We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I faced my fear!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cradle of Humankind

The Cradle of Humankind
South Africa
27 11 659 1622
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rosemarkie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I faced my fear!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an incredibly interesting place to visit. We were limited for time as we had a flight to catch in the evening but you could easily spend a hole day here.

Initially did the tour of the cave system where the remains of Mrs Ples were found and they are still finding ancient remains plus lots of stalactites and stalagmites. There are lots of warnings before doing the tour about how you have to crawl and bend low and not to do if you are claustrophobic, have high BP etc. I am fairly claustrophobic so was a bit nervous but it was actually fine - there was a bit of crawling through narrow spaces but you could always see the "light at the end if the tunnel"!

After this we visited the Exhibition Centre which was very educational but also lots of fun. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable day out with knowledgeable and helpful guide.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    65
    17
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A lot of time and effort has been put in to this exhibition and it is well worth the entrance fee. The guides are informative and very helpful. I "lost" my husband at one section because he could not go through the one tunnel due to epilepsy and when I came out the other end he was nowhere to be seen, the guide helped me "find" him again.

The area is clean and tidy, lots of bins around and signage to show you your way.

Loved it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the trip and time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were staying in Sandton and decided to take a trip to the Cradle of Humankind. It was a beautiful day and drive. It is definitely worth getting a driver or going with someone that knows the area. Educational & interesting. We also enjoyed a late lunch in the restaurant - good food & great wine!! Relaxing, educational, interesting, and breathtaking views - what more could you ask for in a day??? Enjoy the journey & experience!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Cradle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Guides are knowledgeable but the sites to see are amazing. South Africa's effort in bringing awareness to its natural heritage is commendable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Maropeng”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staff very welcoming. Exhibit hall small,compact educational.Perhaps could have been made more attractive by adding more interests as Maropeng & caves are separate.One has to travel from one to the other. Well maintained,clean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cradle of Humankind also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 
Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Cradle of Humankind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cradle of Humankind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.