We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome Indiana Jones-type Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millenium Cave

Millenium Cave
Millennium Cave Luganville Santo, Luganville, Espiritu Santo 862, Vanuatu
5470957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 attractions in Luganville
Type: Caverns/ Caves
Attraction Details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An awesome Indiana Jones-type Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'd heard so much about the Millennium Cave Tour and it certainly lived up to the hype! Almost too exciting at times, so it's worth noting that it's a good idea to check that you're doing the trip with the proper owner-operators. You'll have a much better experience. They have the safety equipment and training. Best to book at the Millennium Cave office situated at the Sarakata River on the outskirts of Luganville. If you're not asked to sign an indemnity form, you're doing the trip with a rogue operator.

I learned two new Bislama words on the trip: "sofmad" (mud) and "as" (bum) ie, "Don't slip in mud and fall on your bum." Did I mention that the track from the village to the cave is very, very muddy? You need a reasonable level of fitness to enjoy the tour, as the elderly gentleman who did the tour with us discovered.

A really lovely part of the tour is the village experience. We spent the night in a local house there which was a real highlight. Again, ask at the Millennium Cave office for details.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    19
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Amazing trek along the river flowing through the cave, followed by a good swim (with a buoy) along an amazing gorge, with the rainforest surrounding you and small waterfalls along the way. The guide was extremely aware of our safety, and a great source of knowledge about the life around. Speaking a bit of French can help, but you'll have a great experience in any case.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gotta give it a go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stunning, exhilerating and a real adventure. Don't even think about it if you have ankle or knee problems. You have to be at least a medium level of fitness.
The local guides were incredible and really safety conscious.
Don't miss it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Physically challenging, breathtakingly beautiful gorge, fantastic guides. Don't attempt this if you're not above average fitness. The path can be very slippery and when you're inside the cave you are walking in the dark down a river over river rocks (unstable footing). The canyoning requires some balance and flexibility and the climb out of the gorge to go back to the village is very steep. We took children (aged 6 to 12) who had a guide each and they were fantastic with their young charges. This was the best tour I've done in 20 years and you have to obey the guides or put lives at risk. I was tired at the end and muscle sore for a few days but it was worth every second!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I did the Millenium Cave tour with Glenn Russell (Butterfly Adventure Tours). They took us to a village, brought some kids to show us the way and we started walking in the bush. Then we entered the cave, and walked in the water in the dark with our torches... Great fun! When going out of the cave, we swam and did some canyoning in the rocks and rivers, and walked again to another village where we were greeted by the chief. I had a great time and would recommend it to anyone in Santo.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millenium Cave also viewed

Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 

Been to Millenium Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millenium Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Millenium Cave to your Saves list