We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely cosy environment matched with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney End B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stoney End B & B to your Saves list
Stoney End B & B
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Worton DL8 3ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Worton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liversedge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely cosy environment matched with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend opted to stay in the ground floor room of the b&b which looks straight out onto the beautiful hills in the surrounding area! On arrival we were greeted by one of the two owners named Mike, who turned out to be a lovely gentleman, he was extremely welcoming, instantly made us feel right at home and we couldn't have asked for a better introduction to Stoney End. Our room was super cosy and warm and the layout is as any room should be for a quiet romantic stay. One of the only slight issues we had was with the hottub which is situated out on the terrace was unfortunately for us not warm enough, it had a max temperature of 40 degrees which for some people is more than enough but this is just our personal preference for it to be hotter! Mornings at Stoney End were definitely a treat as we were able to finally have breakfast which we have read nothing but good reviews for and, as expected more than lived up to expectations, I had a fruit dish starter and a Yorkshire dales breakfast, both used fresh produce and were cooked to perfection, 10/10. We also met Mikes wife Pamela who was also a lovely women and definitely knew how to make her customers comfortable, she aided us in finding a local Christmas fair in Grassington which we thoroughly enjoyed! There's a touch of dust here and there and a few scuffs but it's an old cottage and these things can't be helped sometimes, but we would definitely say it takes nothing away from the fact we had a great stay and shall be returning, it's obvious Mike and Pam have worked very hard to get Stoney End to a high standard. David and Kayti - Liversedge

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Stoney End we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Just a note regarding the temperature of the hot tub in Yoredale: It is recommended that tubs are operated between 37 and 39 degrees and we run ours at 39. There are Health and Safety issues in using tubs at over 40 degrees. The National Spa and Pool Institute considers 40° C to be the maximum safe water temperature for adults, and modern spas are normally set at the factory not to exceed that limit. We hope that this information is useful!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    12
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mochdre, wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Can't recommend Stoney End enough. Lovely hosts, great food and even better location. Sat out watching the stars in the Hot Tub. Even saw a shooting star (don't remember booking that) The breakfast was one of the best i have had in a long time. Lovely space to relax in the dining room. with loads of interesting craft and book to absorb

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
'Shooting stars' how romantic!! It would be great if we could organise those!Thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hi have just returned from a one night stay in the yore dale room
We were given a very warm welcome by the owner who had also lit the lovely log fire for our arrival in the guest lounge, we were shown straight to our room and instructions were given to us for the use of the hot tub.
It is a beautiful room with everything in there that you would need for a one night stay lots of lovely fresh towels and plenty of tea and coffee are to name a few !!
The bed was very comfy and the hot tub were amazing !!
We ate out nearby at the crown inn at askrigg it was very busy so we had to wait quite a while but it was a nice meal.
We had a very comfortable night and enjoyed a really good breakfast in lovely surroundings,
The owners were very friendly and very informative but the highlight was definitely the hot tub which enjoyed awesome views !! We will be sure to return very soon hopefully in the new year, thanks for a great stay Carla and Stuart x x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great location,and a lovely place to stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast choice was excellent , I would definitely visit again. Everything you would need is provided for a very comfortable stay.The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 2nd visit, and we were very excited about going back, Mike and Pam are the perfect hosts, and make you feel very welcome. The breakfasts are delicious, especially if you like fresh fish ,we were spoilt for choice with the breakfast menu. Our room was lovely with a fantastic view, and everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Askrigg is about a 15 minute walk over the footpath, with a choice of excellent pubs serving good food, we will be back again to catch up with Mike and Pam and enjoy another excellent stay,

Room Tip: We have stayed in two of the rooms, both excellent, enquire with the hosts when booking ,as to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We strive to make every stay special and are delighted that you returned! Hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Amazing stay in the Wesleydale room. Lovely decoration, very clean and amazing location and hosts.15 min walk into askrigg for drinks and food. Outstanding breakfast, hosts so friendly and happy to.help. will defo recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are just delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your friends to SE in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

A big thank you to Pamela and Mike for providing a wonderful place to escape and relax. The location is idyllic with great walks close by. The breakfast menu is vast and sets you up for the day! After a day's walking the hot tub was a most welcome luxury. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Owner at Stoney End B & B, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is very important to us that guests enjoy their stay. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney End B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney End B & B

Address: Worton DL8 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Worton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Worton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoney End B & B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney End is a 17th-century converted barn in the Yorkshire Dales National Park where we offer bed and breakfast at Stoney End and self catering accommodation in our adjacent Stoney End Cottage. Situated in the heart of the stunningly beautiful countryside of Wensleydale we offer the perfect place to get away from it all and relax... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Stoney End B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney End B & B Worton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney End B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.