We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffemount Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cliffemount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffemount Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Runswick
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Lovely view, we ate at the hotel on both nights and the food was of a very high standard. Breakfast was very tasty probably the best sausages that I have tasted. Staff were very polite and nothing was too much bother. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. We upgraded and had a room with a balcony which also had a telescope which allowed to see the view of the bay even more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    73
    33
    29
    18
See reviews for
26
214
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were booked into a room with no shower and only enough hot water for one bath, when we asked if it would be possible to move to a room with a shower we were told that we could not as the hotel was extremely busy. As it turns out the hotel was extremely quiet that night so I don't understand why we were not able to move to a room with a shower. The staff were friendly enough but the owners were very unfriendly and quite hostile which did nothing to help the lack of atmosphere in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Very surprised at this hotel. The restaurant is excellent and the food is of a very high standard. Most notable are the staff the manager and manageress seem to be there 24/7 and are two of the best hosts we've encountered whether in a 5 star hotel or b&b. Breakfast was one of the best we've had and we ate both nights at the hotel - they have an excellent chef. Not at all pretentious but a real treat. High quality local produce and prepared with a flair. The view of the bay is wonderful and we will return

Room Tip: Balcony rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel (Living Social deal).

The room was clean and had a lovely view of the bay but the heating went off after an hour. I rang reception and was told they would have a look at it. It came back on. However, the next morning I woke up very cold (6.45) am. the heating was off yet again. I rang reception and was told that the heating was timed to come on at 7.30; I presume that I was just supposed to freeze until then!! When it did come on, it was a good half hour before the room began to get warm.

That afternoon whilst we were in our room the heating went off yet again. I was told by reception that it was on a 'rolling programme' of coming off and on. Bearing in mind that the temperature was 2deg.outside, we were on the second floor of a hotel on a cliff top in February, that was not good news. The heating came on again, but sure enough, went off again. I spoke to reception, who said that they had had problems with water pressure and it was off at this point because someone was looking at it. I requested a fan heater as it was so very cold in the room.

We did not eat in the hotel as the menu looked expensive and the choice was not particularly to our taste. We ate at the Runswick Bay Hotel instead. The food was good and much more reasonable, and it was warm!! On the second evening we ate at the Ellerby Hotel, in a village about 1 mile away. What a contrast to the Cliffemount. The food was delicious, reasonable, there was a lovely fire and the staff were happy and helpful.

The other thing we were unhappy with was that at breakfast no one asked us if we wanted more tea or toast. We stay in a lot of hotels and this is something we are always asked. I had to ask for more tea and toast and on the second day and got 3 half slices!!! We do not eat huge portions, but thought that this was mean. Also the owner kept barking orders at our waiter which spoiled the ambiance somewhat!!

All in all, I would not pay the full price to stay at this hotel; in fact I wouldn't even pay half of the Living Social price!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in feb in room 5. Enjoyed our stay very much. We travelled with our dog and he was made welcome. Very good value for money and breakfast was lovely. Had an evening meal and this was also very good. Enjoyed the quaint bar. Spectacular views, even though weather was terrible. Scenic drive to Whitby. Only downside was wifi connection not great in rooms although ok in the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I bought a Living Social deal voucher for this place in October last year which expires the end of February and forgot I'd done so. When I received a reminder off LSD I rang the hotel to see if they would accept my voucher (£130) even though I hadn't redeemed it within the 30 day period. They told me they couldn't; because they were fully booked for the whole of February. I went on their web page and entered a couple of dates for which I wanted to stay there, guess what, there were lots of rooms available. It's left me with a bad taste in my mouth and I'm extremely disappointed with their actions

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have recently returned from 2 days of pure relaxation at the Cliffemount and we can honestly say that it was wonderful!! First of all the room, and I wish I had done this review earlier because I cannot remember the name, but it was an upgrade to a sea view and we were not disappointed. We even had a telescope on the balcony for an even better view of the coast, unfortunately the weather was not too kind as it was a bit misty but it did not spoil what was a beautiful view. Since coming home I have read some of the reviews about the hotel, mainly the bad reviews, now I know you cannot please all of the people all of the time but the one thing I was surprised at was the bad reviews about the food! I can honestly say that we have never eaten anywhere better, and if you look at our reviews we have eaten at a few places. The meals on both nights were fantastic, I will not bore you with what we had but I will say that all the ingredients were locally sourced and they were cooked to perfection. Anyone who complains about the food in this hotel must be really hard to please. The hotel itself is perfectly placed for you to enjoy the views, plenty parking, and a great selection of wines and spirits for you to enjoy with your meal and to relax in the lounge afterwards. The hotel is also perfectly placed if you fancied a trip to Whitby or even Scarborough. We took advantage of the dry weather and had a lovely walk down the steep hill onto the beach and a stroll along the wide beach, unfortunately you have to remember that you have to get back up that steep hill!! All in all the 2 days was well worth the trip down to Runswick Bay and we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anybody, go and enjoy.

Room Tip: If you can try and get an upgrade to a sea view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliffemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Runswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the rooms and public areas are being totally refurbished during winter 2008-spring 2009 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffemount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.