcastle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Had the chicken Tom Yum $13, absolutely superb, wife had the prawn both seriously impressed.
Great staff
Very clean
Well price
Crap parking!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best Asian food in Newcastle, at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I work in Charlestown and dine at Vistana for lunch at least once a week. The food is consistently of a high quality, comes out steaming hot and is perfectly portioned. The menu variety is fantastic and, while dominated by Malaysian food, also contains dishes from traditional Thai and Chinese menus, to please everyone! The food comes out lightning quick after you order and the staff are always nice, especially the owner, who does his best to ensure you have a top notch dining experience. The Satay Combination and Mee Goreng are my personal favourites!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and delish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This has become a regular of ours and we are slowly making our way through the menu. Been nothing but impressed with every meal. Try the roti they are the bomb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Malaysian I've had for years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is not a fine dining restaurant but more a neat cafe style serving freshly cooked Malaysian hawker type food of a very high standard. We walked here from our accommodation on the recommendation of staff there. The look of the place didn't impress from the outside and inside we found a neat and clean area for eating in house. The kitchen occupies one wall so you can watch your food being prepared in large woks sitting on high heat gas jets, a bit like the average noodle place. We ordered Beef Randang with Nasi Goreng, what a surprise this was, we weren't expecting the beautifully cooked tender beef we were served, this normally needs slow cooking. The beef must have been prepared earlier and then turned into Randang so all the flavours are fresh. You order at the counter with the take away customers and the meal is then delivered to the table. We tried somewhere else the following night but found ourselves back at Vistana the next night, Randang again with some of the best Roti I've eaten.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vistana Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
 
Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Vistana Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistana Malaysian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.