We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What about using the water?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Llangorse Lake

Llangorse Lake
Talgarth, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Talgarth
Attraction details
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What about using the water?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I spent several years making yearly visits to race my Sailboard in local and National events. Always managed to gt into the prize lists too, so the water must have suited me. My daughter and Son-in-law have now been water skiing on the lake and loved it. They are considering a caravan locally now and say we can visit.
I am sure we would enjoy that but I am surprised to see no mention of sailing on the lake, a canoe is a poor substitute. What is the situation if I wanted to beg, borrow or hire a Windsurfer or a dinghy? Can anyone help?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tranquil beauty, the best of Wales.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This really is a special place either to take a boat out in summer, or just sit and watch wildlife, or now Oct/Nov, see the hundreds of thousands of starlings coming into the shore side trees to roost at dusk. My photos were taken on an October morning earlier this month.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful afternoon walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great place for a walk! Lovely bird hide amongst the reeds and some very very old oak trees. Worth a short drive for a peaceful stroll in beautiful surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Eye catching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Take a boat on the lake and relax for an hour. Beautiful lake and worth a visit.
Some loverly walks around the lake

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely lake and nearby village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've visited Llangorse twice now, staying at the Lakeside campsite both times. Even on a busy day it seems a peaceful place, with lot's of space and mountain views. there's a cafe and a shop, as well as a lakeside bar, and a 10 or 15 minute walk takes you to the village which has a couple of decent pubs serving food. One (Red Lion) is also a micro-brewery making it's own ales, whereas the other (Castle) is more rustic and traditional - I liked them both!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llangorse Lake also viewed

Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 

Been to Llangorse Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llangorse Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.