We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cartwright Hotel to your Saves list
Cartwright Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Aynho B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We, two couples, stayed at The Cartwright Hotel last weekend. We both had lovely big rooms in the Courtyard one small problem sorted out immediately (who said what is it with you and mirrors!!!)
Food was brilliant both breakfasts and evening meals. Lovely trip to Bletchley Park the weather was even kind to us. But most of all the fantastic staff, such great fun and nothing too much trouble. Paul the Manager, his wife Jo and daughter Alyce with a y!!! Gary the assistant manager, John the chef and all the others. Thanks for making our weekend so very enjoyable, cheers here's to the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms No. 11 and 19 We saw the light!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    70
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
40
146
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Held business meeting for 20 in conference room then had dinner and stayed for one night .Really accomodating and friendly kept bar open late and food and service very good .Sausages and buffet breakfast really good . Bedrooms were in main building or in courthouse barn .bed comfortable and room 17 massive bed and could swing 20 cats
Will go back with the wife for weekend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked out the Cartwright Hotel for our wedding guests in Aug 2013. All of our guests thought the Cartwright was a lovely place to stay, and the Friday evening meal was fantastic - lovely flavours and great portions! The Cartwright Hotel rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the layout of the hotel around a large courtyard works so well for a large gathering of friends and family. All of the Cartwright staff were friendly and helpful, and happy to go the extra mile. We'll certainly call in when we next pass to sample the tasty restaurant food and excellent service. The location of the hotel is in a beautiful stone-built village in the quiet countryside, but with excellent road (motorway) and rail links in the vicinity.
Pete & Lara (UK)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

e love the oxfordshire hotel group having stayed in most of their other hotels. The Cartwright staff were all brilliant with assistant manager Gary a real character. Evening meals were excellent, beautifully cooked and presented in a lovely restaurant setting. We'd suggest the cooked breakfasts were a little bland (trainee chef perhaps?) but overall satisfying without wowing. Rooms were spotless and well appointed for a two night stay. Aynho is a delightful little 'Cotswold' style village surrounded by lovely countryside and appealing walks to other villages. The trip to Bletchly Park is worth the 30/ 40 minute drive
Overall we can recommend the Cartwright and would visit again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This delightful hotel is a gem. We arrived on the Friday evening and was given a really warm welcome by the hotel manager. Our room, No. 11, was possibly the biggest hotel room we have had the pleasure of staying in. The room was well furbished with a 2 seat sofa, armchair, coffee table and walk in wardrobe.

A large and clean bathroom with shower was also very nice. The room has fantiatic old oak beams that made it all the more special.

The bar area is very tastefully decorated, bright and extremely cheerful with a good selection of beverages.

The restaurant is also very pleasing to the eye. Bright, cheerful and well set out. The menu too is very good. Large potions of beautifully made food. Hot and very well presented.

A point that cannot go unmentioned is the staff are all so friendly and kind you feel like you are staying more with family and friends than a hotel. it was our pleasure to meet Jo & Gary, both of whom treated us like friends. Always ready to help and never to busy for a chat.

My wife and I will return definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in September on a Travel Zoo.
Eating in the hotel is recommended for both dinner and breakfast.

We took the option of the Oxford tour, we parked at the local park @ ride (Eaton Water) then on to Oxford.
Picking up up the "Hop on and Hop of tour buses a bit like London.
Recommend it all !

Room Tip: In the old court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay here through Travel Zoo. We had already had a similar break at the sister hotel in Deddington, which was excellent. Everything at the Cartwright Hotel was first class. We were cheerfully welcomed at reception. The room was comfortable, clean and had everything we wanted, including plenty of tea and coffee making supplies. We had a drink in the bar and ate in the restaurant both nights. We chose from the Market menu but you could also mix and match with the a la carte menu. There was a good choice and the food was superb. I wish this hotel was close to where we lived so we could eat there more often! We had a cooked breakfast both days and this was also very good. Last but certainly not least, the staff were amazing, Very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to Paul, Gary and the girls for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel, which was a little noisy first thing in the morning with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Address: 1 - 5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aynho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartwright Hotel Aynho, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartwright Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.