We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Highly Recommended'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Radnor Barn B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Radnor Barn B&B to your Saves list
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“'Highly Recommended'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent B&B for all. Very welcoming & friendly. Recently visited to go Mountain Biking in the area. Scenery is breath taking. Stephen and Lynne are very accommodating. Found the room very comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this B&B to friends and family without any hesitation. You can even wash the bikes and store under cover. Despite changeable weather we enjoyed every minute...Thank you...Mike from Essex

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
69
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Talgarth, staying in the Old Radnor Barn. The accommodation was very well presented with a new modern bathroom. Breakfast was also excellent and we were made to feel very welcome by Lynn and Steve. Would def recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: We had our 10 month old son with us so needed extra space. We had the sunflower room as the bed was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great little barn conversion, comfortable to stay in and helpful and welcoming hosts. OK cooked breakfast and plenty of cereals etc. Useful to have free WiFi (no 3G phone signal for catching up with work). Ground floor double room narrow but with enough space, and shower room across corridor. Recommended, but with a few small issues which I hope will be sorted as promised, and suggestions.

Warped doors which can be a struggle to shut. Especially the bathroom (across the corridor) - I'm physically fit and had to lean into the door very hard with a shoulder, level with the handle, to get the latch to engage. Also no key for the bathroom door lock, apparently after someone recently managed to lock themselves in and was stuck for an hour. Assured that the doors are due to be replaced soon, but should not have been allowed to get so warped and cause that accident.

Breakfast order form missing from the room info pack (they ask you to order the night before), also mentioned by other guests - no great issue but a small B&B needs to be able to have the right supplies ready to avoid wastage.

Very thin white curtains - not great for blocking out morning light or for privacy.

Was visiting Talgarth for some training with a local company, which had previously agreed a discounted rate for delegates. The B&B appears to have increased this rate without discussing with the trainer, and previous delegates have commented in lack of heating, as mentioned in another review. Other delegates on my course stayed at the Castle Hotel, Wye Knot Stop and the New Inn and said all very good. New Inn does very good Thai food although needs to promote itself more from the outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son and I stayed over Easter- we arrived to find we had to make up my son's sofa bed- not great, but even worse when on leaving we found they were charging £15 p/n for him.


It was a pretty poor experience- the room was way too small for a family of three- cramped, not enough storage, main and bathroom doors didn't close properly, biscuits were out of date in 01/2013.

Breakfast was the worst I think I have ever had- catering pack style - sausages were greasy, poor quality, dry and just horrible. Mushrooms were greasy and cheap. No effort was made to source locally. They like you to give your order the night before - presumably to allow enough time to over cook the sausage and boil the mushrooms - and to know what time between 8-9 you're having breakfast.

Worst of all it was freezing- other reviewers comment on this, but still no effort was made to turn on the heating earlier and keep it going- temps were in the minus and for £100 p/ n to be shivering was ridiculous.

My tip- find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwanseaBoys, Owner at Old Radnor Barn B&B, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the Old Radnor Barn but I wish to make the following points in response.

We received no complaint or response from you until you came to settle your bill. You had obviously failed to read the booking conditions, when booking through laterooms. The booking conditions for the room you stayed in, were clearly stated with the additional charge of £15.00 per night for a child. This could be seen clearly before, during and after at the time of booking. We would encourage all potential guests to read in full, the terms and conditions relating to the specific rooms of their choice, before booking.

You state that "we arrived to find we had to make up my son's sofa bed- not great". The clue here is in the wording "sofa bed"- a sofa that can be used as a bed. If this was such an insurmountable problem, we would have gladly made the bed up for you immediately or later that evening or given you a demonstration of how it should be done. We leave this in the sofa position, so that our guests may use it to sit on!

The room you state was small for a family of three, it lacked storage and that the bedroom and bathroom doors did not close properly. In response, we have been graded by Visit Wales at 4*, precisely because we meet the grading criteria for such. The room has a wardrobe, dressing table, a chest of drawers and two bed-side cabinets, I am not sure what more one, sorry you might expect in this respect in such a bed and breakfast. I have checked the doors and although some pressure has to be applied by pulling on the handles when turning the keys, they do work. If the biscuits were out of date, I can only apologise and rest assured, it won't happen again!

As far as the breakfasts are concerned, I completely disagree with your comments and state that, all our meats including our sausages are sourced locally and supplied by Cashells of Crickhowell an award winning local butcher, who sources all of their meat within the Black Mountains. We fry our mushrooms in butter, we do not boil them. We do ask guests if they can give us their breakfast orders the night before, along with a time to eat between *am and 9am, however, we do not have a problem with guests who change their minds or those who wish to leave ordering until the morning. Once again, all you had to do was ask!

You state that the temperatures were in the "minus" and you further mention that other reviewers have commented on this topic. Your arrival at 4.45pm coincided with the central heating timer activating. You asked my wife if she could put on the heating, as your 10 year old son was not feeling well. My wife gave you an electric heater to use until the central heating reached temperature, which is set at 22 degrees. She also brought an extra blanket for your son. You did not mention this at any other time during your stay.

To draw this response to a close, at no time during your stay did you complain or even mention any of the above points that you make now with the exception of the additional payment for your son of £15.00 per night. May I take this opportunity to advise you to read fully the terms and conditions of booking, before you book. You are quite happy to use other guest views to support your complaint of the room being cold, so I will do likewise with other aspects of your review as follows:

LOVELY PLACE TO STAY!!! " The food was magnificent a cooked breakfast both mornings at the time specified and we were always greeted with a warm and friendly smile".

MOUNTAIN BIKING WEEKEND "Fantastic quality breakfast and accompanying coffee".

FRIENDLY AND VERY WELL PLACED "Now to the breakfast,,, wonderful, local produce, brilliant way to start our day. they grow their own fruit and veg too.... Room was big enough, clean, and I remember sleeping very well".

Yours sincerely,

Stephen and Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A good place to stay to visit the Brecon Beacons National Park. Lots of places to visit in the area and a good community feeling in Talgarth. Near to Hay on Wye and Brecon so plenty to do in the area including cycling (on roads and some extreme mountain routes).

Room Tip: Only a couple of rooms so just like staying with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

my partner and i stayed here back in november for our anniversary. Although it was out of season we were looked after extremely well and had an absolutely lovely time. The food was magnificent a cooked breakfast both mornings at the time specified and we were always greeted with a warm and friendly smile. The room was extremely clean and very cosey and the bathroom was exceptional too. Great information book in the room so we knew where to go and what to do. We are definitely going to come back this year and this time bring our little girl.

Thank you for everything we felt so welcome and had a great time the chocolates and bottle of wine that greeted us after our horseriding was a lovely gesture and we enjoyed both.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My 3 friends and I booked our stay a few weeks beforehand. I found the service over the telephone very pleasant with a good understanding of what was available for mountain bikers. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners who again were very helpful. Old Radnor Barn is situated in a beautiful setting very very close to the bike tracks on offer. The room was perfect, very clean and tidy and kept that way by the owners throughout our two night stay. As soon as we returned from our bikes ride we were offered a hose to clean the bikes with. I would highly recomend this place to stay in, great people and nice and tidy. Fantastic quality breakfast and accompanying coffee. I will stay here again when I return for more biking this way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Radnor Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Radnor Barn B&B

Address: Station Yard, Talgarth LD3 0PE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Radnor Barn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Radnor Barn B&B Talgarth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Radnor Barn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.