We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel and Country Club Suerre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel and Country Club Suerre to your Saves list
Hotel and Country Club Suerre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Guapiles, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guapiles
Champaign, IL
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed several nights with a group while traveling. Rooms are clean and the food was good. The outstanding feature is the pool. It's the largest pool I have ever seen. Nice bar/cafe next to the pool. There were some language issues with the bar tender, but that was out problem, not his.

The facility is along a busy road in a "suspect" neighborhood, but I never felt unsafe. There is an attendant at the entrance road to check people into the facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
20
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for one night on our way from Poas area to Tortuguero.
The hotel located in a busy city and was our only choice there, at first We were a little afraid because of the mixed reviews but the hotel turned out really nice. The room was quite big, clean and even have a fridge. The hotel itself has a nice olympic sized swimming pool, so it was also really nice.
The service is good. We left really early to get to La Pavona, on our way to Tortuguero (1 and a half hours driving by car) so couldn't enjoy the breakfast which we were freely offered.

Our room was second floor and there is no lift so we had to carry our luggage upstairs but it is not too big of a problem.

To sum up, good hotel, has everything you need to enjoy a nice evening and a good night sleep.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I had to go to Guapiles for work. It is a commercial and agricultual town, on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. Although I had been there, I had never stayed overnight. Mi wife was skeptical about the Suerre, at best. But there was no other place in town that we had heard about in the city center. First impression was Jennifer, who made reservations with good humor and manners. When we got there, first impression was very good. It always helps. Everything was clean and tidy. We found that gardens were very well kept and it was a pleasure to see the different, beautiful tropical plants that they keep so well.
The room, although standard, was impecable. Every room has A-C, working and noiseless. TV old, but good. Beds were comfortable, with good linen to go with it. Bathroom was very clean, but ther were only bath towels, no hand towels; no tub. Good curtains that stopped the light and allowed for good sleep.
Restaurant is large, adjoining a good sizeable bar. Food was very good: we had a buffet lunch, quite complete and tasty; dinner was good and well coocked, with live guitar music, that we enjoyed very much; breackfast was very complete Costa Rica, with good "gallo pinto" tropical fruits coffee etc. Both the bar and dining room are very popular, with lots of people.
The hotel passengers can also enjoy the country club next to the hotel. It has an olympic swimming pool, 50 meters x 25 meters; 2 tennis courts, basketball, volleyball, etc. billiards and pool tables, football (soccer) field. There is a large Gym, with trainer and top of the line machines to work out.There is a small convention center.
Although Guapiles is not a normal tourist destination, if you go for any other reason, there is a good hotel to stay. Much beyond expectations. Do go.

Room Tip: Although I satyed a a standard room, they have de luxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed with my family in this hotel coming back from the beach, so it was a nice stop before heading back to San Jose. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the bar has a good selection of cocktails and the food is delicious. The staff was friendly and professional, and although at times the service was a little slow, I think this is the best hotel in the area. You find it all in one place, even a casino!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel is the best option in the area if you are in the area. Rooms are a good size, but there are no screens on the front pop out windows. If you like to have a little fresh air come into the room, you might get a bug or two flying in.

The swimming pool is an oly size, and well kept - great for those extra hot days. The gym has nice weight lifting equipment as well - bring your own towels if you are planning on sweating. They have spray bottles of alcohol to clean the equipment.

There is also a restaurant on the property which is very good. They have local fare, as well as some western dishes.

Room Tip: close the front windows to prevent any insects from coming in. Bring your own towel if you plan to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The best option a Guapiles. Good and large parking area, new rooms, free internet, large restaurant and bar, alternative restaurant close to the olympic size swimming pool, Gym.
The cost is expensive (100 US$), but it is the best option in town. Some of the rooms in the old building have a funny smell, but during my stay in March, a lot of work was going on on them. looks like they will be brand new in a few days.
If you are travelling on business or for fun, this is the best option in Guapiles. If your business trip is going to be small or just a room to get some sleep, then probably you will want a cheaper option, probably at half price. The issue is that you will have problems parking your car or getting poor beds in cheaper alternatives.

Room Tip: The new rooms located at the back are much better (bigger, newer), but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel looks nice upon arrival in the dark.

When we got to the room we got a big chill.

There are no windows other than milk glass. The room is of a good size, but looks like the interior of a fridge with cold bluish main lighting. Some spots provide a what warmer atmosphere.

Worse still, most rooms are set on an open space providing some daylight , but our room (137) was in a narrow passage, so no daylight.

The food in the restaurant was ordinary. The buffet for breakfast was sparse, that for dinner outright poor.

The bar has an unfriendly atmosphere, the bar at the pool is nice , but only open on the weekend while we were there. The other days it was closed. The weekend it closed at 18.00h.

With a name like "Hotel and Country Club" one would expect something a lot better than what it really is.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 136 & 137
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel and Country Club Suerre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Country Club Suerre

Address: Guapiles, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Guapiles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guapiles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel and Country Club Suerre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel and Country Club Suerre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Country Club Suerre Costa Rica/Guapiles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel and Country Club Suerre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.