We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 208 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel served its purpose as a pleasant, relaxing overnight stay. It s very well positioned in the heart of Sandton, close to the highway, Sandton City mall and the Gautrain station. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms a good size, with everything required for the one night stay. Breakfast was an extra cost, but well worth it. The hotel also has a nice swimming pool and fitness room. On the downside, the bathroom had not been cleaned thoroughly, which is always a turn off in my view.

Room Tip: Families can hire two inter leading rooms and extra sofa beds are provided for those with more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
8
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

It was good enough for me - you can easily take a walk to Nelson Mandela Square and you can connect to OR Tambo from the nearest Gautrain station with no hassles.

The room I stayed in could have been lovelier with a mini-bar. If you don't want to eat in there's convenience of deliveries and the numbers of most service providers are readily available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed on business, the room was vary spacious , clean, the hotel had a nice pool area , the staff was responsive, not too many smiles but they did help. The room service was good but I had to go to the bar to bring my own food to the room, and waited 30-40 min before I was called to pick up the desert (something related to the fridge lock). I would use the same hotel if I go back to South Africa and Johannesburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This the best value for money hotel in Sandton, it is situated conveniently close to the highway to Pretoria and Johannesburg.

I also stay here when traveling to Joburg for meetings, it is close to the Sandton CBD area and surrounding business districts.

The rooms are clean and staff very friendly. Great foyer for meetings and tea and light snacks.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with view(watch tv while in bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We didn't spend much time here so I can't give much detail, but overall, I found it just what I needed in a hotel: clean, functional, I felt secure, & it provided what you need 7 expect in a City Lodge - kettle, clean bathroom, TV, comfortable bed, etc. Was a bit of a 'schlepp' to get my suitcase up 2 flights of stairs to my room though! Breakfast was average selection, but everything seemed fresh & tasted good. If you're looking for basic, reliable accomodation, this is for you!
To eat, we went to The Whiteboy Shebeen which is on the same property - really good afro-fusion-style food that's just a little bit quirky, with good service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

City lodge and chain of hotels are very good budget hotels, this one is very well located near Sandton where all biz offices and your meeting will be and to the shopping centers.
Secure,clean ...great service and good food. The staff is very professional and give you all advises for your stay in Joburg...
Remarks if anything...they should. Ot charge for Internet and TV cables will be a plus...

Room Tip: Your budget biz hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is well situated in Sandton, with easy access to Katherine Street. Staff were friendly and the room was clean and tastefully decorated. My room overlooked the pool, which meant that it was quiet - eventhough the hotel is situated on a busy intersection.Staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast selection was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Address: Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 208 Hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park-like gardens in the courtyard of the hotel contribute to a lovely ambience, accentuated by the swimming pool built as if joined to the lounge. For guests' convenience there is a fitness room in the hotel and a restaurant is located on the property. It is situated in close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes. It is 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square and Village Walk and a 30 minutes drive from the Johannesburg airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.