We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Roast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rawdons Hotel & Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nottingham Road
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Save
You added Rawdons Hotel & Estate to your Saves list
Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Nottingham Road B&B and Inns
Durban
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We decided to py them a visit after seeing some good reviews.

Very good sunday roast and dessert for R85.

Novelty beers for you to taste a it is right by the brewery.

The best beef in SA is to be found in the midlands!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good day,

Great to hear your tasted our wonderful craft beers from our onsite microbrewery - did you know we are one of the oldest, most established craft breweries in SA? And thank you for the compliment on our Sunday roasts, they certainly do keep people coming back for more.

We truly look forward to seeing you again and enjoying our hearty cuisine.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Rawdons has it all; setting, views, amenities, service, food, and it's own brewery. The pictures tell most of the story, but I was also impressed with the level of service. It was obvious that the management values training, as the staff's level of service was impecible. The employees' attention to detail and eagerness to please was a refreshing change to some of the other places we stayed on this trip. We paid approximately $ 135 per night and found it very good value for the price. We will definately return as soon as possible.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us - and for appreciating our great service. So often in Africa people complain about `African time' so our attention to detail and swift service is something we most definitely pride ourselves with.

We certainly look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,

The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at Rawdon’s several times in the past and it really is a grand old country hotel: lovely grounds to stroll around and the famous Nottingham Road Brewery on site. All the rooms have recently been refurbished and the bathrooms specifically are very impressive. The hotel is an old building with wooden floors, and this can be noisy when people walk to their rooms, especially late at night. The dining room menu is limited, but the pub food is very good, if somewhat overpriced. The pub has a very cozy atmosphere with a fireplace and excellent service from the staff. Breakfast was sumptuous with a wide variety of food to choose from. The rooms are comfortable with underfloor heating, so nice and cozy in winter. Supplied: tea/coffee making facilities, shampoo, body lotion, shower cap, soap and hairdryer. Despite the recent make-over, the beds seem to be the same old beds. My bed was very creaky and when I investigated, the base was broken and the bed was standing on four bricks!! Other than this weird set-up, the hotel is highly recommended as a stop-over between Durban and Johannesburg or as a base while enjoying the Midlands Meander.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are thrilled we met up with your expectations - in response to your bed being on bricks, we had already ordered a new base/ frame however it had not arrived by the time you stayed. This has been attended to and is most definitely not common practice at all. I trust you understand our predicament.

We really do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed only one night at Rawdon's on our way from Joburg to Durban. The place is amazingly nice as is the owner. Great food, warm atmosphere, clean and rooms and the own brewery is awesome! The property is huge and very well kept. It was really relaxing taking a stroll around the small lake and listening to all the animals in an extremely peaceful environment. Of course all this luxury has it's price, but every single penny was worth it. Anyway, ask for low-season discount, walk-in price or anything like that, otherwise you are charged full price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review and we are thrilled you had such a great time. And yes, please do ask about our specials - we are running fantastic offers according to the seasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,

The Rawdons Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Rawdons for 3 nights during the Christmas/New Year break, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is set in great surrounds and is close enough to Nottingham Road. We thoroughly enjoyed the meals we had, especially in the pub area. Generally the service was good, and we didnt have any complaints. The rooms are big and comfortable, with really nice en-suite bathrooms. However, despite the recent upgrade, a couple of things are still needed. The room we used could really have used an airconditioner or ceiling fan, as despite being in the midlands, it still gets really hot in summer!

Overall, we always enjoy visiting Rawdons, and I think the only real disappointment we had is that the Nottingham Road craft Brewery is not at the same standard it was 2 years ago, and this is a great addition to the Rawdons appeal.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the dam have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Andre,

Thank you for taking time to review Rawdons. Just to let you know - we have totally revamped the brewery and the beer is back to its 100% level of perfection that you would expect.

We hope to see you back soon to quench your thirst and relax in the beautiful Midlands.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaalpark, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Rawdons is a beautiful old hotel with loads of character and excellent food. Try the pickled pig pie. On the negatives, there are no smoking areas except outside and the staff can be a bit too enthusiastic to clear away plates. Overall, still the best place to stay in the Midlands.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Riki,

Thank you so much for the compliments. The usual complaint in the Midlands is bad service, so I guess our over enthusiastic staff have been trained too well! We are thrilled that you rate Rawdons as the best place in the Midlands - we feel the same.

Thank you so much for staying with us - we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went on a Midweek Madness and it was lovely, but, the following is desperately needed in the rooms:
A. A bar fridge in the room
B. a safe for valuables
C. Softer pillows - our pillows were so hard!!!

Paula

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Paula,

Thank you for you review. As we are 3 star graded, we do not at this stage have safes or bar fridges in the rooms. In future, please feel free to ask us to lock something up for you in the main safe. We do also offer other down pillows - so next time you visit us, just ask and we can deliver! Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawdons Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Address: Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rawdons Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful KwaZulu Natal midlands meander. A family run hotel for the past 40 years - set on a stunning 240ha estate is a great place to unwind. We have a superb Micro Brewery on the property brewing some great ales and lagers. The pub is more English than most English hotels. The rooms have recently been upgraded and well appointed and an boardwalk alongside the main dam leads to various birding, cycling and walking trails. We look forward to welcoming you to our piece of heaven. And if having so many repeat guests over the years isn't testimony to our offerings, then come and see for yourself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawdons Hotel & Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.