We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stackyard

The Stackyard
McClaren Way | West Herrington, Houghton-le-Spring DH4 4NB, England
+44 191 512 4901
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: "The Stackyard Pub is set in the village of West Herrington we offer Home cooked food, a Weekly changing specials board, Real Ale and a wide selection of drinks. The Beer garden is to the rear of the pub through the conservatory. There is car parking either side of the pub with a side entrance to the garden also. Offering views of Herrington country park and Penshaw Monument. Dogs are welcome in designated areas & treats available.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First timers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

First time we had visited the stackyard for our lunch on thursday lunch time, as soon as we walked in we were greated with a warm welcome and given menus and told about the specials board. We decided to go for hot beef and gravy ciabattas with chips. The food was lovely and with 'proper' chips. We will be visiting the stacktard again as the menu has plenty of food we wanted to try. With friendly staff and good food, what more could you ask for? :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My second visit to the restaurant, dined there for lunch with family, we three each ordered a different meal. The food was beautifully presented and we all agreed it was delicious. I rather fancied the paella which has to be ordered a day in advance and for a minimum of two person I shall definitely have this on my next visit which will be soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spring Clean overdue!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My first visit but not a great first impression. Was a lovely sunny (early) evening but when I went out to the beer garden the furniture was dirty and the area looked very neglected. I know we have had a long spell of rotton weather but in the lead up to a bank holiday weekend I'd have thought some attention could have been paid to this area. On the plus side, the food was good - there was a group of us and we all had something different, no complaints there. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I often lunch here with the girls or family and the food is delicious and good value for money. Not pre frozen and tasteless but fresh and tasty,chicken Kiev or surf & turf are my favourites but the hubby favours the fish and chips. Sunday lunch is also top notch .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderlland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been a few times now recently and will definitely be going back, it is fast becoming one of my favourites. Loved the tapas menu and have also eaten from the main menu. Never any complaints with anyone I have been eating with.They also do monthly theme nights, Greek is next... definitiley booking for that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stackyard also viewed

Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Stackyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stackyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.