We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to relax!! Owners are delightful!! Magnificent views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirabeau

Save Saved
You added Mirabeau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mirabeau
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Via Provinciale 79, 22030 Civenna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Civenna B&B and Inns
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Time to relax!! Owners are delightful!! Magnificent views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

High above the lake within a short, scenic drive to Bellagio. Family owners are wonderful, supportive and made us feel welcomed in their home-like rather than hotel-like ambiance. Hospitality is among the very best. We have visited, lived in and/or worked in 150 countries. Italy is among our top three favorites. With a corner room, windows opened to an extraordinary view of lake and mountains. Breakfast buffet includes delicious selections. A walk around the resort grounds offers a variety of places to sit, relax and enjoy a perfect espresso or cappuccino. If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay outside a city, we highly recommend Hotel Mirabeau!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Unfortunatelly, we have stayed only one night however, the stay was wonderfull. The owners of the family were really, really, really nice.... They helped with everything that we needed. Unfortunatelly, I think there were onlz 3 rooms takend at the time we stayed. Its about 15 min drive from Bellagio but its worth it. The views are amazing. We had dinner the first night and it was fantastic. Really really good. The rooms size was ok, everything was really clean, the room was a bit outdated but we never pay attention to it untill its clean. The bathroom was decent size and clean.
Would definatelly stay again and would recomment to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Let me start by saying the family running the hotel are the friendliest hotel owners i have met, a nice welcome down to breakfast and dinner each day and always smiling. The son(i think) waited on me to arrive at 2am which was nice despite me being almost an hour late.
The view from my balcony was absolutely fantastic overlooking lake como and the mountains!
Now the rooms.... the bathrooms are new renovated and are nice, not bery big but its all you need. The bedrooms however are very dated like something from the 80's/90's, the beds also feel like they are from that era, springs poking into your back and very very small single beds, that creak when you move on them. This not not make for a good nights sleep!
The food in the hotel was ok, breakfast buffet was good, i visited in April and was the only guest , soi maybe in the summer there is a bigger variety. Dinner however was not so good, i expected some home-made Italian cooking, however it was a bit like microwaved lasagne and the main course was slices of cold beef with fries, not very italian. However it was reasonably priced, however i got a meal for the same price in Como in Pepe Nero and it was superb!
Also the pool was not open yet because it was April and cold, but it looked lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This must be a paradise over spring/summer/fall with every activity possible on the premises. Great view. Staff extremely friendly. The hotel restaurant surprisingly good. Recommend having a car if staying there, plenty of free parking. Public transportation not good enough therefore and in order to explore or even go to the store a car is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Mirabeau on a self-planned tour of northern Italy. I picked Mirabeau because I wanted to be on the lake, it looked beautiful and it was close to Bellagio.

We took a train from Milan to Como and then took the beautiful ferry to Bellagio. When we got there we tried to get a cab to the hotel in Civenna which is 8 Kilometers southeast. Not a singe cab would take us. So we asked a woman at hotel in Bellagio to call and see if someone in Civenna would come and get us. The owners sent their son to pick us up, which was really nice. He didn't speak very much English. We were trying to figure out how people normally get to the hotel, because the directions for arrival on our booking only had the address. We didn't know until we settled the bill that they were going to charge us 20 Euro for the ride.

The hotel was nice, the food was good and not too over priced, the pool was beautiful and we had a great balcony with a lake view.

However, the bed was not very comfortable, in fact some of the metal springs were coming through the top.

The biggest problem was that we were stuck in Civenna at the hotel and couldn't explore any other part of the lake. The locals also spend a lot of time at Mirabeau and were very very loud outside our window on both nights of our stay.

Overall I think its a nice place to stay for the price and the family that owns the place was very nice.

Room Tip: Ours had a great view but was also really really loud. Not sure you can get both quiet and the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Nice family run hotel with stunning views.
Pool area was very good
Rooms are a bit dated, but very comfortable, bathrooms etc are being modernised
Bit of traffic noise in the morning, but not too bad.
Views from the rooms are just the best.
Food in the restaurant was very good and not over priced.
Best of all were the staff who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabeau

Also Known As:
Mirabeau Civenna, Italy - Lake Como
Address: Via Provinciale 79, 22030 Civenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Civenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Civenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mirabeau 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offer our customers a holiday in complete relaxation is our goal. Meet their every need is our greatest pleasure. The atmosphere of the place will make your stay unforgettable. Life will seem like a dream, so that you will not want to leave. For this reason, we are always here, waiting, ready to welcome you as friends whenever you decide to come back. FLORA & FLAVIO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.