We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best National Trust houses and gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott House

Ascott House
Wing, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0PS, England
+44(0) 1296 688242
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best National Trust houses and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The house is full of wonderful paintings, furniture and ceramics; hand blocked wallpapers and tromp l'oeil dutch tiles; the gardens are magnificent and so try not to go on a wet day. We particularly loved the Dutch garden with its hedge 'cliffs' and little grotto. The staff are very knowledgable and it is useful to go knowing your Ming from your Tang!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A house to be remembered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I and another couple visited Ascott House this August Bank Holiday Saturday and what a memorable visit this was. We travelled from Milton Keynes and it was only about 10 miles. The staff there were so friendly and informative, which made our visit so much more interesting and enjoyable. It is a pity that we were not able to see more of the house but what we did see was crammed with history and collections of paintings, ceramics and other works of art. The gardens were equally as interesting with numerous interesting walks and lots of seats on which to sit and rest and enjoy the fantastic views of the countryside.
It was only a pity that they did not have a cafe or restaurant in which to have some refreshments. I didn't see any bathroom facilities but they may have been there; I'm sure there must have been There were no stairs to climb but there was wheelchair access ramps for the steps.
It is certainly a visit that I would recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
169 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“A lovely experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What an attractive building this is,set amongst beautiful gardens with sweeping views of the Bedfordshire countryside. Inside the house there are many lovely things to see such as paintings by Stubbs and Turner and a collection of oriental porcelain. The staff are very welcoming and knowledgable which makes it a pleasure to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Go for the George Stubbs painting and Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This house is a definite must see. It is not always open to the public as the family do still use it for weekend parties. Look at the National Trust website for opening times. Easter time is wonderful to see the Daffodils flowering.

The art in the house is superb and sometimes I have been just to look at the Stubbs painting in the lounge. It is above the fireplace as you enter the house.

Only the lower floor is available for the public to view but this is enough as there is so much to see. The porcelain collection is fabulous.

Take the time to have a good look at the gardens, you will need at least an hour just to tour these. Once my husband and I were walking into the gardens and a deer just walked over the path in front of us - it didn't seem to be worried or scared at all!

There is no charge for parking and NT members go free.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Two hours well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

As we turned off the busy Aylesbury road into Ascott House, after noticing the the sign for this National Trust Property, we were rewarded with very peaceful surroundings. The gardens were a pleasure to stroll through with views of the Chilterns. In the house, only the ground floor was available for public viewing, but we were amazed by the wonderful china collection in one of the rooms. The National Trust Staff in each of the rooms were very informative and chatty about the family that still live part of the house. Not a place to bring children, but a small tearoom would have been welcomed, perhaps near to the toilets in the car park.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ascott House also viewed

 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Ascott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.