We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay in the Cottage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Ayton Lodge

Save Saved
You added East Ayton Lodge to your Saves list
East Ayton Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Ayton Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moor Lane, East Ayton YO13 9EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in East Ayton
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay in the Cottage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the cottage which is situated in the grounds of the lodge. We found the cottage to be very comfortable and met our needs precisely. Some small attention to detail in some areas would help but it would be very petty of me to pick holes. The cottage was warm and cosy with three large bedrooms and a large open plan loungs and kitchen and separate dining room.
The cottage was cleaned daily and we could either eat in the cottage or in the hotel.
The Bar/Restaurant was a little dark and lacked some atmoshere. The restaurant menu was limited and overpriced but the bar snacks were very tasty and plentiful.
The gardens of the hotel were well tended and looked after. We very much looked after ourselves during our stay but we were happy to do this as we wanted to stay in a cottage and had the advantage of a cottage with the hotel next door.
I would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a base to visit this area of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    25
    19
    20
See reviews for
34
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The purpose of my trip to East Ayton Lodge was to go to the Whitby Goth Weekend with my Dad and Sister. We wanted a family room and this hotel was the only hotel in the area with availability. Our first impressions of East Ayton Lodge were very good. The exterior was nice and the decor downstairs was very tasteful. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were given the keys to our room which slept 4, 1 double bed and 2 singles. Again, our first impressions were good. However, as we got settled in to our room we noticed wall paper hanging off the walls, cobwebs in the corner of the room, and large lumps of dust on some furniture. The washing facilities were also very basic for a family room. There was a bath, with a shower head that fitted on to the bath taps. There was no shower curtain and the pressure of the water was not substantial enough to have a good shower and wash hair thoroughly.
Apart fron this the beds were comfy, and the sheets were clean. We had a meal in the hotel and this was very good, and so was the breakfast choice.
Apart from our room needing some attention the hotel was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel. It is a lovely quiet location just outside Scarborough. We had a room with a four poster bed. (Room 14.) The bed was really comfortable with good pillows and the breakfast was really good. Lots of parking. No problems getting a space.
The down sides were, Due to the water pressure the shower attachment over the bath was almost unusable. No separate shower. If you are tall you would find it difficult to stand in the bath due to the ceiling height over the bath area. Some of the cleaning left a little to be desired. Cobwebs behind the sink and we had to re wash one of the mugs left in the room on two occasions.
We found the staff to be really helpful and at half price this hotel was a bargain. Despite the above we would stay there again if it was on offer. This could be lovely if refurbished with a little care.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Room was nice and clean, all mod cons hair dryer trouser press kettle with tea and coffee etc. only faults were the telly is the smallest size possible and the shower is literally the worst I've ever been in. The water pressure is fine and plenty of hot water if you want a bath, but it must be some sort of economy shower head and it was garbage.would quite happily have given it 4 stars if it wasn't for the shower

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The whole place needs updating. The furnishings are poor ,shoddy and past their sell by date. The doors on our rooms had been broken into at some point and the wooden door frame was gauged out and split. Beds comfortable but creaky. Staff courteous. Gardens tatty and whole place run down. Pity ! Would not go again.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Ayton hotels

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed in the cottage with some friends for 2 nights and it was excellent value for money. Very spacious and comfortable, a nice location, all the ameneties we needed. Only problem was the shower didn't work brilliantly, I had to either have it on very hot, or no water at all would come out. But it was a minor inconvenience at worst. I would definitely recommend a group to stay in the cottage part of the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on sept 14th 2013 ,we were really disappointed when we arrived it was really run down and not worth what we had paid ,the rooms were warm and clean but very dated ,there was a big hole in the bathroom door the towels were more grey than white ,the main area of the hotel was very run down and not very clean we wouldn't stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Ayton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Ayton Lodge

Address: Moor Lane, East Ayton YO13 9EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in East Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — East Ayton Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your East Ayton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Ayton Hotel East Ayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Ayton Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.