We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My heart is stitched in Stilts Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calatagan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort
Save
You added Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Calatagan, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calatagan
Laguna,Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My heart is stitched in Stilts Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stilts Beach Resort is not your typical beach resort. Swimming is not the only enjoyment, one could avail in this resort. It has atv as well. For guests who likes to go on a food trip, you are definitely going to be satisfied.

If you like fun, food and adventure? Go to Stilts beach resort. It is going to be worth your while...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
71
23
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
calafornya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Not worth it for the price. They charge you for a frackin' volleyball!
Water is very rough. Can't get it there and enjoy it w/o being swept into the sea.
Staff tried their best tho, but it just can't cut it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in one of the Small Cottages and the room look OK. There is an air conditioner only in the bed room so if you stay in the living room or if someone also sleep in the loft is very HOT!. There was hot water, refrigerator and drinking water dispenser. No TV in the room. The resort is below average, the swimming pool is very dirty. The food is terrible. We came on April and the beach and the water are full with Seaweeds so you can’t even enter to the water. Compared to what you pay I do not recommend coming to this resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amor and Mina H, Owner at Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi!

We will take your comments as a challenge to keep on improving our services.

We'd just like to clarify two things:

(1) We decided not to put TVs in the cottages because we want guests to just relax, explore the resort and bond with one another. A lot of our guests have loved this no TV policy because it encourages them to follow their bliss at Stilts.

(2) We've been advised by the Bantay Dagat not to remove the seaweed and the sea grass because these are important areas or habitats for marine life. We do our best to be responsible earth and water angels and we encourage our guests to be earth and water angels also. Some guests have even said that walking on the sea grass makes them feel better while others make it a point to check on the sea grass on their return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a marvelous experience we had...and most importantly, our mother (74 y/o) was satisfied happily. A real recommendable place for a precious family time... We left Stilts with gladness in our hearts. We felt the passion and sincerity of the management, the staff, and the crew.

Yes, there are a few hiccups... Like old closet, dusty drawers, the refrigerator stinks like there's a spoiled fish... We stayed in Palawan cottage, btw. Anyway, the friendliness of the employees makes you forget these small glitches. But I do hope, the management look on this small stuff, before it get worst.

I made the reservation through the internet. The reservation process (with the assistance of Ms. Iya dela Torre, Sales Associate) up to checking out, very efficient...no hassles!

To the friendly people of Stilts, keep up the good work.... Thank you, & MORE POWER!!!!!


PS: We didn't get our complimentary drinks as we arrived. ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I would like to commend the staff of stilts for a very well kept place. Was there for a day tour, the whole place very well maintained.
Shower and rest rooms are clean, except for some women from the company who had their outing there left their shampoo and soap sachets and and didn't even care to throw their trash in the trash bins. Staff always make it a point to check if supplies such as toilet papers and liquid soaps are available in each cubicle. There were even restrooms near the parking area.

Beach area was clean also, highly recommended even for small children, calm waters. But my daughter lost interest to swim at the beach during the afternoon because of the jelly fishes.

Each open hut has its own sink so its very convenient for those who would like to bring their own food though you have to pay for a corkage of 100 php per head. Snacks i think are allowed. Food was very reasonably price, in fact its cheap for around 150 to 350 php per viand and taste was ok not outstanding, its like eating in ordinary grill restaurants in manila. I suggest that if you'll be in small group don't bother to bring food anymore so you could really relax.

Contrary to other reviews, service was excellent, they will try to accommodate all your requests. From the time you enter the resort until you say good bye you will be satisfied.

We will definitely go back and will stay overnight.

Thank you stilts fro a very unforgettable experience, the happiness in my daughter's eyes until now is priceless!

Room Tip: for those going on a day tour, shower and restrooms in that area are a lot cleaner than those near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Sitting on the deck of our cabin on stilts, looking out to sea, the wind-ruffled water slapping against the pylons, the thatch rustling, the coloured flags slapping the flag poles, I am luxuriating in a foot spa and reflexology massage, while the girls have facials and Swedish massages with the bedroom doors flung wide to let in the breeze.
Our air conditioned cabin is officially large enough for 3, but there is a double and single bed in the large airy bedroom, a sofa bed in the living room and a single bed on a mezzanine level under the roof. There is also a water cooler with a large enough bottle to last the weekend, a real blessing, and a frigde twice the size of the average mini bar.
‘Stilts’ is located on twenty four hectares at the end of the Calatagan Highway, Batangas facing the South China Sea. It is a 2.5-3 hour drive from Manila, longer if you stop for lunch in Tagaytay. The coast road takes you into the middle of nowhere, and the final lap along a cracked concrete rural lane past goats and carabou is a puzzling approach to a beach resort. Yet we finally emerged into a graveled car park set amidst colourful flower beds, only a short walk to the sea. Here, rickety wooden jetties weave between the half dozen or so cabins nesting above the waves, pretty coloured glass windows in green and yellow and blue are framed by white weatherboard and palm leaf thatch.
The gardens around the pool, are shady and green, blooming with tropical flowers.The trees, walls and flower beds are also decorated with painted signs full of homilies, song lyrics and pointed quotations from the rich and famous.
Meals were served in an open air pavilion restaurant above the sea. The menu, aside from the wood oven pizzas and barbecue, consisted largely of regional dishes with a heavy emphasis on coconut milk and chili: Bicol Express, tasting reminiscently of green curry; tilapia (a local freshwater fish) cooked in coconut milk; banana hearts and pork served in coconut milk; sinigang, chicken adobo, lechon kawali, sisig and stuffed squid. Soy sauce, sweet chili sauce and banana ketchup featured as ever-present condiments. Halo halo, turon (fried banana spring rolls) and leche flan add a sweet finishing touch.
There were plenty of activities available: 21 hectares to be explored on foot, on horseback or by quad bike. Snorkelling, kayaks, pedal boats or bancas were all available, or simply floating just off-shore on a raft with a cocktail at sunset.

Room Tip: Try to book a cottage over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beach: white sand, best to go for a swim during a high tide. Cottage: rooms and bathrooms are very clean, seems newly painted/fixed, purified water dispenser and ref available. Pool: 1 adult and 1 kiddie pool. Complementary breakfast buffet was simple, fried rice, omelet, chicken adobo/sausages, fruits and cereals. all the staff are polite and helpful. My kid enjoyed horseback riding along the beach. For lunch and dinner, food ordered from the restaurant was pricey. You can ask them to bring your food to the cottage or to the beach. Not much people there for the day tour on a weekday so the beach was almost empty. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: choose the Cebu cottage, the cottage has the best view and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort

Address: Calatagan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Calatagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calatagan
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Stilts Catalagan Beach Hotel Santa Ana
Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort Batangas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stilts Calatagan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.