We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at West Burton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Burton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange
Save
You added The Grange to your Saves list
DL8 4JR, West Burton DL8 4JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at West Burton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at The Grange for one night and was really pleased to find they had a room for us. The owner made a great effort to enable us to stay despite the decorators being in for some work. The whole house is beautiful and the furnishings, decor and artefacts fitted in well with this period house. Our room was of a high standard, with a beautiful roomy bathroom, clean and well maintained. The owner made us feel welcome, without any fuss which we like when choosing a place to stay. Breakfast was fantastic, served in a character dining room. We have stayed at West Burton many, many times over the last 12 years, it really is a beautiful dales village. Will stay again at The Grange when we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had a great stay here recently, did not book prior just turned up and was welcomed by the owner, great room, well maintained and decorated, fab house to stay in with lots of history.
I see past reviews with very petty comments, most likely city people who expect a 5 star hotel service and to be called sir and madam.... The Grange is in the best location with plenty of activities to keep you busy around the area.. If you want a place to stay which is full of history, great owners and free to do what you want to do then this is the place. Thank you!
Ps great breakfast in the dining room, choice of cereals and the owner will cook a great fry up for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very short and hectic welcome, water boiler standing on the floor (we had no possibility to arrange this otherwise). No possibility to open two of the three windows, shower out of function. No reaction when we told this, no concession concerning the price.Chair in the room with broken cover. The breakfast was the worst (burnt ham) during our three-week-trip. Absolutely not what we expected in a five star accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I, my partner and my in-laws rented out both the apartment and the grange out houses to celebrate New Year 2012 - 2013. We only really saw the staff when we had to ask where we had to go to enter the properties and they told us of the keys and such. A girl came and met us and showed us around the two properties and told us just to go over if we needed anything. We met the partner of one of the family the next day. He brung us a better TV and had good manners.

As to be expected these are self catering facilities so we took with us almost anything we'd have used at home. We had
No problems with either properties facilities such as showers or toilets. However the damp in the grange stable house was terrible and the double bedroom really smelt bad of damp. The stable house was decorated very nice but everything felt a little dirty because of the dampness.

One big problem is that there is NO MOBILE SIGNAL OR WIFI! I was genuinely gutted about this because at time of flooding we had nothing to do but watch tv or play on the ipad. The logo game had us all entertained.

I'd defiantly return but I'd suggest they get some sort of WiFi if economically viable and that they sort out the stable house dampness. Also the two single beds in the other room were different. One canvas and one metal frame. The metal frame bed seemed flimsy and unstable and the canvas bed was great. I'd suggest two canvass beds or another double bed.

Also when we were setting the settee bed up we noticed it had been home to a few mice so we couldn't really use it for all the droppings. Later that night one of the mice had a good hike around the livingroom.

I'd suggest to anyone to stay here but take entertainment and extra bedding.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Valley, NS
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at The Grange for a walking weekend in mid-September. It is a very interesting old house stuffed full of antiques, Asia/Sub-Continent artifacts and local items (i.e. a huge stuffed Badger in a glass case and carved elephants, etc.). My room was large with a queen bed, couch and chair, large wardrobe and alcove closet, and a large bathroom with a big, claw foot bathtub with hand held shower attachment, coffee/tea making supplies and small TV.

I arrived on Friday around 17:00 to find a note on the door with my room key, as the host was returning from vacation and the stand-in had to leave early, this was okay and somewhat indicative of the safety of the local area, but became problematic when the lights in the bathroom didn't work (well there was 1 small bulb but the others had blown out), and I had to leave the curtain open in order to shave. After my first morning, I asked if the duvet could be replaced with a sheet and blanket, which was done, but I had to ask again that night for the bulbs to be replaced. On my last night, one of the end table lamps blew a bulb which shorted out the bathroom lights, fortunately I can brush my teeth in the dark. I was also disappointed to find that there were only 2 channels on the telly, as there isn't a lot to do after 21:00 in West Burton.

Overall, the service was adequate; the breakfast was good, if not the most cheerful service. Perhaps my minor problems were just my bad luck, or it could be just a function of staying in an old house? I would consider staying here again but then there isn't a lot of choice in West Burton, which I consider to be the prettiest village in the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

very warm welcome very nice people lovely rooms were stuck in flood waters no were to stay had our dog with us breakfast lovely even put us a pack lunch up free of charge for our trip home would highly recommend it to anyone mr and mrs hope durham

Room Tip: any all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A delightful village but a poor choice of accommodation.
The cold, dark dining-room and the general air of grubbiness might have been excused had the welcome been warm or friendly, as it invariably was at all the other places we stayed at.
We shall not return.

Room Tip: Don't rely on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange

Address: DL8 4JR, West Burton DL8 4JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > West Burton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in West Burton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange is a family-run Bed & Breakfast owned by Liz Ashford & family. It has a very relaxed & friendly atmosphere with an interesting and eclectic mix of furnishings. The Grange is situated in picturesque West Burton - some say the most beautiful village in England - and has spectacular views of the Yorkshire Dales and the waterfalls of the River Walden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.