We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

Save Saved
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Vicarage
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 4 West Witton B&B and Inns
Staffordshire England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just after the new year as we were going to Tennants antique auction house in Leyburn. It's a beautiful house run by a really friendly couple, Barbara and Grant. We were welcomed with a good old fashioned pot of Yorkshire tea and a slice of wonderful Victoria spong cake. We slept in a four poster bed in a bedroom with views across the fields. The breakfast was excellent and we will definitely stay there again when we are antique hunting in the dales.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Extremely friendly, spotlessly clean , brilliant breakfast , fantastic room ( No 4 )
book direct 01969 622108 and receive a free bottle of wine waiting for you in your room. Can really recommend this B & B . We will be going back.

Room Tip: Room 4 - four poster bed and two bucket chairs to watch tele- Brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful B&B, very friendly hosts and gorgeous rooms. We visited in the snow and it was lovely to watch it fall outside the window from our four poster bed - great base for visiting the area. Would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Choose one of the four poster rooms for a luxurious stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everything about The Old Vicarage was 'spot on'. Great rooms - loved the guests lounge with comfy leather sofas and woodburner. Spotlessly clean and great breakfasts. Barbara and Grant were more than helpful. Little touches like fresh cakes, clean towels every day and proper butter not in wrappers, made our stay memorable. Hope to return in the not too distant future. The Dales are beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at The Old Vicarage for only one night, as we were exhibiting at the Masham show. Upon arrival we were met with a very warm welcome, shown around the house and then up to our room. We were in a small room but it was well equipped, lovely comfy bed, very clean and excellent tea and coffee facilities. After being recommended a local eatery we returned to the vicarage to a warm log fire and good company with other guests. We enjoyed our stay at The Old Vicarage and will not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The 'Four Poster' room, which I asked to look around on the morning of our departure, is fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Barbara & Grant are the loveliest hosts who go above & beyond expectation. The whole b&b was immaculate, the room was cleaned daily & we was even left some freshly baked buns one of the days... The views are amazing from the b&b & grant/Barbara are more than happy to tell you all about the great places to visit! Lovely 3day break, just what we needed. SEE YOU AGAIN x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, the views from the front windows are beautiful. Barbara and Grant were the perfect hosts, they couldn't do enough for you. The rooms, like the rest of the house, were extremelycomfortable and spotlessly clean, they had everything you could want including wine glasses and a corkscrew. The breakfast was unbelieveably good with a menu that wouldn't be out of place in a 5 star hotel, all the food is freshly prepared and delicious with as much coffee or tea as you can drink. Grant and Barbara know the surrounding area well and are always happy to pass on their knowledge and recommend places to visit . There is ample parking at the rear with lovely gardens if you are lucky enough to get the weather. The only down side was that we only stayed for 2 nights we would have loved to have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Wensleydale within The Yorkshire Dales National Park. we offer five en suite bedrooms, two with four poster beds, one double room with spa bath,one standard double room and one twin room. Four of which offer uninterupted views over Wensleydale, the fifth room overlooks our quiet garden / orchard.All rooms are well appointed with luxury toiletries, complimentary beverage tray, flat screen TVs with freeview channels, alarm clocks and hair dryers.Our dining room offers dual aspect views over Wensleydale to the north and over our patio / gardens to the south. We have acheived the Visit England Breakfast Award and offer a comprehensive selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc along with an extensive selection of cooked breakfasts both English and continental. Our guest lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere with plenty of maps and guide books for visitor use and a log burning stove to provide a very comforting ambience during the cooler months. We also offer free wired internet access in the lounge.Our large free car park provides off road parking and our extensive garden and patio with scenic views provide a pleasant place to relax during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel West Witton
The Old Vicarage West Witton, Leyburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.