We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a warm comfy pair of slippers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rawdons Hotel & Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nottingham Road
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Nottingham Road B&B and Inns
Scottburgh, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Like a warm comfy pair of slippers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have stayed here many times over the years for a variety of reasons. Many years ago this once glorious hotel had become disappointingly shabby and it is so pleasing to see how its new brooms are sweeping clean while retaining the sense of grandeur of an era past. The hotel has so many beautiful antiques even in the hallways and passages and its renovations have been tastefully done. We stayed recently over a "chock-a-block" weekend and I think got the last available room, which was on the smaller size, (and priced accordingly) but with a great bathroom. The thick towels and modern amenities make a big difference to days gone by.

The warmth of the pub with big open fires in winter is so welcome and the ambiance is cosy even though its a big pub. The A La Carte pub grub menu is great, the food wholesome and well prepared and very well priced. The home made beer batter on their fish and chips would earn accolades from Jamie Oliver! There is an interesting brewery on the premises with a good range of beers. I was a little disappointed though that they did not stock my beer of choice, which is a popular SAB Miller brand.

The breakfast the following morning was not only huge in choice but also well prepared with good quality local farm produce, a constant reminder that one was still ensconced in countryside tranquillity.

The mark of a good hotel is how one feels on leaving. Although I had a bad cold and was eager to get home, I would have preferred to have stayed a couple more relaxed nights and lengthened our sense of enjoyment and pleasure.

Peter is such a great host and George (who has been there for ever) is an institution this hotel could never do without.

Room Tip: The lake facing rooms are really worth getting. I once stayed in room 8 which had a beautiful, if so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to give fellow travellers your feedback on your experience staying with us. We are thrilled you had such a great time, and that our renovations and menu surpassed your expectations.

We at Rawdons are constantly striving to meet and beat your expectations, and your wonderful feedback tells us we are right on track! We so look forward to seeing you again. Should you just be passing through, we have now made our decadent breakfasts available to all, so feel free to pop in, reservations not required, and as always, our bustling pub is waiting for you too!.

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We got married at Rawdons this May and I have to say that every single part of our stay, our ceremony, our fairytale was made perfect by the people at Rawdons. The accommodation was incredible, the food was exceptional and the staff and service rated way above 5 stars!!! Their 'house' became our house and nothing was too much for anyone - more beds, more food, move this, move that - create this, "I know this may be impossible but..."... Rawdons just did it, with ease, grace and a smile. The homely ambience and kindness found at Rawdons will make any guest feel like they are with their own family and the crackling fires and warm decor only further enhances that. Thank you Rawdons for making our Fairytale come true - Jen and John Roussouw

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Newly Weds!

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and seeing your dream day come true. Thank you so much for choosing us, we were privileged to have you and wish you all the very best in the future. We do hope to see you back for your first anniversary!

Kind regards,
The Rawdons Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I picked the Rawdons Hotel on a recent trip through the Midlands Meander based on good reviews here, and a really superb website. We stayed over for one night, and we'll definitely return for a longer stay - it's the kind of place for a relaxing, romantic long weekend away from city life. However make sure you get a luxury room, the standard rooms aren't that nice or worth the money. The luxury rooms look out over the lakes - really splendid waking up to that view. Service was generally fine, except that we didn't have extra pillow cases and the staff were unable to locate some for us. Not serious, but solving the problem would have been nice. Food isn't exceptional but well-prepared, I loved the banana pudding - that stood out for me. It seems that most of the rooms have now been renovated, certainly ours was mostly up to standard. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can recommend Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review - as always, we welcome all feedback to ensure that we are constantly driving to meet all our guest's expectations. Yes, our deluxe rooms are superb and the views so tranquil! As you can appreciate, our different rooms all have different specs, and having just undergone the final facelift of Room 25, we are very proud of the new face of Rawdons. With regards to the pillows and `standard' service, very sorry indeed about that. For your information, we have just this past week, employed two new fantastic staff members - a new F&B manager as well as a General Manager, both well versed in 5 star service, and whose expertise will bring our 3 star establishment to offer you a lot more than expected. We have also introduced the option of Down Pillows - so next time you visit us, we trust you will notice our efforts to constantly improve our visitors experiences. We look forward to seeing you back,

Kind regards,
Peter Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We recently stayed at Rawdons while attending a wedding in the Midlands. I was very impressed by the Rawdons website which showed new modern rooms with great views over the lake and decided to stay there instead of other cheaper accommodation in Nottingham Road. We were however very disappointed on arrival to find out that only a handful of room had been refurnished. We were allocated a room that could only be described as very tired. The room didn’t even have a shower. The room only had one small window and was very dark. Overall the hotel needs a good clean-up and full refurbishment including the public and dining areas.

The hotel does however have a great pub and the surrounding area is great and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Phone up the hotel to check which room you're booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. All of our rooms have recently been totally revamped and in fitting with the architecture of the Hotel, which means some of the rooms have different size windows and views, and some allow for showers and others for baths. Our staff were very happy to move you into a deluxe room after you made mention that you were not happy in your standard room, at no extra cost to yourself. All our rooms do comply and in fact, in some cases, well exceed the 3 star grading that we have. We do hope to see you back again and will ensure that we meet your personalized requirements.

Kind regards,
Peter Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Beautiful, Old World and Relaxing are just a few of the adjectives I can use for describing Rawdons. Whenever we are in South Africa visiting family we always spend a few days driving the Midlands Meander. We wouldn't go to Nottingham Road without at least having lunch at Rawdons. Being able to spend a few nights there is heaven. The grounds are beautiful, the food is delicious, the service is beyond reproach. There is just the right accommodation for everyone. The included breakfast has everything you could want. If you are visiting from the States you will be really pleased with the ambiance and old world feel of Rawdons. Definately 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are very proud to have such dedicated staff and to be able to provide you with world-class service and hearty meals. We so look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for choosing Rawdons Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My company recently used the conference facilities at Rawdons for a strategic planning workshop. This is an annual event and we have been back to Rawdons now for the forth year in a row. The facilities are well organised and the staff extremely professional, also in dealing with big groups. The accomodation and food is excellent and Amanda and George lovely hosts. Really cannot fault anything. This is a highly recommended conference venue and we will definitely be back. Dr Martin van der Merwe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
It was our pleasure hosting you and your team, and thank you for choosing Rawdons for the fourth consecutive year. We look forward to helping you make your 5th annual conference a massive success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHANESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was a brilliant holiday and get-away and recommend to all concerned. Rawdons is really run well, do not forget to go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Public Relations Manager at Rawdons Hotel & Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review - we do pride ourselves in our offerings and it is so wonderful that you had such a fabulous time. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rawdons Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawdons Hotel & Estate

Address: Nottingham Road | Between Balgowan and Mooi River, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rawdons Hotel is situated in the heart of the beautiful KwaZulu Natal midlands meander. A family run hotel for the past 40 years - set on a stunning 240ha estate is a great place to unwind. We have a superb Micro Brewery on the property brewing some great ales and lagers. The pub is more English than most English hotels. The rooms have recently been upgraded and well appointed and an boardwalk alongside the main dam leads to various birding, cycling and walking trails. We look forward to welcoming you to our piece of heaven. And if having so many repeat guests over the years isn't testimony to our offerings, then come and see for yourself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawdons Hotel & Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rawdons Hotel & Estate to your Saves list