We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for business. Central and functional.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 207 hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Cape Town
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good stay for business. Central and functional.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel has all the amenities required for a short business trip. Location is excellent in the heart of Sandton, easy to find and access from one of the major highways. Service at the front desk, bar and breakfast was efficient and better than many South African establishments. Room was functional. Crisp sheets, nice TV, tea and coffee making facilities, stunning bath and adequate shower. Room was silent and the bed was comfy so the sleep quality was excellent. Overall room is a bit outdated and in need of an overall upgrade. No elevator to the second floor which I found strange. Had a few drinks at the bar with a colleague and the service was excellent. The breakfast was buffet style with everything under the sun. I understand why they have to charge R100 but I would offer a simpler option for half the price. I would recommend this hotel for business and not pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
8
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Pretty standard business hotel/motel. Great breakfast (though pricey at R 100+), small pool, nice coutyard garden, wireless expensive and slow in some rooms. Felt safe and OK for 4 day stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The hotel was just fine. Big and clean room, great bed, the check-in was quick and everything was OK. But when I asked for an extra help from the hotel (i.e. a two-hours late check-out) they denied (even considering that my room would not be occupied and that the hotel was pretty much empty in that day).

Whenever I'm travelling I want my hotel to take care of me and help me to relax and enjoy my trip. In this case, they didn't do it.

So, only go to this hotel if you are expecting them to deliver just the basic (although efficient) service they have to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GABORONE
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We always stay here when we visit Johannesburg as it is in a quiet location for the evening stop over.The City Lodge concept is well known and is our preferred choice for city stays.On our last trip we had booked in advance and when we arrived we were informed that there was no water at all in the hotel due to a municipal problem. The stafff were brilliant and arranged an immediate transfer to a sister hotel some 3 kms away. No fuss, no bother just great service and lots of smiles.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing rooms and then you will not have the carpark noises in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Room are great. Clean and comfortable. No frills.

On the negative side, tv is mediocre, wifi is expensive. Hotel has no vibe. It's a little soul-less. That said, it's still where I stay regularly for short business trips because it's very central, and good value for money?

Don't eat the food.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces in towards the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed here on the 9th July and I have no complaints about the hotel itself, the establishment is fine for a night or two with all the basics.

I decided to make another booking again for a one night stay in August and this is where I encountered problems with service.


An Amount for R 877.70 went off my Credit Card by City Lodge Katherine Street Sandton on the 30th July. I made my booking online on the 29 July to stay for one night at the City Lodge on the 5th August, I have the booking confirmation showing the date and time.

On the 4th August I cancelled the booking (I still have the cancellation confirmation clearly showing the date and time.)

The Terms and Conditions of City Lodge state the following:

Should you cancel your reservation prior to 12 midday on the day of arrival you will be refunded within 7 days of the cancellation process.

Should you cancel your reservation after 12 midday on the day of arrival you will be charged for the first night's accommodation and the remainder nights will be refunded by the hotel within 7 days. Please ensure you email all required details to the respective hotel.
This can be verified by going on their website.

The amount of R877.70 had in fact had already been cleared on my credit card and no refund was given. When I contacted City Lodge Katherine Street Sandton on the 11 August I was told by a lady called Thandie that I must fax them my credit card statement? I am not very comfortable with doing this for obvious privacy and security issues. WARNING IN SOUTH AFRICA YOU NEVER DO THIS FRAUD IS LIKE BREATHING HERE. So instead of someone doing their job at accounts and checking if in fact the credit was issued (like perhaps calling their bank- just a suggestion) they instead make it the customer's problem.

I have the Cancellation Confirmation that they sent me via email on the 4th of August which clearly shows the date and time of the cancellation.
To date I still have no refund and after numerous calls and emails my only alternative is to go to my bank and make a charge back.
It is a small amount but if they fail to refund one night what is to say they will refund a larger amount?

I will never again have anything to do with City Lodge. I get the impression they hope you will forget about them taking your money or hope you will not check your credit card statemen

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

This Lodge was the part of an organized tour. If ever we returned to Johannesburg, the Lodge would be our first choice. Room pleasant and staff outstanding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Address: Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 207 hotels in Greater Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park-like gardens in the courtyard of the hotel contribute to a lovely ambience, accentuated by the swimming pool built as if joined to the lounge. For guests' convenience there is a fitness room in the hotel and a restaurant is located on the property. It is situated in close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes. It is 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square and Village Walk and a 30 minutes drive from the Johannesburg airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.