We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch at the Swan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel

Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel
High Street, Leighton Buzzard, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sunday Lunch at the Swan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

very pleasant lunch at he Swan Hotel. Freshly cooked food at reasonable price

sheila
scottish borders

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    32
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MK UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just had a great value sunday lunch here and paid around £14 for 2 incl. drinks. Food was not spectacular, but fine, although not very hot. The place is extremely popular and very busy on Sunday lunch time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sub standard pub food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

When this pub changed hands and they started doing food me and my husband went in to try it. It was not bad for pub food. My husband had a steak which he said was good. I had a vegetarian roast which was not amazing but quite tasty. Last time we went in we both had meat roasts. They tasted awful as if they were about a week old, or perhaps I should say they did not taste at all. The starter we had was a joke, some corn cheeps with some very cheap quacamole and cheese deep. The staff are friendly and helpful. However I will never go there again. I just couldn't face that awful food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

i will not be having Sunday lunch in here again for the price very poor quality got 2 tiny scraps of potato looked like cooked from frozen in a bag from supermarket. They had run out of veg so was offered peas which were obviously fresh frozen lol, had huge size late with hardly anything on it. It was over priced as i normally go to The Red Lion (a carvery) and the food is real e.g. potatoes and veg, nicely cooked and inviting.

Tables that became empty were left unwiped and the remains of foods were just left on tables.

The staff were not very good as showed an attitude of nothing matters and disinterest almost boredom. I asked a query to a waiter staff member and they ignored and never came back. I have been in other Wetherspoons and had enjoyable experiences. I shall be looking elsewhere i have been told The Lancer down the road is a better option for food, service and quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Curry Club - Amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We popped into the Swan hotel on a Thursday evening which is curry club night. They serve a range of curries, varying in strength, beef and chicken plus a veggie option. You get a good size portion of curry plus rice plus two poppodums, a small nan and mango chutney, plus a drink ie pint of beer or 175ml glass of decent wine for under £6 per head. The quality was good and it was very filling. (Much better than another local pub we had visited where the quality was poor - very watery with a tide mark around the edge of the sauce where the plate had obviously been reheated.)

The bar was very busy and it took a while to get serviced but once it was ordered the food came really quickly and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

It is great having the Swan Hotel open again as it had been closed for so long which was a shame as it is such a lovely old building and JDW have done the refrubishment really well and sympathically to the building itself with bedrooms upstairs and a lovely courtyard for the smokers.

Would definitley recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wetherspoons The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.