We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
The Old Vicarage
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MAY FOUR POSTER OFFER
Ranked #1 of 5 West Witton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night and was most impressed with the warm welcome I received the whole experience was lovely. It was a cold miserable night when I arrived but was greeted with a smile by Barbara the owner, who showed me to my room, an ensuite double room which was spotlesss, nicely decortaed and my bed so comfortable. There was great choice on the menu for breakfast and what I had was cooked to perfection. I will certainly be making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is special. The only fault with our stay is that it was not long enough! Lovely comfortable bedroom, a huge four-poster bed and very clean en-suite shower room. The cozy lounge with blazing wood-burning stove and the very helpful hosts made out stay very special. Grant and Barbara could not have done more for us and we shall certainly go back for longer. If you want to visit Wensleydale, you must stay at the Old Vicarage, West Witton.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was a last minute booking. It was a cold wet day outside and we were greeted warmly and made to feel very welcome by the owner. There was a super log fire burning in the lounge which added to the ambience and warmth of the greeting.

We stayed in the 4 poster room (room 4 I think). It was spacious, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The views front and back were lovely too. If I was to be slightly critical some of the fixtures in the bathroom and the shower were plasticky but we paid £84 for B&B so I can't complain really. There's plenty of places that would charge a lot more and provide a lot less.

We walked the short distance to The Wensleydale Heifer for an evening meal and this too was lovely. Not sure who commented in an earlier review about it not being recommended for food. As far as I'm concerned it's renowned for its food. I've eaten here a few times and haven't been disappointed. However £7 for a glass of wine is steep!!

Breakfast was super too. A warm welcome in the breakfast room greeted us along with a good choice of food which was wholesome, fresh and cooked well.

All in all a lovely short stay. If you want out and out luxury you have to pay top prices. For the money we paid The Old Vicarage provides a high standard of accomodation at very reasonable prices and represents great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Arrived on a cold, wet evening to be welcomed with a hot drink, homemade cake and the log burner roaring! Friendly welcome, cosy room complete with spa bath and comfortable bed. Breakfast offered an extensive choice, I had the most wonderfully cooked poached eggs with smoked salmon!

Would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed two very comfortable nights here. Our room was spacious and very quiet as it overlooked the back garden. We appreciated the welcoming pot of tea and slice of home made cake on arrival, the excellent breakfasts and the friendly efficient service. Very handy to be able to walk down to the Wensleydale Heifer to eat in the evening. West Witton is well placed to visit all the local attractions without too much driving. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back are very quiet but the road at the front isn't particularly noisy esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two-nights stay at the Old Vicarage. Everything is spotlessly clean and the place is very efficiently run. Our room, though very nice and with a lovely view, was a bit on the small side and we had some difficulty in placing our trolleys. It might have been worth the few extra pounds to get one of the bigger rooms. The room faced the main street, but we had a good sleep as there is very little traffic during the night. You can take a wonderful walk through the Dales starting right at the doorstep of the Old Vicarage and there is a very nice pub a few doors down the street. Be aware that West Witton is a tiny village and that, if you don't want to drive, dining options are limited to the exceptionallly good (but pricey) Wensleydale Heifer or the aforementioned pub (not really recommandable for food). In East Witton (12 km distance approx) we tried the Blue Lion, which was very good.

Room Tip: Choose one of the bigger rooms if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent just one night here last week, and we would have happily stayed for several more nights. From the initial welcome, all the way through to Breakfast, was excellent. We had a small twin room, with without doubt the smallest "en suite" I have ever seen, but this is not being critical, it was just very cleverly designed and everything was very comfortable indeed.
Having looked on line at the location, I was slightly concerned that it was on the main road..... this was a very misleading impression, as this road through the village must be one of the quietest in England, and we slept soundly and without disturbance although the room faced forwards (and so had superb views as well).
We would happily go back, and would be delighted to recommend The Old Vicarage to friends. Superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Wensleydale within The Yorkshire Dales National Park. we offer five en suite bedrooms, two with four poster beds, one double room with spa bath,one standard double room and one twin room. Four of which offer uninterupted views over Wensleydale, the fifth room overlooks our quiet garden / orchard.All rooms are well appointed with luxury toiletries, complimentary beverage tray, flat screen TVs with freeview channels, alarm clocks and hair dryers.Our dining room offers dual aspect views over Wensleydale to the north and over our patio / gardens to the south. We have acheived the Visit England Breakfast Award and offer a comprehensive selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc along with an extensive selection of cooked breakfasts both English and continental. Our guest lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere with plenty of maps and guide books for visitor use and a log burning stove to provide a very comforting ambience during the cooler months. We also offer free wired internet access in the lounge.Our large free car park provides off road parking and our extensive garden and patio with scenic views provide a pleasant place to relax during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel West Witton
The Old Vicarage West Witton, Leyburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.