We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ratua Private Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ratua Private Island to your Saves list
Ratua Private Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   BP 396, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five traveled from Brisbane to Ratua. Very easy with direct flights and a nice boat trip to the island. We were all very excited as we approached by boat with crystal clear water setting the scene. We were expecting a laid back pacific island resort and it was what we got. The accommodation was fantastic. Massive villa that was perfect for the family. Beach in front of the villa (dragon) was sensational. Snorkeling from there was brilliant. Plenty of fish life and coral. Food, especially lunch was beautiful. Horses were a big highlight for the kids! We'd return in a heart beat. Blue hole a must do.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Hamish & Family!

Thanks a lot for your nice review! We are really glad that you enjoyed Ratua, it's setting & its concept! Dragon is indeed a very nice villa to stay at with a family...

The waters around the Island are indeed very clear and especially adapted to snorkelling, and we are delighted that you and your kids enjoyed the underwater life!

The Horseriding & Malo Blue Hole Adventure are indeed a lot of fun, for children as well as for parents, and we hope the kids enjoyed jumping from the trees into the blue fresh waters...

We hope to see you in a heart beat too...

Kind regards,


Sandra Esposito & your Ratua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    19
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
57
97
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

very rare find, lovely. location and surrounding area are beautiful, peaceful. lots of things to do - and super friendly and helpful staff. pastries are to die for. very nice that they fumigate = no bugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about Ratua with us!

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the location, the quiet atmosphere, and the activities...

We indeed have a very good Pastry Chef in Ratua!


We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Sandra Esposito & your Ratua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I took our three kids (11, 9 and 6) to Ratua in December 2012. We knew little about the resort or Vanuatu, but we like snorkelling, lazing on beaches and eating nice food prepared by someone else. Our daughter is nuts about horses. We're from Brisbane so the ease of getting to Santo was also a big plus. The fact that there is no air conditioning, swimming pool or kids' club was part of the appeal. When the kids were small we stayed in some great Fiji resorts (including the famous Jean-Michel Costeau resort) But now the kids can swim and read, we prefer a more low-key holiday and Ratua was perfect. My husband spent three years on the north coast of PNG and never expected to experience better snorkelling but says Ratua was better. If we saw one turtle we saw 100. The kids loved having the run of the island and we always felt they were safe - such freedom for them to take themselves to breakfast and meet us on the beach. The rustic nature of the walkways and villas mighn't suit everyone, but we loved them. It was hot at night, but it's the tropics - we were happily tired, well fed and had no trouble sleeping. On the advice of another guest we took a day trip to Champagne Beach and had a brilliant time. Our kids spent hours playing with local kids and the picnic lunch packed by the people at Ratua was delicious. We spent the one rainy afternoon we had in the little cinema watching 'Ratatouille'. The staff bought Jim and I gin and tonics and the kids had lemonade and popcorn. I can't think of a better way to spend a rainy afternoon! As some of the commenters below have said, Ratua isn't for everyone - and we're glad! We'd love to keep it as our family secret getaway. Our 5 day holiday last year wasn't enough - we're booked for 10 days at the end of the year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Kate,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback, and for taking the time to share your impressions about Ratua. The direct link Brisbane / Santo is indeed a huge "plus", and we are glad it made things easier for you.

We are very happy that you enjoyed Ratua's concept and philosophy, and also that the reefs and snorkeling spots have no secrets for you...

The Champagne Beach excursion is a very good one, and a pic-nic on the beach is always a very nice experience! Did you seize the opportunity to visit Port-Olry (very nice fisherman village, with an incredible beach and view over the neighbouring islands, North of Champagne Beach) as well?

We are very glad to welcome you, your husband and your kids again end of the year, for then days this time!

See you then!


Kind regards,

Sandra Esposito & your Ratua Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Service - great attentive service from most staff. We were greeted by the manager, who gave us a tour of the resort and then took us to our room. However, we were surprised by the low level of knowledge about food and beverages from the waitresses. It took a long time for them to get the answers to simple questions (e.g. do you have tomato sauce?).

Value - we got a good deal for low season but are aware that it is usually much more expensive.

Sleep quality - comfortable beds, quiet rooms.

Cleanliness - good.

Location - an hour's boat ride from main island of Espiritu Santo. Very secluded and private island so it is perfect for romantic getaways. A bit too secluded for a group of young people as there's nothing nearby to explore.

Rooms - unique concept. Very "earthy" feel with strange decor (a lot of cow hide). The villas had beautiful views of your very own private beach.

