We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luganville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Island Resort
Save
You added Oyster Island Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Luganville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in the Frangipani unit, the cheapest option and found it to be perfectly adorable! I had fallen sick in Luganville and we decided that if I was going to lay around in bed all day it may as well be in a nice place, and this was perfect! I could lie on the bed and enjoy the peaceful, beautiful view across the water.

The bathroom was very cute! previously when we had stayed in more traditional style accommodations it came along with a lot of bugs and dirt or dust from the ceiling, but this place was impeccable. We are so glad we stayed here, it felt very relaxing and pretty good value. Although without a kitchenette you might find the meal costs piling up. We were surprised that you had to pay for the kayak hire, as that's completely different from any other resort we've heard from.

The restaurant was very nice, but not cheap.

We didn't have much time here, but we managed to borrow a kayak and go up to the blue hole which was magical. A must do!

We also managed to snorkel around and find the plane crash on the island as well: a fun treasure hunt ;)

We went on the Millennium cave tour on our last day in Santo, and we had a nice time relaxing our muscles sitting in the calm warm water on the beach front of the resort and sipping fruit smoothies, a perfect goodbye to Santo!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    73
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
145
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I took my husband and 2 daughters 13 & 14 yrs old there for 6nights....Wow!...Loved it. Peaceful. Beyond our expectations. It is so quiet. Easy walk around the island. You snorkel right out of your villa...yes, it's true. The rooms are made out of local bamboo and perfect for everyone. We all stayed in one room and loved it. Very reasonable priced. The rooms are right over water. Plenty of space of everyone. Snorkelling - You can just stay in the lagoon or snorkel right around the island or go across to the other islands. It's easy and safe. You don't need to go deep. Lots of marine life. The resort is really laid back. No rush. Do lots or nothing. No TV which was great. The staff were fantastic. You really get to know them well. Very friendly. Helen/Gasper Thank you. The Chef cooks great meals. All the other staff equally nice. We highly recommend this place. There's only 11 villas and good for everyone. Xmas Eve we had the kids/families from the St Bernabas school come over and sing for us. They were great. Everyone got into the spirit of it. During our stay there were a few couples, young kids, elderly, large group of families. It truly is a good place. This is where you kayak from to go to the Blue Holes. I read that you need 2 weeks to enjoy Santo more...this is true. We did some tours but couldn't fit all in 6nights. We'll come again. If you want to get away from it all but still have access to everything if you need it....come to Oyster Island Resort. You won't be disappointed. One more thing NO mozzies. Yes a few cute geckos - no big deal. A few bugs won't hurt anyone. You are on a tropical island - no different than any of the tropical places in Australia. Starting planning your trip over...Go see the blue water hole and the Millenium Cave - We were impressed and can't stop talking about our trip. Thank you to everyone at Oyster Island Resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This resort was really lovely, we stayed for 10days and it was bliss. The island's grounds are kept clean and pruned to perfection! The rooms were amazing, though we did have a few little visitors at night ... (rats) ... they eat into the bars of soap, that gets put out in our open roofed bathroom. Not ideal, but there isn't much that can be done about it.

The chef at the resort is awesome!!! The vegetarian selection wasn't that great but once I told him, he made me something special almost every night.

The only minor complaints would be the sun-beds on the beach are crazily uncomfortable, and should get replaced, and the price of the food and drinks are a little crazy. We stayed in the bigger villas and between two of us we spent more on drinks and food than we did for the room!

In saying all of this, I would still highly recommend the stay here! I think 5-7days would be ideal as it was only the last few days that we got irritated over such minor things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Oyster for 5 nights in early december 2012 for his 30th Birthday. My boyfriend was a little concerned about getting 'bored' as he had never travelled to a place like this before but it didnt take long for him to relax into 'island time' and embrace it.

The rooms are simple but lovely and always clean (keep in mind that this is not a luxury 5 star resort with all the trimmings - so dont expect heated towel racks and spa baths!!). We stayed in a delux bungalow which was spacious and beautiful with the deck overhanging the water at high tide. I was a little concerned we would be hot being december, but the ceiling fans and the windows (with fly screens) allowed plenty of breeze off the water to keep us at a pleasent temp.

