We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self-contained accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlestown Executive Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charlestown Executive Apartments to your Saves list
Charlestown Executive Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   45-47 Dickinson Street, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent self-contained accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for three nights over the holidays. Was in apartment 18 on top floor: one bed, one bath, large lounge/kitchen/dining area, L-shaped balcony facing east and south; cable tv, nicely equipped kitchen; parking on ground floor; convenient location (if you're visiting charlestown). All booked over the net. Owner came out on Xmas day to give me the keys. Lovely bloke. Only suggestions for improvement would be some splashes of colour, as the apartment decor is a bit corporate, and better blinds in the bedroom

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear DHM2006,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay.

We appreciate the detail in which you described our apartments.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our décor and window dressings, it is definitely something we will keep in mind for future refurbishments.

Kind Regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    40
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
32
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My sister organised a little trip for my four friends and I to the area for beaches and shopping after we finished our exams.

We stumbled across this place online and gave them a call and easily booked an apartment for one night with the friendly and helpful staff. In comparison to other accommodation options, Charlestown Exec Apartments had a great location (less than a 5 minute walk to the main shopping centre and a short drive to some local beaches) and was the most affordable and presentable of the options. This was all evident during our stay!

On arrival, Graham and Laurel were very warm and accommodating and gave us helpful suggestions for local activities and attractions. The staff went well and beyond to make our stay comfortable!

The grounds and parking were secure and very close to the apartment which was great!
The apartment was very modern, clean and appealing. Kitchen was well equipped and the apartment was very nicely furnished and comfortable. Bathrooms and bedrooms were clean and spacious also.

I will definitely be recommending this place to family and friends, and if we ever come back up to the area, we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear ShaVan9,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay, we will certainly be passing on your comments to our staff who will be thrilled that their hard work has been noticed and appreciated!

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you, your sister and friends to our property. We are happy that we could make you post-exam visit to Charlestown enjoyable.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I took a quick weekend trip away riding our motorbikes and stayed at Charlestown Executive Apartments. Our apartment was on the ground floor apartment with direct access to the lock up garage - this was grreatly appreciated as we prefer to lock our Harleys up and under cover. The apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean. The location is central to restaurants, shopping and public transport. We took the bus into Newcastle and spent a lovely afternoon in the waterfront area. Graham and Laurel are friendly hosts and I would recommend this accommodation to the motorcycling fraternity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Christina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at Charlestown Executive Apartments.

We are pleased to hear you were happy with the cleanliness of the apartment as our housekeeping staff work extremely hard to ensure our guest's are comfortable.

It was an absolute a pleasure to have you stay at Charlestown Executive Apartments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We travelled with four young children and this accommodation ticked all the boxes. The kitchen was great and well equipped but the frypan was average (not non-stick). The rooms were large and pleasant, everything was clean and well presented, the only minor fault being that the bin in the room hadn't been emptied when we arrived. When I asked at reception about local dinner options the lady was extremely helpful and there were many options within easy walking distance. Overall we were very impressed and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear PreciousMemories0921,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay at Charlestown Executive Apartments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for unemptied bin, it was a complete oversight on our behalf and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We appreciate being alerted to situations such as this so they can be remedied straight away.

I am pleased to hear we could help with your dining options, it can sometimes be a tough decision as there is so much to choose from! Whether you feel like Modern Australian or something a little more exotic, Charlestown is home to some of the best restaurants in Newcastle.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Graham Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last night to attend a wedding. The apartments are very new and quite spacious. Easy to find just off the Pacific Highway and close to a large shopping centre. Bed was nice and comfortable and the owners very pleased to help with advice etc. Nespresso machine was a nice touch. It was very quiet given it is close to the highway.

The suburb itself is pretty dodgy, my wife was followed twice on her morning walk by some creeps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Dean66,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Charlestown Executive Apartments.

We are sorry to hear about your wife’s experience, this is a very unusual occurrence and we take the welfare and safety of our quests very seriously, we would have appreciated being altered to this during your stay so that we could address this straight away.

We are glad you enjoyed the Nespresso machine, it is one of our favourite new gadgets and is proving very popular with our guests.

Charlestown Square is the largest shopping and entertainment destination in the Newcastle and Hunter region and is a major attraction for our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Graham Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Located in an easy to locate but very quiet area. Apartment was very comfortable, modern and clean. Secure undercover parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear CecP277,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay at Charlestown Executive Apartments.

We find a lot of our guests enjoy the peace and quiet in our apartments, it makes for a very relaxing stay! We are pleased that you enjoyed our modern apartments as we want guests to feel completely at home when they stay with us.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Graham Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel was very accommodating to our needs and special requests. Clean rooms. Coffees, Tea, sugar, biscuits, and milk provided in room. Quiet location. Only attended one night for a wedding nearby. Close to shopping centre (a short walk) and a park for kids to play in across the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Manager at Charlestown Executive Apartments, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Lauren C,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Charlestown Executive Apartments.

I am glad that we could assist you on your brief visit to Charlestown, it seems you packed a lot in during your stay!

Our guests love the fact that we are so close to Charlestown Square because it really does have something for everyone. From shopping to cinemas and lots of food choices, Charlestown Square is a major attraction for our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
Graham Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlestown Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlestown Executive Apartments

Address: 45-47 Dickinson Street, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlestown Executive Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Charlestown, Newcastle Australia, - Charlestown Executive Apartments offers contemporary quality accommodation that seamlessly links the barrier between apartment living and hotel comfort. Perfectly located in its own cul-de-sac, just 15 minutes drive from Newcastle CBD, city beaches and Lake Macquarie, Charlestown ensures a quiet escape that is only minutes away from the essential business, shopping and tourist venues in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Charlestown Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlestown Executive Apartments Greater Newcastle, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlestown Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.