Food and beverages - the only place to eat is at the resort's restaurant. For dinner that night, we could order from the 'snack menu' or from their island buffet. Neither options were good. The prices are on par with other restaurants on Espiritu Santo, however, the quality and portion of the meals were poor. We had to wait 1 hour for burger and chips, which were small and had minimal flavour. The complimentary breakfast was average - do not order coffee, it is not good.

Entertainment - adequate daytime/before dinner activities. Minimal dinner/night activities - there is a games room with chess and a slanted pool table. No TV.

Overall impression - a private getaway that's perfect for those who want ultimate relaxation, lazing by the beach, sipping cocktails at sunset etc... Ideal for couples but for a group of friends, there may not be enough entertainment and you may feel quite isolated. Beware that there are a lot of mosquitoes and although this is unavoidable on Espiritu Santo itself, the mosquitoes left much bigger marks - use tropical strength insect repellant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guests,

First of all, thanks a lot for sharing your impressions with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the friendliness of most of the staff, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and their quiet atmosphere.

Concerning the service of the restaurant: we will for sure pass the message to the waitresses, as improving the quality of the service is always an essential concern to us. We indeed have had a few young waitresses on-training in March: we thank you for your understanding and for your patience, and apologize for the prejudice it might have caused you. We already started a few additional training for some of them, as we really want to make sure that this point improves.

Concerning the prices, we would like to rectify: you have indeed had a very exceptional and last minute price (a Master Villa for the price of a Single Villa). Our regular "good deal" is available from the 10th of January to the 20th of December (that is to say 344 days a year), and our high-season price (Christmas period) beeing indeed slightly higher (+3%). Please also keep in mind that we are a 100% non-profit, and that all of our benefits go to the Ratua Foundation.

To rectify what you wrote, Ratua is only 35 minutes far from Luganville. Many customers ask us to have a transfer to Luganville once during their stay, just to go out or to see something different, and we always organize it with great pleasure. Yyou should have asked us, we would have been glad to organize it for you. Your opinion matters to us, and it is our job to make you feel good: have we known you felt secluded, we would for sure have offered you options to go out. We are welcoming many groups / or young people here, and the majority of them seems more than happy with their stay: it just depends on the expectations you are having towards your vacations, and also on the information you got before coming here: the calm atmosphere is indeed a key of our concept, and we never pretended to offer our guest a crazy nightlife.

You might also have missed a couple of details about the activities when you say that there is nothing nearby to explore here: as you say it, we have a games rooms with a chess board, a pool table, board games and we also have a small boutique-cinema. There are also many free-access canoes and stand up paddle boards if you want to explore the nearby islands of the beautiful waters around Ratua. You also had free access to our snorkeling equipment if you wanted to discover the beautiful reefs around the place. In addition to that, we would have been very glad to organize one of our numerous activities for you, nearby Ratua or in Santo. As an example of what we could have scheduled for you: a Malo Blue Hole adventure, the Aoré crosscountry, a fishing game, the discover of the Matevulu Blue Hole, the Champagne Beach tour or the visit of Port Olry. For the most sporty, we also propose more "physical activities", such as the Millenium Cave Tour, fantastic dives at Million Dollar Point or at the famous SS President Coolidge wreck, etc. We are very surprised you did not find any interest in any of these activities. Nevertheless, a one-night stay might be a little short to judge the activities offered. Besides, having no TV is part of the whole concept, as eco-lodges avoid high-consumption equipments. It is definitely part of our identity.

Concerning the food, there is indeed only one restaurant on the Island. Please be ensured that we always choose the best quality products: most of them are organic and locally produced. Concerning the quantities, you should have been more generous with yourself with the traditional island buffet. Nevertheless, we will pass the message to our kitchen team concerning the snacks portions (however, thank you to keep in mind that snacks are, as you might understand it thanks to their name, only light meals). Nevertheless, we take good note of what you are saying regarding the coffee and will do our very best to improve on this point.

Concerning the mosquitoes, please be assured that we are doing our very best to fight them: each bed is equipped with a mosquito net, we provide insect repellent in each villa, and we have a very strong mosquito treatment twice a week in each villa...

