We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheerful and friendly place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox & Hounds

The Fox & Hounds
Main Street | North Yorkshire, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LP, England
01969 623650
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Description: The Fox and Hounds is a family run CAMRA award winning public house in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. The Fox and Hounds offers a range of cask real ales including 2 locally brewed guest beers. It also has a home cooked food menu using local ingredients. Delicious traditional pub food is served daily from midday to 2pm, then from 6pm to 9pm. Bookings not necessary but recommended for larger parties.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“cheerful and friendly place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ventured to the fox and hound after a VERY disappointing visit to their neighbouring pub the Wensleydale Heifer. We were very pleased to find out that this was nothing like their counterpart and we had an enjoyable drink. Served with a smile!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff and hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A very friendly place to drink and eat,We sampled both the daytime menu and evening menu and the food was excellent!If your passing its well worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch at the Fox & Hounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visit the Dales every Summer and a highlight for our family is Sunday lunch at the Fox & Hounds. Last Sunday was no exception - a wonderful piece of beef (top marks to the butcher, Mr Hartle at West Burton), the best Yorkshire puds EVER plus an ace jug of gravy. Smashing landlord and kitchen team. What's not to like? Can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

While the beer may be great in this local pub I cannot recommend the food. We went to eat an evening meal and sat in a very dingy and chilly back room, The owner said she would put on the heater but then found her husband had put it away so , I kept my coat on! The food was average pub food and despite the many 'ping' noises coming from the kitchen my lemon sponge pudding hadn't been microwaved enough as it was still icy in the middle. This pub was such a disappointment as we were staying in the village and had hoped this would be a good place to eat in the evenings but it was not to be. If the landlords' hearts are not into catering why not just stick to serving drinks?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmdawgB, Public Relations Manager at The Fox & Hounds, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi wallace447,

Thank you for writing a review, and thanks for your kind words about our beer.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your dining experience. We aim to offer all our customers a choice of where to sit, so it's a shame that you weren't happy with the room in which you ate your meal. That is very unfortunate that you were not happy with your dessert, and we wish you had notified a member of staff so that they could rectify the problem.

We plan to keep serving food in the future as the vast majority of our diners express that they enjoyed their food, and we feel that it is of a good standard of quality for the price at which we sell it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good friendly pub, good food, nice people, fantastic beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We visited The Fox and Hounds a few times last week (1st to 5th July). The staff were friendly and made us feel really welcome. Even Ivan the dog was made welcome...... The food is good, tasty and very reasonably priced with a real choice....good home cooked food!! The beer garden is a suntrap the perfect place to sample a pint or two of Blacksheep or Salamander. The fox and hounds is a gem and well worth a visit....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Hounds also viewed

 
Middleham, Leyburn
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox & Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.