We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy bed, nice breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Mercury to your Saves list
The Mercury
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   540 Manchester Rd, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3JP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Barnsley
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“comfy bed, nice breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here Sat night after visiting friends. Room as others have stated need upgrading, but the bed was comfy. Bathroom not the best, but was adequate and was clean. Room was very warm, but that's not the fault of the owners it's our weird summer! My husband is familiar with the area, as we're our friends and in laws. They all sounded shocked we were going to stay there as in their words "it's got a terrible reputation", well all I will be telling them is, don't knock it until you've tried it. I found it to be more than adequate for what we needed. Breakfast was excellent for a fiver, Kellogg cereals,Warburton bread to toast, choice of cooked breakfast, what's not to like? Staff were friendly and I would recommend to others, even those who seemed shocked. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Over the last few years we have worked hard to make it a welcoming place for all and are so pleased that you found your experience here shattered what you had been told to expect. We continue with our programme of refurbishment but that does not affect customer service. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    12
    4
    16
See reviews for
21
21
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed when we were cycling Land's End to John O'Groats. I think Westhoughton is a popular stopping point for cyclists doing the same thing; for me, personally, it wouldn't be a destination in itself. The owner was very happy to put our bikes in his garage, which was kind.

The outside of The Mercury is a little worn and so you don't get the best first impression but past that it's better. The receptionist was very friendly and, because she was new, we quickly met the owner/manager/publican and all round good egg, whose name I can't remember, which is a shame.

Our room was ok - clean, quiet, with nice toiletries. Like the facade, ours could have done with a lick of paint but that's it really. It wasn't luxury but then at the bargain price you wouldn't expect it.

We had dinner in the pub lounge and the night was pretty rocking (for others less knackered than us!) - a cabaret night was on and the locals were out in force. Really friendly atmosphere and the food was dirt cheap (and tasty). We chatted to the owner for a little bit and both my boyfriend and I picked up on the fact that he does everything - whatever needs doing - around the place. We got the impression that he works really hard to make it a good place for everyone.

Our bed was comfy and I'm sure we would have had a very reasonable night's sleep had it not been for the rather rowdy family shouting outside our door throughout the night! We stayed on a Saturday night and the pub seems to be the life and soul of the local community, so it's not surprising really.

Breakfast the next day was the usual b&b fare, so that was fine.

All in all, a few tweaks here and there but the owner will do his best to ensure that you have a good, welcoming stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Despite first impressions when arriving in car park, you couldn't ask for a more friendly welcome! Food was excellent - we were almost put off by the cheap prices but glad we stayed on site for food. Bar/restaurant is Retro style. Room was basic but with refurbished bathroom. Over all Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We agree with you that the kerb appeal of the place is not great. It is hard to make a long flat roofed building look attractive. We focus our efforts inside, providing a welcome and good value and are glad that you were able to appreciate that. We hope in the years to come to continue refurbishments as funds allow – rather like painting the Forth Bridge! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights recently for a family visit nearby. Made to feel very welcome, not least by the party atmosphere from local people on Fridays and Saturday nights. I would normally run a mile from karaoke style entertainment, but on Friday nights there are some splendid singers and my wife and I enjoyed it enormously. Not luxuriously appointed, but great value- you are not paying 5 star prices. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Mercury. Cabaret nights on Friday and Saturday are very well attended and we are glad that the atmosphere the regulars generate helped to make you feel so welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great value hotel this one. We received the warmest of welcomes on arrival. Made to feel very welcome and at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Shower was excellent. And although we didn`t get a chance to sample the bar area (Cos we were out for the evening at a prog rock celebration in town. Also excellent!) it looked very inviting. The breakfast was very good too with a perfectly poached egg. Always a good litmus test of the quality of the chef. And even though I was a little late. They were still more than happy to accommodate me. It was a very late night. A warm welcome from Kwez and Glynn Heywood who I`m told took over this hotel a few years ago. They are updating things all the time and although it is only fair to say that there are a few areas that look a little dated. This is soon over looked due to the fantastic welcome, superior level of service and delicious breakfast. I have paid a lot more for a lot less in other hotels. I would definatly recommend this place to anyone wanting good value for money without compromising on service. Thanks guys for looking after us so well. We`ll see you again I`m sure!!

Room Tip: If you have any special requests.I`m sure they`d do their best to accommodate your needs.Just ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your time up here including your evening watching the tribute band. We definitely acknowledge there is still work to do here as we continue to update things but are delighted that that did not detract from your enjoyment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The bedrooms are old and basic, but the bathroom was brand new and there was a note in the guide in the room which said they are looking to refurbish all rooms by the end of 2013, and for the price we paid we were more than happy with the room. When we arrived we went into the bar which has a nice atmosphere and the staff are lovely and friendly - would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Mercury. It is encouraging when guests can see the changes that we are making. It was lovely to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again if you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This old-style 'Ma & Pop' motel is cheap, simple, friendly and clean. The home-prepared food is also good value. Speaking as someone who normally avoids pub events, the entertainments put on here most nights of the week are brilliant - a real sense of un-self-conscious community and bonne homie pervades the place and sets The Mercury way above the usual corporate style hotel chains. It's my hotel of choice when I am on business in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercuryMotel, Owner at The Mercury, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Mercury was apparently opened as The Route 66 Motel before changing its name to the Mercury. We are really blessed with wonderful staff and customers who all try to make guests welcome. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards Ma and Pop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mercury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercury

Address: 540 Manchester Rd, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Westhoughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westhoughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mercury 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home from home with live entertainment - what more could you want? This privately run establishment offers friendly service, comfort and has entertainment in the bar seven nights a week. Or you can relax in your room watching the freeview television, use the free wireless internet access or have a warm bath or shower in your en-suite. With our home made food you are sure to enjoy your evening at The Mercury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Mercury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercury Hotel Westhoughton
Mercury Hotel Bolton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.