For the first couple of days we were actually the only guests on the island - we felt like royalty! this meant we explored the island and all its little beaches without coming across another person which was lovely. Once more guests arrived, it didnt really change as the island has plenty of space for you to find a place to yourself if you want to.

The snorkelling was great - straight off the beaches and easy to get find thanks to the markers the resort has set up and the map they provide on arrival. The plate coral was amazing to see as well as plenty of fish, starfish etc. We kayaked to the blue hole which was lovely - but as there was some others on the landing, we were unable to pull up our kayak so had to float around with it.

The resort area itself was very well maintained and tropical. The other facilities were all kept at the same high standard.

The food was great - we sampled a lot of the menu and raved over most things (especially the steak!) and the continental breakfast thats included was perfect for us and all fresh, local produce.

All the staff were very happy and friendly - although a little shy at times - but say hello and they will always say hello back. We were very impressed with this charming resort and island and we could have stayed a lot longer! we are already trying to work out when we can go back next.

There was only one thing that I wasnt thrilled about, which was the fee for using your credit card when checking out - 10% seemed a little much to me. But then again I did have such a great time it was kind of worth it!

Room Tip: delux bungalows are definately worth the little extra - much bigger and with large decks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really value all our feedback from our guests and hope to use it to help us improve our service. We do charge a 5% bank fee on all credit card transactions which is a transaction fee incurred from the bank. I have checked our records and all appears in order, however please email me direct if not, we are only too happy to help. Thank you and have a great day. Olly Jonas, General Manager - Oyster Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Qld
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Once you jump on board the boat to go over to Oyster Island (3 minute trip) the stress simply washes off. The Island is very peaceful, the service was nice, no mozzies(!), and the rooms comfortable.

I loved the outside shower/bathroom! As other reviewers have mentioned the ghekkos leave their droppings randomly but hey... big deal. Not.

The balcony directly outside the bungalows was protected and included steps down directly into the water which was clean (apart from a few leaves from the shade of the trees near the edge) and inviting. A lovely place to sit comfortably with a glass of champers and watch the sun go down in the evening.

It was a great place to base myself to visit Champagne Beach and the Blue Holes, which in my travels are up on the top of the list for the clarity of water and sensational swimming conditions. Unfortunately I didn't get to to the Mount Hope Waterfall drifting down the river which sounds awesome as I was only there for 1.5 days and ran out of time.

The Santo locals are amazing people, very friendly and welcoming who live very simply. 1.5 days was definitely not long enough and could have easily spent a lot longer. Next trip will spend less time in Efate, Port Vila (I was there for three days) and use it only as a hopping island to Tanna if needed as Santo (you can fly direct) was far more beautiful. The island of Tanna will be also included next time to see the active volcano and everything else I believe it has to offer.

No TV, which was fantastic. Free wireless available in the waterside dining area.

Great place for everyone, nothing snobbish about it, and an uncomplicated and relaxing holiday all round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Oyster Island was perfect for us, a couple unwinding after a busy stressful year. We sat and read on our balcony and spent hours in the water snorkeling and swimming. We were there for a week and only left the island once to kayak to the Blue Hole. As we had been to Santo before we had visited places such as Champagne Beach previously and this time we just relaxed and enjoyed the peace of the resort and the friendship of the staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic Christmas Holiday at the beautiful Oyster Island Resort, Santo. There were 10 all up in our group, including my wife and 2 girls, may sister and her family and our Dad. We arrived on Oyster on 18th December and stayed for 9 nights. We had bungalows 8 to 11. From the time we were met at the airport by Luke, taken across to the island by Daveson, and welcomed to the island by our hosts Ollie & David we felt right at home. Helen & Maria were fantastic and along with John, John & Gasper looked after our every need. John the chef prepared five star meals that will take a while to work off I am sure. Thank you also to Greg for showing us the blue hole and our float down river to the waterfall. Apart from the beautiful people and first class service the natural beauty of the Island and surrounds was great to explore. The coral and snorkeling was the best and could be reached directly off the balcony. Our kids loved the experience and we cant wait to get back again. Would highly recommend Oyster Island resort for the best family holiday experience around.

Room Tip: No. 11 very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oyster Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.