We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Anniversary in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrier Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luganville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrier Beach House
Lot 11 / Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Luganville
Queensland, Aust.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“30th Anniversary in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It's wonderful when a much anticipated holiday turns out even better than expectations - and, having chosen Barrier Beach from the stellar reports on Trip Advisor, our expectations were very high!! Everything about this little slice of Paradise was amazing! In the absence of Shane and Shendel, Robert ( Shendel's Dad) was a brilliant 'mine host'. Nothing was too much trouble to organise from the time he picked us up to the time we said a sad farewell.
Our Fare was clean and comfortable and the beauty of the beach setting was breathtaking. We arrived on our 30th wedding anniversary and enjoyed a romantic dinner (Santo beef cooked to perfection by Sophia) watching the full moon rise while we sipped a complimentary bottle of wine! After that dinners were enjoyed at a communal table, as part of the attraction of Barrier Beachhouse is the intimate feeling that you are visiting friend, not staying at a hotel! Sharing our days' experiences with Robert and the other guests over the excellent evening meals was a highlight of each day!
Not that there was any shortage of highlights!! After the adrenalin of jumping in rivers and driving ourselves to the major sightseeing spots - Champagne Beach, Port Orly, Blue Holes - we filled our days with snorkelling the many reefs right on our doorstep (and being North Queenslanders we can vouch for the brilliance of the coral and fish) kayaking, swimming and relaxing! We have never seen so many 'nemos' and had the thrill of being joined by a dugong!! The most spectacular coral was out past the little island to the left, to out from the point to the right! Canyons of plate corals and fabulous varieties of fish! Just brilliant!
We really needed to recharge our batteries after a very stressful year and we left with a new spring in our step!! The local people are beautiful and welcoming and our whole experience was without any negative niggles! Thank you Robert and staff!! We hope to return soon!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong!! We were in Fare 2 and loved it but all three have location, location, location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
79
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hugely belated review but feel that it is owed one.
Both myself and my boyfriend spent 8 days here and guarantee we will go back! Amazing food, amazing location to chill, best snorkelling ever experienced at your door and overall an amazing island with some breathtaking sights and experiences.
Kendel was away but Shane was amazing! Couldn't do enough for us. The local Ni van employees, Sophia and Flavia were awesome and there smiley disposition was awesome.
The facilities were awesome, I initially thought the meals were a little expensive but it was definitely within, of not below the normal pricng across the island and the quality surpassed any meal we had elsewhere.
If you don't scuba dive there is no better place!
Also, grab the bikes and ride up to the blue hole....AMAZING! Go on a Sunday with the locals and experience the Tarzan swing - if you are game!!
Bight the bullet and go. We don't have a single regret.

Room Tip: On the beach....for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Barrier Beach truly is a touch of Paradise, we had the pleasure of staying there for 9 days during June. There was 5 of us, our daughter and a couple of dear friends which enabled us to book the entire house exclusively...it was our home away from home. This place went way beyond our expectations in every aspect. The place is run by a couple of Australians, Shane and Shendal. Unfortunately Shen was away and we did not get to meet her but Shane was the perfect host attending to every need....from his local knowledge of everything from the culture of Vanuatu to the best snorkeling, dining, places of interest.. he new it all. We found dining at Barrier was by far the best food...from a relaxed toasted sandwich to a full blown fabulous BBQ of the famous and succulent Santo beef.
Nothing was a bother to our host and his beautiful staff of Ni-vans. To wake up to the smiling faces of Sophia, Flavia, Ivana, or May was delightful. My husband turned 65 while there and the girls cooked him a surprise birthday cake.
Barrier beach is so beautiful and restful it was actually hard to become enthusiastic about going anywhere else...from watching the sun rise in front of your Fare and early morning swim to a evening cocktail. We also had the added bonus of two mother dugongs and their calves graze the waters out front. We hired Shane's little blue van which was just perfect it would not have felt right cruising into some of these places in a big 4wd, it was about leaving a small carbon foot print in this pristine place seemed like the right thing to do.
If your into beautiful landscapes, great food, wonderful hosts, happy people and the sound of lapping waves then Barrier Beach house is it. Could you please leave two weeks for us to come again.
A must while in the area is snorkeling Million Dollar point, Jackie's Blue hole, Lunch at Lonnoc, a swim at champagne, a kava at the Garden Kava bar on the hill.

Room Tip: all the fares were excellent the front ones are king beds and the other a queen.....at a place like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Barrier Beach House early June 2013. Everything was great. The fares are beautiful with floor to ceiling louvres through which you can see the beach & water, & which you can adjust in response to the breezes or light. The location is great - right on the beach with soft white sand & you can swim right out to amazing coral reefs and sealife. Shane the manager and his staff are great people - very helpful, laid back & warm. The food is lovely & well priced. Shane can organise tours, give advice about places to eat , & you can hire the van to explore Santo at your own pace. As it is a small hotel, it's possible to have your privacy as well as to get to know the other guests if you want to.

We have never had such a relaxing vacation. We didn't want to leave and we will definitely be back ASAP.

