We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Vicarage to your Saves list
The Old Vicarage
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 West Witton B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

As the owners had the same surname as us we were biased but also somewhat nervous if the place would live up to it's reputation. It was a great stay. The hosts, coming from Lancashire supprisingly in Yorkshire were great. Definately recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The old vicarage is an excellent b & b with very friendly hosts . the breakfast room is set out lovely and the food is great, more that enought choice to please anyone.would recommend this as an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

It is without a doubt the hosts that are the cream topping on this bed and breakfast . From the moment we arrived , Barbara made us feel completely welcome in a truly motherly manner . Grant gave us material to help us find all the places that we wanted to see without us wasting time. Breakfast was fantastic with Grant serving and Barbara cooking . A full English and we mean full with a capital "F" . Fruit , cereal , toast , eggs , mushrooms , beans , bacon and much more. No lunch is required . The location about 10 minutes from Leyburn is great and the views from the house across the dales is second to none . Add it all together and you have a gold star
B & B. Stay there and you will not be disappointed , trust us .

Room Tip: Our room was small (room 5) , but that was our own fault because we chose it when booking . It was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for one night and arrived a little earlier than expected in the village, the proprietors were happy for us to park our car and gave us our key. The vicarage is very well presented. tastefully decorated and just generally lovely! Our room was very nice, big bed and very nice bathroom. Breakfast was also very good my husband who likes the FULL ENGLISH rated it excellent. The village is not the prettiest in Yorkshire, but nevertheless has a pub and a very famous restaurant /hotel, and a little shop. I would happily stay again and would recommend very highly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stopped here with friends and really enjoyed our stay. We had the jacuzzi room which was immaculately clean and tidy. The breakfast are fab, fresh fruit, cereal, full English to name just a few. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Old Vicarage is an excellent great value for money B&B set in a beautiful part of the Yorkshire Dales. We only stayed for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. Spotlessly clean. Fab views from our room both front and back and the owners Grant and Barbara made us feel really welcome, nothing too much trouble, gave us maps of the area and you can leave the car there and go off walking for the day. Leyburn is only 5 mins drive away. Pub just 200 yds down the road and a choice of great restaurants/pubs for you to choose from. Will definitely go back there - especially for the huge breakfast with a choice of fresh fruits/croissants/full English breakfast etc. There is also a lovely Tea Room attached to the B&B that serves great cream teas - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The house has fabulous views both from the front and rear. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are , and the breakfast, especially if you have room to tackle the cooked English breakfast starts the day the right way!! The rooms are extra comfortable and presented perfectly. The "comfort station" in the room is topped up daily as is the "emergency supply" in the corridor. All in all a great experience and superb value for money. Well done Barbara and Grant.

Room Tip: Ring up and see if the spa bath room is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Main Street, West Witton, Leyburn DL8 4LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > West Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of Wensleydale within The Yorkshire Dales National Park. we offer five en suite bedrooms, two with four poster beds, one double room with spa bath,one standard double room and one twin room. Four of which offer uninterupted views over Wensleydale, the fifth room overlooks our quiet garden / orchard.All rooms are well appointed with luxury toiletries, complimentary beverage tray, flat screen TVs with freeview channels, alarm clocks and hair dryers.Our dining room offers dual aspect views over Wensleydale to the north and over our patio / gardens to the south. We have acheived the Visit England Breakfast Award and offer a comprehensive selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc along with an extensive selection of cooked breakfasts both English and continental. Our guest lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere with plenty of maps and guide books for visitor use and a log burning stove to provide a very comforting ambience during the cooler months. We also offer free wired internet access in the lounge.Our large free car park provides off road parking and our extensive garden and patio with scenic views provide a pleasant place to relax during the warmer summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel West Witton
The Old Vicarage West Witton, Leyburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.