We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Radnor Barn B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Radnor Barn B&B to your Saves list
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stephen and Lynne made us very welcome.Nothing too much trouble and excellent room.Breakfast was really lovely.They were helpful with places to see.The perfect hosts.Only stayed for a few days,but will definitely stay with them again as soon as possible this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
65
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the old radnor barns in February and have to say we had a lovely time. Such a high standard of accommodation & being dog/walker friendly can be difficult to find, however the radnor barn delivers & more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwanseaBoys, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the area in general. Whenever you are in the area again, whether staying or passing through on your bike, fell free to call in and have one of our famous Welsh cream teas.

Kind regards,

Lynne and Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here after a very busy week in work and feeling stressed out the owner's made me and my partner feel very welcome and they were both very helpful and knowledgeable about what the local area had to offer , the rooms were immaculate , as was the public area, s the breakfast was superb and there was a large choice on offer, left here Sunday night feeling recharged and rested
Thanks to both Steve and Lynn for a wonderful break we will certainly be returning








N

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I turned up on a Friday afternoon nobody wanted to really show me where to go the accommodation smelt of bio and at night I couldn't sleep due the cars use ing the car park as a racing track and the owners didn't do anything to help.
On tho the bed and toilet area I was horrified to find stains on the the mattress and pubic hair round the plug hole. When I woke up in the I was amazed to find the land lady's dog excreting on the green area off the public car park when going down for breakfast it was burnt and did not look appetising and nothing was done to improve it. I can honestly say I would Neva stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwanseaBoys, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are at a loss to understand who has written this review, as having checked our booking records, we have not had one person stay with us from Cardiff since October. I believe that this review is false and has been done by someone that has not stayed with us. I would ask tripadvisor to check with the artificial guest and then remove this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I arrived and was greeted by Steve I knew that we had booked the right place. It was a refreshing change to have a genuine warm welcome (as oppose to a badly delivered script).

Steve and Lynne have certainly got it right and clearly apply very high standards to the whole experience with the Guest being the centre of attention.

The Bedroom and Bathroom were cleaned to a high standard and very comfortable and warm. The shower in the Lavender room was hot and powerful - very welcome after a long drive.

Breakfast was lovely and I would certainly recommend the Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs. The eggs were as fresh as they come with the chickens who laid them only the previous evening running around freely outside the window !

In all - a very positive and pleasant experience and one which is highly recommended for either business or pleasure. My sincere thanks to Steve and Lynne - I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES u.k.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We , husband , daughter and I had been invited to a wedding nearby on New Year's Eve and were fortunate to find The Old Radnor Barn not only open for business, but, Steve offered his services as chauffeur for the evening-how much more customer orientated can you be ? Steve and Lyn are excellent host and hostess and really nothing is too much trouble. We had the family room which comprises 2single beds and a huge double bed with one of the most comfortable mattresses I have ever slept on ! Tea/coffee making facilities plus TV and DVD player-free WiFi too which is worth mentioning. There is a wealth of information provided in a folder about the house and the area-so much to see and do close by. The ensuite has a shower-no bath- and beware of sloping ceilings.
Our breakfast the next morning was a feast to welcome in the New Year-beautiful bacon and sausages. There is an abundance of choice , however, should you not wish to have the full Welsh breakfast-smoked salmon anyone ? Pleasant dining experience with the gentle melodies of the Blaenavon Male Voice Choir playing in the background. ( Steve is a member )
This really is a delightful spot and deserves more than a brief overnight stay- the hospitality is first rate and it is little wonder that guests make regular return trips. Steve and Lyn have worked really hard to develop The Old Radnor Barn and have further plans in the pipeline-thank you both, you may see us later in the year if only to try an afternoon tea !

Room Tip: Ring and discuss your options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This B & B is exceptional. Nicely situated at the edge of Talgarth . The owners have decorated and maintained this converted barn beautifully. The breakfast is excellent and of course served by Stephen the proud quintessential Welshman as you listen to the choir he sings for . This is everything good about Wales ! Also pop into the newly opened Bridge End Inn , the food is excellent

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Radnor Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Radnor Barn B&B

Address: Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Radnor Barn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Radnor Barn B&B Talgarth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Radnor Barn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.