We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rawdons Hotel & Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nottingham Road
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Save
You added Rawdons Hotel & Estate to your Saves list
Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria
1 review
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived here from the south coast enroute to Pretoria late on Sunday afternoon August 12th.
The aim was simply to visit the Nottingham Road Brewing Company to get hold of a few of their excellant products to take home (I am a beer enthusiast and admirer of the NRBC range).
Whilst enjoying a beautiful Porter in the charming pub, the wife and children had a stroll around the property. And that as they say, was that.
She begged to stay over.
I am still not sure whether it was the warm glow from the Porter, the log fire or the superb surroundings which bowled me over but I needed no arm twisting.
you'll be seeing us again soon! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for such lovely feedback, we are very proud of our micro-brewery and so pleased you are a keen imbiber! Thank you to your wife and kids for encouraging you to stay, we are so pleased you were able to experience not only the lovely estate and pub, but also the renovated rooms. We trust you slept like a king and look forward to seeing you back soon,

Take care,

The Rawdons Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    34
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have been on day visits to Rawdons before and our wonderfully peaceful stay this time was lengthened from two nights to three because we just couldn't bear to leave the peaceful tranquility and hospitality that Rawdons offered. We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose a lake facing room because the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you - we loved having you stay with us. We are thrilled we surpassed your expectations and that you extended your stay. See you next time - perhaps next time can you squeeze in a 4th day!

Take care and see you back soon,

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Colin and Marjorie

We have stayed at Rawdon's many times, It's a good stopover on the road between the South Coast and Johannesburg. This trip it was very cold, and we were glad of the warm and sincere welcome we received - as well as with the way the hotel has been upgraded through very careful and tasteful modernisation. The public rooms have never looked better, and the bedrooms are beautiful. Bathrooms are modern and really lovely. The food was excellent, and the pub,( happily not revamped!) with roaring log fires, just the best place to be on a winter night. The staff were as welcoming and helpful as ever.
Not to mention we bought some Pickled Pig to take home!! Always a great extra...

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are quite delightful, summer or winter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Colin and Marjorie,

Thank you so much for such delightful feedback - I did respond previously but somehow it didn't seem to post - yes, we are so proud of the renovations and you will be pleased to know we are extending the pub a little more, but will be keeping the exact same charm of a true English pub!! By the way, as I speak, Rawdons is covered in thick snow, it is absolutley beautiful!!!!

Looking forward to seeing you back,

Kind regards,
The Rawdons family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and beautifully revamped. The food is good country fair with healthy portions. The hotel has a warm atmosphere with log fires in the library, restaurant and bar. It's centrally situated on the meander and child friendly. Well worth visiting!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
A great friendly hotel - yes, thats absolutely us! Our friendliness and sense of family are very important to us.

Thank you so much for your kind compliments - we really do appreciate all the feedback we get. I hope you had fun on the boardwalks, fishing, and perhaps even on the canoe with your children!

We look forward to seeing you back,

Kind regards,
The Rawdons family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Booked into Rawdons on way back home to Pretoria from a Durban holiday. The quick detour into the Midlands did not disappoint. Wonderful hospitality from David and his team. Good, simple pub food. Try the pies, they're big and tasty. Rooms are neat and old school. Views from the bath onto the lake was spectacular - Room 17 family room.
We will go back in the summer to appreciate the rolling green hills and scenery.
The Dreyers from Pretoria

Room Tip: Lake views from Room 17 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Dreyer family,

Thank you for choosing Rawdons as your break-your-journey hotel of choice. We are thrilled you enjoyed yourself and impressed by our `world class hospitality' which we strive to improve all the time. Your feedback is so valuable to us.

Yes, absolutely, see you in the summer when the Midlands is lush, green and stunning as always.

Yours in hospitality, thank you.

The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were visiting family in the area and Rawdons was a convenient base from which to meander. Our family warned us against Rawdons but Trip Advisor reviews showed that there has been a remarkable improvement and so it proved. We had a wonderful stay.

The hotel is old country house style with gorgeous antiques and finishes. It is very lived in and comfortable - not imposing at all. Our room overlooked the lake and was very comfortable. We loved getting back at night and finding the turn down fairies had turned on the heaters - bliss in the middle of winter!

The general manger was great - very personable and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He heard we were doing the Karkloof Canopy Tour and rustled up some discount vouchers - that's over and beyond. He also made sure to check in with us everyday - a nice touch. The rest of the staff were ok but not quite as service orientated as they could be - no issues; just a lack of smiling etc.

The pub with all the roaring log fires is wonderful. Enjoy the atmosphere and the drinks; the food is average - but on par with most places in the area. Not a gourmet neck of the woods.

The breakfasts were good and set one up for the day. Not gourmet but tasty and plentiful. Lovely to sit at one of the window nook tables and enjoy the lovely views and sunshine.

There is a pool; bowling green; tennis courts; canoes and fly fishing - so plenty to keep one occupied if you stay in.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable - no complaints there at all.

It was fantastic value for money. We were on the mid-week special and really had a great time.

I would definitely recommend Rawdons to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Clare,

Thank you so much for posting your experience on Facebook. Yes, we are always thrilled to hear your good news and honest feedback. We are addressing staff service as of immediate effect with thanks to your feedback, we are implementing Employee of the Month plus other initatives to help our staff get to that world-class level we are aiming at. Thank you for listening to other Trip Advisor comments and trusting us. We would love to see you back soon, where you too can play tennis on our lawn courts which has proven rather popular with one of SA's top tennis champs training for Wimbledon this year as well as a few tennis clubs, who love the thrill of playing our our lawn, the good old fashioned way!

Take care and thank you,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked for our anniversary and upon arrival we were surprised with a cake to celebrate our anniversary! We enjoyed our stay so much, we extended our stay and brought the children to share the experience. Great atmosphere, Excellent and Friendly service. If you are looking for a break from the City, we recommend Rawdon's.
Grobler Family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pattrick Suite. Views are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Fantastic news, thank you so much for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It was our privilege to have you stay with us - we like to think of all our guests as family and so very pleased you loved your stay. We do hope to see you back for some more romance in the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawdons Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Address: Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rawdons Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful KwaZulu Natal midlands meander. A family run hotel for the past 40 years - set on a stunning 240ha estate is a great place to unwind. We have a superb Micro Brewery on the property brewing some great ales and lagers. The pub is more English than most English hotels. The rooms have recently been upgraded and well appointed and an boardwalk alongside the main dam leads to various birding, cycling and walking trails. We look forward to welcoming you to our piece of heaven. And if having so many repeat guests over the years isn't testimony to our offerings, then come and see for yourself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawdons Hotel & Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.