We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting accommodation in Champagne area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie du Mont-Aime

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie du Mont-Aime to your Saves list
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 et 6 rue de Vertus, 51130 Bergeres-les-Vertus, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting accommodation in Champagne area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed several times in this hotel, even as members of a large group of 80 people. The accommodation is quite complete in this hotel that has a nice swimming pool and adjacent fitness area as well. Ample parking space available. The hotel is located at walking distance of the surrounding vinyards. If one wishes to visit the Côte des Blancs or the Côte Sézannais this hotel is perfectly located. However, if you look for a more central location towards the Vallée de la Marne or the Montagne de Reims this is a bit less interesting.

The rooms offer sufficient space and are correct. Disabled persons can perfectly stay in the ground floor based rooms that are quite well accessible.

Nice and extensive breakfast is offered. Dinner can also be taken in the hotel restaurant though quality has ups and downs. For the price you pay for dinner there is better quality available in the area.

Personally I would suggest that you choose this hotel if you come to the Champagne area in groups. Individually or as a couple there a more charming (and less expensive) opportunities available.

Room Tip: Take a ground floor room in the 'back door area'. it allows you to park your car next to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
53
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reading, england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed here before and it does make a convenient stopover on the way south. That said, we were rather disappointed. The room was adequate but ordinary and awkwardly placed at a distance from the main building. I suppose covering the pool extends its use but it was nicer when in the open air - perhaps a sliding roof could have been managed. We also felt that while dinner was quite good it compared badly with other less expensive places we visited later - for example my foie gras terrine was poor quality pate, not whole livers.
Overall we felt the hotel was not justified in charging such high prices for a very average experience.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not in the new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This lovely little village sits off of the main road and at its heart is this delightful hotel. On arrival we waited for quite some time whilst reception staff sorted out a group booking with six Germans (part of a group of about twenty on a reunion) but eventually were given the key to room 61. It was in a block at the end of the car park with a view of the roof of the swimming pool. Hey ho, we were only there for 1 night. The hotel itself turned out to be almost totally full of Germans and there was only our car and one French car that wasn't German registered. Again, hey ho, but what it meant was that the hotel was spotlessly clean and very efficiently maintained. Although we didn't have time to use it, the pool area looked very inviting. Our room had everything one needed and was very comfortable. The high point of this hotel is the restaurant which was excellent. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful. We really wished we were staying longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a good hotel for a 2 to 3 day stay. The food is good, the wine list is extensive, the staff are helpful but do not speak much English (why should they it is in France) and the accommodation is very satisfactory. However, watch out for room 60. It is a double room with all the usual bells and whistles but also with a constant background hum from the power plant below. We lived with it for 3 nights - we were too idle to ask for another room but avoid it if you have the opportunity.

Finally, given the £ euro exchange rate it is expensive at 150 euro per night without breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid room 60
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went with some friends for a weekend of champagne tasting and the hotel had a good location in the middle of the champagne region. We arrived late and used it to dine, sleep and breakfast.
The restaurant is excellent and the service was correct. The bedrooms were well equipped with excellent beds. The view from the room was rather poor as we looked at a parking.
Breakfast had everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On our way back from skiing in the Alps we stopped in the heart of champagne land. The hotel was on its own in a small village but the fact it had a pool and sauna attracted us. It was easy to find in the dark but the receptionist was not helpful and seemed taken aback when we requested dinner for 845 so we could use pool etc. The liesure facilities were more than adequate. The room looked onto a car park and the hills and for two adults and a 14 year old ticked all the boxes-big, decent beds etc though it advertised free WiFi it did not work. We then went for dinner. After a week skiing we wanted to watch the pennies and a €29 set meal was the top of our budget however when presented with the menu once sat down, we were told this was no longer available and it was €45 per head. Wine ranged from €3000 (yes €3000!) To €28 so we opted for the sancerre at 28. The food though was excellent and we were treated to a gastronomic feast so we did not feel to hard done by. Again the staff were not cheerful or helpful. We had a decent stay with great food but be prepared to pay for it and not expect smiley faces (unless I suppose you ordered the top of the range wine!).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a stopover on our way back from the south. I just happens to be the right distance to break our journey but as we don't drink alcohol the Champagne area is pretty hopeless. We do love the Mont Aime viewpoint and as photographers love to return this hill whenever we pass by. But we will not stop here again. I asked for easy access and a shower for mobility problems and on arrival was shown to a first floor room with a bath! There is a lift but it is still a long trail from reception. The receptionist agreed to find me another room while we parked the car. As the car was full of luggage we didn't want to use the public car park at the side so had to find our way to the edge of the village and then wend our way through to the rear car park. She had found us a ground floor room right by the back door which was a big improvement until we found that the shower was broken and you had to hold the head! The menu gourmand was excellent for me but as my husband is dairy intolerant it was very ordinary for him as everything was served without sauce! This is the first time in over 10 years that chef has been unable to provide a different sauce for my husband! Not impressive in a quality hotel, a much cheaper restaurant the previous night had no problem providing an alternative. But we felt it was the waitress rather than the chef that was the problem, she just wouldn't be told to ask chef just repeated that it would be sans sauce! Another waitress then turns up with a bon mouche which was full of cream! She did take it away when asked and returned eventually with an alternative. But the overall experience is not one we will repeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie du Mont-Aime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Mont-Aime

Address: 4 et 6 rue de Vertus, 51130 Bergeres-les-Vertus, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Bergeres-les-Vertus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bergeres-les-Vertus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie du Mont-Aime 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Champenois vineyard, a charming hostelery in a delightful little village, at the foot in the Mont Aimé.Christine et Jean Sciancalepore offer cosiness and comfort allied to good food : 45 pretty rooms overlooking the terrases or gardens, an elegant dining-room decorated with floxers end its Atrium, original recipes, continental breakfast served in an attrative setting by the edge of the swimming-pool, sauna... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostellerie du Mont-Aime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Mont-Aime Hotel Bergeres-Les-Vertus
Hostellerie Du Mont-Aime France/Bergeres-Les-Vertus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie du Mont-Aime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.