Room Tip: All fares have beach views. Numbers 1 & 2 face the water, & number 3 is a bit further back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have returned from this gorgeous, private, incredibly well run resort and will definitely be returning!!! Shane welcomed us at the airport and set the tone for our stay - incredibly relaxed, attentive and lots of fun. We struck a very windy week, yet still managed to get out and about, hiring the car from the resort. The main road is superb, the side roads a true test for most cars and drivers!! The private fares are spacious with lovely big bathrooms, and are true beachfront. The snorkelling/swimming off the beach is great at any tide. The staff are superb,- friendly and helpful and totally unobtrusive. We had 3 evening meals here and they were truly first class (one being the fish our husbands caught which Shane filleted and cooked). The Santo beef was he best steak I have ever eaten!!! We wouldn't recommend the Moyann next door, the service was slow, the atmosphere not very good and the expensive food not a patch on Shanes!! We walked to Lopelope for both lunch and dinner, the food and atmosphere here was great, highly recommended.
Highlights - Champagne beach for it's snorkelling and swimming,
- Horse trekking with Megan at Lopelope ( awesome lady with well loved rescue horses) - Fishing with Fabrice (Island Fishing Santo)
- Bike ride (2 bikes available at the resort) to Oyster Island then Kayak up the river to the Matavulu (spelling!) Blue hole. We liked this better than the Nando Blue hole. Both superb for swimming.
- Visit (snorkel/dive if possible) Million Dollar point.
Loved the week, will definitely be returning and staying at Barrier again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millicent, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our 2nd resort out of three that we stayed in during our 8 day tour. We stayed here for 4 days

What we liked.

Well first we celebrated 2 mile stones here, our 30th wedding Aviversary and our first grandchild was born in Oz whilst we were here.

Unfortunatey I was quite sick during my stay here. So missed out on the food mainly, my wife enjoyed her anniversary dinner whilst i looked on.

Shane took my wife on a trip to town so we could get some stuff from the pharmacy and she had a lovely time exploring with him. Shendel (spelling) took us in a few days latter to get supplies and we had a lovely time exploring with her and chatting to people.

Our lift turned up on time (bonus), the hosts were great and felt like old friends (see everyones review on that point), the place is beautiful, the set menu was excelent and was good home cooking, really nice. The staff were lovely in particular the girls who always smiled. You are a 60 second walk to Moyan. The rooms were lovely and bed comfortable. Breakfast is just your basic fare but always seved with a lovely platter of fruit, loved the custard apple......fruit in the tropics is always nicer. You can order a hot breakfast.

Also the place is quite intament here and quiet, one night it was just us.

This is one place you dont have to worry abount anything from booking in to booking out.

PS i would have just stayed here and eaten every night in

Other information to assist.

Snorkeling is Ok as there arnt many reefs but lots of fish. There is a good reef further out by kyak . The water is lovely. Car hire is available. Everyone in Vanuatu carries a machette or knife...its like a worker in Oz carrying a pen.....its just what they do so dont worry about it. You have to pay the locals everytime you go on there land which is about $20 australian. If your traveling and you not sure if you are on the right road to where your going eg Champagne Beach, if the dirt road is really rough and pot holed your on the right road. Always carry 2000 vatu notes with you, to pay the locals.

Loved the place

Room Tip: all rooms are the same pretty much, room 3 is slightly back from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quietly positioned just outside the main ‘town’, there’s absolute beach frontage to your fare (bungalow), it's peaceful and relaxing, the rooms are clean and luxurious, but none of that is what makes The Barrier Beach House so remarkable. We've stayed in equally beautiful hotels in equally picturesque locations and not had anywhere near as great a time. What makes The Barrier Beach House so special is the people who run it, Shen and Shane, and their wonderful staff, notably Flavia and Sophia.

It was our honeymoon and we were staying there for nearly 2 weeks so were hoping for something special. We got that and more. Never in our lives have we been made to feel so incredibly welcome. Never in our lives have we met more genuine and warm hosts. We were made to feel like we were special, our holiday was special, and our stay was important to them.

This feeling is probably best summed up by the first thing that Shane said to us when he picked us up at the airport. I was fluffing about getting our bags together and I was holding everyone up when Shane said to me, “relax mate, it’s your holiday”. This attitude, that our stay was about us and not them, is sadly rare in this world. Other hoteliers would be doing themselves and their staff an enormous favour by sending them off to stay at The Barrier Beach House to experience what true hospitality is all about.

Shen and Shane made it their mission to make sure we had a great time on the island. Every day when we returned to the hotel they’d ask us how our day was. They genuinely cared and wanted to make sure we were having a great holiday. They were full of great tips, ideas of things to see and do, and they were more than happy to help arrange anything we needed. We weren’t a room number to them, they welcomed and treated us like old friends and we’d only just met them.

Yes the rooms are magnificent, yes it’s right on the beach, and yes it’s private and deeply relaxing. But it’s rare that you feel like you’ve found a home away from home and dream of going back. We’ll definitely be back and would recommend this place to anyone and all. Well done Shen and Shane, you guys are doing a brilliant job and deserve the glowing reviews you receive.

Room Tip: Fare's 1 & 2 are literally right on the beach, Fare 3 isn't but it's only 10 metres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barrier Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrier Beach House

Address: Lot 11 / Barrier Beach | East Coast Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Luganville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
#4 Business Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrier Beach House offers a luxurious, private and relaxed atmosphere to use as your base for exploring the many delights that Santo has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barrier Beach House Vanuatu/Luganville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrier Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barrier Beach House to your Saves list