We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freestone Backpackers

Freestone Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manapouri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freestone Backpackers
270 Hillside Rd, Manapouri 9064, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Fantastic value for money- we stayed in one of the rustic self-contained cabins with basic cooking facilities & wood burner. Beautiful view of the lake from the little porch, quiet surroundings. Cabin & shared bathroom facilities very clean, friendly owners!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is probably the best hostel I have stayed in New Zealand. And that`s the reason why I decided to stay more than 2 weeks!! :)

The place is really clean and spacious with a beautiful mountain and lake view...!!
The owners, Kerstin and Jimmy, are really helpfull and really want to make people feel at home and are willing to help you know the beautiful landscape and things around better.

The hostel owners also offer lake cruises on the beautiful lake manapouri. Kerstin is playing the piano during the cruise, that really made my heart beating... Amazing...!! I booked that cruise twice, cause it was just wonderful!!

Keep up the good work ! This is an amazing place!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at Freestone for a couple of nights while visiting Doubtful Sound and the accommodation was wonderful. We had our own little cabin fully self-contained. It was warm and the bed was awesome. Loved the quiet surrounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a little gem right near lake manpouri. We hiked the Milford track and then stayedat this hostel type place when we got back. It is about 10 minutes from Te Anau so is easy after 4 days hiking. The hostel is actually a bunch of semi self contained wooden huts/chalets. There is shared bathroom, toilets. The chalets have a small stove and kitchen/eating all in the one room with cosy little wood burners for cold weather. The veiw and surrounds are amazing and are reminiscent of the European alps right there in NZ. I would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I only stayed 1 night, but if I had time, would have stayed longer.

Lovely relaxing place which is a few kms out of the small town of Manapouri. I ended up in a large double room in the separate holiday house, but the other options include very basic rustic private cabins scattered across the hillside. All have amazing views and it's lovely to just sit outside in the evening and chill while watching the sunset, and the brilliant starry nights.

Excellent value for money and a great stopping off point for Doubtful Sound.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a little wooden cabin... With double bed, sofa, dining table and benches, kitchenette with sink (cold water unless you boil some) and a couple of gas burning hobs, and the wood burning stove in the corner.

Kind of like camping but with solid walls, a comfy bed and a veranda to sit and enjoy the view, birdsong and roaming horses. There is no power in the cabins except lighting, but you can use the sockets in the facilities block (down the hill along little paths), where you'll also find the fridges, laundry and toilet block.

We loved the rural, rustic charm. It is a bit of a schlep to scramble to the bathrooms in the middle of the night but that wouldn't put me off staying here again!

For the money it gave us a real away-from-it-all break for a couple of days, while we were close to enjoy the early departing full-day Doubtful Sound cruise from Manapouri.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Fairly basic but high value backpacker. Clean cottages with comfortable beds and a kitchenette. The cottages are scattered on the hill and require some walking from the parking. Common services and laundry are within a short walk . A wood stove keeps you warm during the night . Stunning view on the lake while sitting on the cottage balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freestone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestone Backpackers

Address: 270 Hillside Rd, Manapouri 9064, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our private, cosy timber chalets with wood burner, solar lighting, kitchen and shared bath facilities. You can choose the luxury lodge with spa or a 4 bedroom holiday house. All our rooms have stunning views of mountains and Lake Manapouri. The place is a great base for a holiday in Fiordland, Doubtful and Milford Sound cruises, kayaking, Kepler, Dusky tracks etc or simply as food for the soul. Free bookings. Hosts: Jimmy & Kerstin. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freestone Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Freestone Backpackers to your Saves list