We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cartwright Hotel to your Saves list
Cartwright Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aynho B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a pleasant hotel in a lovely part of the countryside. We arrived early by accident and the staff were very friendly and accommodating in helping us get in to the room as quickly as possible.

We also managed to miss breakfast the following morning, but again the staff were supremely helpful and made something for us even though the kitchen was closed.

Top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    70
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
40
146
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

What a lovely friendly bunch of people at this hotel.Paul and Gary ( manager and assistant manager) seemed to have everything under control and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work. We ( 2 couples) had separate rooms, one in the stables through the courtyard and us upstairs in the main building.Couple of small comments. Courtyard room, as soon as door opened cold got in and needed small electric fan heater to get warm, and on a very rainy night got soaked running across to main building. Upstairs room old windows at front of building were so draughty that curtains were blowing horizontal!( nice curtains though) and the bathroom although quirky was down steep steps so a bit dangerous in middle of night. Breakfast and dinner were both great. Husband a bit disappointed as said real ale bar but choice of two and one 'off' for the two nights we were there. Lovely village for a brief stroll and well situated for Oxford, Stratford and Bletchley Park( we got free tickets for this). We booked this with a 'Travelzoo' deal but would thoroughly recommend the place to anyone.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day 2013. All staff very welcoming, Room warm and had all you needed. Generous tea/coffee facilities. Food just perfect and not overpriced. Would recommend to stay if visiting Oxfordshire as quite central to all tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8. Very pleasant, also had small seperate lounge. Did not see any other rooms so cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

A few ex-work colleagues and I booked a table for lunch in the early part of December 2013 and we were not disappointed with both the location and quality of the meal.

Ok, we are all relatively local to the village of Aynho, which can be found on the B4100 about 3 miles from Adderbury in North Oxfordshire. Aynho is known by the locals as the “apricot village” because in years gone by many residents planted apricot tress along south-facing walls, including walls running parallel with the road. Alas, most of the trees have gone now, but a few remain.

The Cartwright Hotel is a very interesting, and some might say, quaint property with a refurbished restaurant and a number of buildings at the rear of the main one offering a maximum of 21 rooms should customers wish to stay one or more nights. It also has a private car park at the rear of the main building.

We were led by very attentive and friendly staff to our table, which was in the conservatory part of the restaurant. The menu was varied and to give you an idea of what was on offer, my starter was a delicious prawn cocktail. Simple dish you might say, but I hadn’t tasted one for a very long time and I was not disappointed. My main course was a fillet of beef Rossini, served with seasonal vegetables and roast potatoes. The quality of the beef was outstanding and each bite simply melted in my mouth. I finished off my lunch with an individual Christmas pudding which tasted rather alcoholic and was accompanied by a generous helping of deliciously creamy custard.

The price of the meal was fixed and depended on whether the diner opted for 2 or 3 courses. As I said above, I went for all 3 courses (it is Christmas after all) and the price was about £23.

Because of the quality of the meals, coupled with its location, which is ideal for accessing the M40 (J10), Banbury, Warwick, Stratford-upon-Avon, Oxford and all villages/towns in-between, I would not hesitate in recommending the Cartwright Hotel both for a meal/drink and for staying overnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived on Christmas Eve. Great bar with roaring fire, welcoming staff and beer on tap. Our room was cozy and very clean. Dinner was terrific, cappucino creme brulee out of this world. Wonderful touch on Christmas Day our own stocking. Breakfast followed by treasure hunt, lunch out of this world, deconstructed beef wellington perfect. Turkey plate almost finished my partner, and all accompaniments were wonderful. We spent a wonderful friendly holiday away from home and definitely didn't feel under privileged, we were pampered. Definitely recommend for food, drink and rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a special package using Travelzoo. A lovely hotel expertly managed with staff that are a credit to the hotel industry. From the time we walked through the door until the email I received on the way home we were left feeling very special. The food was outstanding. Unbelievable value for money, we would have happily paid more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Used this place before for dinner and found the a-la-carte a tad expensive. This time we met friends here and went for the set choice, Sunday lunch. Lovely, efficient and cheerful staff and quality surroundings. We had two courses with wine/beers followed by coffee. All very nicely cooked and presented with sufficient for healthy appetites. Less than £100 for the four of us. Everyone (even the fussiest!) highly complimentary. Will come again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aynho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartwright Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.