We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbots Thorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbots Thorn
Save
You added Abbots Thorn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carlton in Coverdale | Leyburn, Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4AY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Carlton B&B and Inns
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank you John and Pat for a lovely stay in your beautiful B&B in Carlton. It is the first time we have been and it will not be the last, You could not have been more hospitable and your accommodation is first class. Delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, fabulous views and it was great to have the Forresters Arms on the doorstep serving such lovely meals.
We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, Pat and I just try to be friendly and informative, we enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It is so difficult to find a B&B that takes dogs. Our little Jack Russell enjoyed his stay, along with his owners in this delightful B&B set in the Yorkshire Dales. This was our first visit to this beautiful part of the country and the visit was made even better by that 'personal' touch from Pat and John who were exceptional hosts in their lovely home. The breakfasts really set us up for the day! We will definitely be back and will highly recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Well, we have to say that it looks like we are paying you for your review, Pat and I just like to treat people as we would like to be treated, we try to be happy and friendly.Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have recently got back from a weekend away at Abbots Thorn. We can in no way fault it. Perfection all round. Pat and John are a breath of fresh air. So friendly and will do anything to please. The room was beautiful, bed so comfy and lots of room. The breakfast was to die for. Can not wait to go back. Added bonus is the Forresters Arms across the road who do amazing meals. Its so relaxing and it was a hoot listening to the farmers and their banter. Well done Pat and John for all your hard work. Its a B and B that can not be faulted x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we do try to go out of our way to "go that extra mile, inch?" We look forward to seeing you again soon, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We've been to many places in England and in Yorkshire in particular, but nowhere else feels as much like home as Abbots Thorn. Pat and John are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are ample and wonderful. The Foresters Arms serves very nice food; pub grub plus some more ambitious dishes. Flat screen TVs are a nice addition to the rooms. There are great walks in every direction out the front door, and Carlton is well placed for exploring the rest of the Dales. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lilac and Honeysuckle are en-suite, while Jasmine has use of the house bath. All are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we do try to be the best we can possibly be, this is helped by being in a wonderful part of the world. Our new en-suites should be up and running within a few days so it will be even better when you return! Pat and I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thank you John and Pat for a fabulous stay in Carlton. It was wonderful to be back in Coverdale after 40 years. You could not have been more hospitable and your accommodation is first class. Delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, fabulous views and with The Forresters Arms just over the road we were more than happy. Hope to be back again one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsthorn, Owner at Abbots Thorn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Pat and I were hoping that you would be able to rekindle fond memories of Carlton and are very pleased that you did, we're sure things had changed but are glad that they were for the better. The Foresters Arms, being a community owned pub, is going from strength to strength and many an enjoyable evening is spent there. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went for another stay and were glad to find it as we left it: comfy, homely, excellent breakfasts and witty hosts. Pat & John have what it takes to run a B&B and will do whatever they can to make your stay as nice as possible. The pub across the road is worth a visit for some great food or just for a pint (or more).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were welcomed with open arms by a very friendly host,John and a lovely cup of tea. Although the decor is a bit dated, we found our room and ensuite beautifully clean. There was a lovely view from the window of our room and although facing the road it was very quiet. The pub just down the road served excellent meals. Breakfasts were very generous and very delicious....savoury duck, in particular. The porridge was the best we have had, ever! Thanks Pat! We were impressed by the flask of "real" milk so that we could enjoy a cuppa in our room and the biscuits supplied were good too. Would definitely return to explore the area further if we got the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbots Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Thorn

Address: Carlton in Coverdale | Leyburn, Carlton, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 4AY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbots Thorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbots Thorn is a 200 year old Dales house situated in Carlton in the Yorkshire Dales National Park with stunning views over Coverdale. We offer a lovely place to stay convenient to so many places of interest including Middleham Castle, Bolton Castle Leyburn, Aysgarth, Reeth, Hawes to name but a few.You can play golf, fish, go bird watching, tour or just relax, a walk from the door for a 2 mile stroll to 12 mile hike. A warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbots Thorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.