We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, courteous service, could not be faulted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cartwright Hotel to your Saves list
Cartwright Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aynho B&B and Inns
Long Itchington
1 review
“Excellent food, courteous service, could not be faulted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Our group of 6 attended the Cartwright Hotel in Aynho as part of the Tropicana Foodlovers experience. The staff were friendly and welcoming, whilst courteous and professional. They attended the table to replenish drinks and ensure everything was to our satisfaction, but were not in any way obtrusive. Food was excellent, well presented and generous portions. Everyone enjoyed themselves and we shall definitely be going there again - probably later this month!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    60
    23
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
134
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this newly renevated Cartwright hotel. We were welcomed like we were family and felt at home with the warmth of the lovely staff. We will be back and have lready recommended this hotel to our frineds. Some have visited and fell in love with teh entire staff all ready. The resturant is very delightful and appealing. Thanks Caroline!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay at the Cartwright Hotel in the small village of Aynho was outstanding in every respect. The room was most comfortable with it's king size bed and modern amenaties, and the restaurant was absolutely superb.
Most notable was the general manager and her outstanding staff who presented themselves very well and really went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. Her motto is, "If you're happy, then I am happy," and she proved it! I'm not sure who the chef is but he/she really made the most spectacular breakfast, dinner and supper courses.
The village of Aynho presents a quiet character with loads of history. A stroll in around this village will give any visitor a true taste of how quaint, cozy and beautiful Oxfordshire really is.
Our special thanks to the general manager and her wonderful staff for making our stay a most comfortable and enjoyable one. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We are local to north Oxfordshire but hadn't got round to dining at the refurbished Cartwright Arms until August 09 - all I can say is wow, what a great experience we had. A very professionally run restaurant from start to finish - the staff are excellent, the food is superb, cannot fault the place at all. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We booked a night away at the Cartwright to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had read good reviews on Trip Advisor and seen a good restaurant review in the Oxford Times so thought we would give it a go.

Our stay didn't get off to a good start when we opened the door of the room we had been given only to find clothes all over the room and someone asleep in the bed! Apparently there had been a mix up and we were assigned another room. Our room (executive £110) was clean and fairly spacious but had a bit of a funny smell. The decor was ok but dowdier than I expected. The bathroom was nice and the bed and pillows very good.

We booked dinner for 7.30pm but went down for a drink at 7pm. Within 5 minutes they started gently pressuring us to sit down at our table, when we said that we would rather enjoy our drink in the bar first the manager said "I have got a nice table for you now, it might not be available if you wait till 7.30pm". This irritated me and didn't seem like good service or true - surely the manager could hold a good table for 20 minutes. We did wait till 7.25 and did get the good table but it didn't make for a relaxing start.

The food was ok but I wouldn't say it was any more than that. Both our starters were lukewarm and the mussels I had for a main course were gritty. My husbands lamb was fine but nothing special - he said that it felt like it had been cooked by a friend not a restaurant.

The service was equally so-so. We had 6 different staff wait on us over 2 hours most of whom seemed pretty inexperienced. The waitress who opened our wine took ages to do so, made a mess of the foil and rested the bottle on the glasses as she poured. None of these are terrible crimes but were just another example of how this hotel is very rough around the edges.

Breakfast was fine but again more attention to detail could be paid. The sausage was cooked through but had no brown on it at all (impressive!), the orange juice was very cheap carton stuff, the butter was rock hard and we were both given black pudding even though we had both said "No black pudding".

All in all an ok stay but nothing special (at all) so we won't be returning. We did like the area though and went for a beautiful walk around Broughton Castle which we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The cartwright hotel has a fantastic location and could be excellent but we were incredibly disappointed. Whist the rooms are a good size and very clean the walls were very damp. The service let the hotel down.

The hotel appears to care more about there restaurant customers rather than guests staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The booking made on the phone was welcoming, and at check in, even more so. The accommodation (recently refurbished) was excellent, and the a la carte food and wine was very high quality, topped off with service with an eye for detail.
Overall a very enjoyable, quality stay and real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aynho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartwright Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.