We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fountain Inn to your Saves list
The Fountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wellthorne Lane, Ingbirchworth S36 7GJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
huddersfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Freezing cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had plenty of lovely meals in this establishment but the heat is never on. We went for lunch but on arrival could not have eaten in any of the bar areas as all radiators were cold and no fires. This pub would benefit greatly from roaring fires and some heat. The toilets might as well have been outside as you could see your breath.

All the food is of a high standard but other people have also said they don't go in the winter months as it is very cold. Early bird menu excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    33
    12
    13
    29
See reviews for
41
44
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Last minute booking to cycle this area of Trans Pennines Trail. Absolutely excellent in every way ! From the moment of arrival when showed to our room which was clean and had comprehensive hot drink making facilities and a clean pleasant bathroom with both bath and shower , to our checking out ,the staff without exception were outstanding in every way. So professional but friendly too. The prices were very reasonable too,both the B &B rate and the restaurant and bar prices. We had an evening meal which was lovely. An excellent choice and very well presented and cooked. My only comment relates to the portion sizes---probably over generous ! I had a full english breakfast which lasted me all day. Must be one of our best stopovers and for value for money our best! Thanks to all.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which was very quiet and had rural view, but I think any similarly numbered room in sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Not been the 'The Fountain' in years as it had gone badly downhill in recent years. However, we had heard it had changed hands recently and had improved again. We were not disappointed and went for the 'Early Bird' menu mid-week, 2 course for £7.95. Lots of choice of both courses and all excellent food.

We enjoyed it with some friends so much we went again the following week with another set of friends! Keep up the standard and the choice.

Steve, Huddersfield.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

19th August we tried out Sunday lunch for the first time in ages. As locals we witnessed the decline but am pleased to say it has improved since our previous visit.
Roast beef, pork loin and homemade yorkshire puddings were lovely and the fresh veg served separately were equally nice. Yes the staff are young but they were pleasant enough and the landlord is a bit strange but we enjoyed our visit and will probably return.
Childrens portions available but you have to ask.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had a lovely evening at The Fountain Inn. They had real ale (Jennings and Landlord) and the bar staff were welcoming. We ordered the Monday special, this is where they cook something fresh from Sunday's leftovers and only charge a pound. Today was Spanish pork and it was tasty. Good chips too. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingbirchworth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We held a function at the Fountain on 4th of August on the occasion of my mum's 90th birthday. The room was excellent and there was plenty of space to accommodate younger members of the family who enjoyed some noise and dancing, as well as the older generation, who could sit in the quieter room. As a venue for a function, it works brilliantly. The food was absolutely excellent and pandered to everyone's special diets and tastes, which with my family and friends was difficult. The Vegan and Vegetarian food was incredibly good as was the rest of the food. It was well organised, well managed and very reasonably priced. The congenial host and Landlord was on top form and an absolute treat. Many of my family stayed at the hotel and the rooms were clean and attractive, fantastic value for money. The professionalism of the whole staff is without doubt, they worked together as a team to provide my family with a wonderful day and Mum with some lovely memories. On the Sunday we enjoyed Sunday lunch in the restaurant which was absolutely superb too. We dined as a family of 12 and everyone of us felt that the meal was superlative and again the service was excellent. I visit regularly and I have noted that the landlord, who is sometimes a little irreverent is always a gentleman and very professional, he works incredibly hard to make a success of this pub - I would imagine that anyone with a sense of humor, who enjoys good food and are fair and reasonable themselves would really enjoy this venue.

Room Tip: Allow time, the place is often quite busy now, it has become really popular. The atmosphere in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Visited with wife and friends, and was shocked by unprofessionalism of staff. Staff are very young and some are extremely silly and flirty rather than polite and professional. My wife along with the others in the party were very upset when we were constantly flirted with while attending the bar. The main culprit was called Abbey, avoid at all costs she will cost you your marriage. It was a shame that the evening had to be ruined by staff that were more interested in getting a man than just being polite and impressing the whole party. The manager David was professional and appeared knowledgable about the industry but unfortunatly we wont be visiting again until there is a bar staff change, a place such as this in a beautiful location should exude a family atmosphere, not the silly flirty unprofessionalim exhibited here, it reminded us of previous staff under previous landlords. Time for it to be a quality operation, and pull away from the past.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ingbirchworth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: Wellthorne Lane, Ingbirchworth S36 7GJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Ingbirchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ingbirchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Truly Traditional Country Inn set in beautiful countryside. All returning & new guests will be greeted with a warm welcome and assured of a luxurious break away from home. Close to the Peak District National Park and well renowned for being located within "last of the summer wine" country . Within 20 minutes guests can easily reach Wakefield, Barnsley and Sheffield. Whatever your occasion, you are sure to find a 'warm welcome' from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Ingbirchworth
The Fountain Inn Ingbirchworth, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.