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Kind regards,

Sandra Esposito and your Ratua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The people were lovely, the food was very good (apart from the beef,organic but tough, & shame about the flies but this is the tropics!), the rooms were unusual (ill-fitting old timbers, very dark, but quaint), no service or coffee equipment in the rooms was frustrating, room housekeeping was haphazard, the weather was hot & humid with no relief anywhere as no aircon on the island, but on the whole it was a relaxing & enjoyable visit. The staff there were exceptionally helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Near to the yacht club, as otherwise there are long walks to eat or drink, & the paths are an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear John & Benjamin,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your impressions about your stay in Ratua with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the people, the food and the quiet atmosphere here.

We apologize concerning the lack of coffee/tea equipment in the rooms, but we indeed have very strict requirements for ecological purposes, especially on very energy-consuming equipments such as electric kettles or air-conditioning systems. Our philosophy is to preserve our precious environment as far as possible, and as an eco-lodge we cannot deny this very strong commitment to the environment, this is part of our identity.

Nevertheless, your remark helped us, and since that, we have set up a complimentary free-access station, where you will be able to find tea, coffee, and hot chocolate 24/7 at the Yacht Club.

Concerning the housekeeping which you did not find satisfying, we passed the message to them and thank you sincerely for the feedback: that is how we will manage to improve ourselves.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your constructive feedback,


Warm regards,

Sandra Esposito & your Ratua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. This place feels so secluded I almost felt the need to talk to Wilson!! There were 14 people staying on the island at the time and we only ever saw anyone at meal times. The scenery and serenity is absolutely divine and I love the fact that you can either do lots of things (cycling, swimming, kayaking, horse riding, fishing, etc) or nothing, which is pretty much what we did. We sat on the day bed in front of our hut for many hours a day just looking out to sea, it really was the most relaxing experience we've ever had. The food package is great value (for Vanuatu) and the food was lovely. The service was friendly and although we didn't miss having a tv, we were pretty excited that the place had free wifi.
The only thing that bothered me (and its only because I'm a wimp) was how dark everything is at night. You definitely need a torch to walk back to your room after dinner. We stayed in 'pig' which was a 10 minute walk each way (in pitch black darkness) from dinner. They can drive you in a golf buggy though if you want. The turn down service each night is nice, preparing our bed with the mozzie net and mozzie candles and shutting all the windows but it gets really hot and stuffy in the huts and the fan doesn't do much as the mozzie netting is too thick for the air to get through. You could open everything up again to let the air in but i was worried about bugs and boogie men (like i said, im a wimp) so we really didn't sleep well for 3 nights. However despite that, I'd highly recommend the resort, its a once in a lifetime type experience that you won't regret and it was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your Honeymoon in Ratua... :)

We are really delighted you enjoyed the calm and the serenity of the place and we hope you also enjoyed the amazing beauty of the beach at "Pig"! Doing nothing in Ratua is indeed a very relaxing experience...

We sincerely hope to see you here again someday,

Thank you again for your visit!

Warm regards,


Sandra Esposito & your Ratua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at ratua for 6 nights and it was absolutely amazing. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the manager and taken to our room (dog). The room was secluded with our own private beach. We loved being able to sleep with the doors open and wake up looking out at the water.
The BBQ lunch everyday was amazing as was the meal at dinner time. The bartender Jon made us feel more than welcome as did all the staff. Could not think of a better location and atmosphere to spend our holiday.

Walking from the yaht club to our room of an evening was beautiful with the lights on the stepping stones leading the way.
We both enjoyed massages in the spa over the water and spending time with one of the massage therapists looking for dugongs and the beautiful fish of the reef.

Planning our next trip back as it was the best holiday we have been.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra E, General Manager at Ratua Private Island, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bonnie,

Thanks a lot for taking some time to share your impressions about your stay here!
We are very glad you enjoyed the calm of our Dog House and that you appreciated your vacations in Ratua and that the concept matched with your expectations.

We will of course pass the message to the staff: they will be very glad to know that they managed to make you feel comfortable...

We hope to see you soon: the dugong will still be here to say hi!


Warm regards,

Sandra Esposito & your Ratua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ratua Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratua Private Island

Address: BP 396, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Location: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luganville
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Luganville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ratua Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratua Island is a wild, magical place with authentic people who offer a simple and warm reception in a naturally beautiful environment. There are 13 individual 200-year-old Indonesian villas that have been specially reconstructed on sites offering stunning views with a private deck or beach. Located in the Vanuatu Archipelago, off the South East tip of Espiritu Santo, Ratua is only a 30-minute motorboat journey from the mainland on our own private motor launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ratua Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratua Private Island Hotel Luganville
Ratua Private Island Vanuatu/Luganville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ratua Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.