We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Provender

Provender
3 Market Square, South Petherton TA13 5BT, England
01460-240681
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Café, Bistro, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Somerset deli and café selling a wide range of local produce which includes; Somerset farmhouse cheeses, locally produced smoked meat and Dorset hams, loose and jarred olives, fantastic chocolates, local apple juices, renowned local beers, ciders & fabulous Somerset Cider Brandy along with crusty breads, baked fresh every day.In our bright and airy 30 seat café - part of which overlooks the picturesque village square - we serve a wide range of freshly cooked breakfast snacks ; individually prepared lunches [accompanied by our home-made, signature salads]; fantastic coffees (our beans are roasted by Origin in Cornwall); a range of single estate teas and a delicious selection of truly scrumptious cakes (made by the team, on the premises). We pride ourselves on being able to provide tasty alternatives for customers with special diets - including vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went to the Provender Cafe on business as I was assessing the Provender Cafe's apprentice. The whole service was fantastic. I went for the recommended specials for main course and dessert and both courses were absolutely lovely. Topped off with a wonderful coffee and excellent customer service throughout, and considering it was cold and miserable outside the welcome and whole experience couldn't have been warmer - I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    34
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liss
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect cafe and deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are moving to South Petherton in a few weeks time and on our recent trips have visited Provender three times.
On the first occasion I enjoyed a warm welcome and coffee. On the second, my husband and I turned up before they officially opened but were welcomed in and had coffee and delicious brownies.
Our most recent visit was this week when we enjoyed the 'Deli Platter' for lunch.
This will become one of our regular haunts.
The cafe and deli are first rate and the gift items for sale are unusual and very tempting!
Can't wait till we live in the village!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Bishton, Owner at Provender, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for such a great review of Provender. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tony & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely people selling brilliant produce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here by chance for a cup of tea and left with Christmas presents for all the family! The owners were instantly welcoming, offering different samples (their own flavoured vodka and liqueurs - delicious!)
Definitely worth a visit to eat & drink in or buy to take home, highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I love weekend brunch in a nice cafe and after a couple of visits this place is my new favourite place for brunch. They owners appear to have put a lot of effort into making the experience as good as possible and they have a chef who delivers in the most important aspect, an excellent menu. Fab.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cafe and deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First review I've ever done - but felt moved to write what a great cafe and deli this is in South Petherton. Stopped for a quick coffee and lunch whilst working. Lovely place, food delicious. Homemade quiche and salad were just beautifully made. Had no time to shop but selection of stuff looked great. You would never know they had only been open 8 weeks when I visited. Worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provender also viewed

South Petherton, Somerset
South Petherton, Somerset
 
Ilminster, Somerset
South Petherton, Somerset
 

Been to Provender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.