We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foulsyke Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Foulsyke Farmhouse to your Saves list
Foulsyke Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Barmoor Lane, Scalby, Scarborough YO13 OPG, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Scalby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stanton under Bardon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 2 night break at Foulsyke Farmhouse. The superior room we stayed in was beautifully furnished, comfortable and had all the thoughtful extras that make a stay extra special. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and luxurious with a range of spa toiletries for guests to sample.
As mentioned in other reviews Karen and Owen were perfect hosts, offering useful information, perfectly cooked breakfasts and providing a friendly but unobtrusive service.
The farmhouse is ideally situated for exploring the North York Moors and the coast, and we would certainly go back if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed two nights in the superior room with twin beds. The room was spotless and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a good selection of toiletries. There were lots of little extra touches like wine and chocolates when we arrived. The next day we had home made cake left for us. Nothing was too much trouble. Karen and Owen were very friendly. Soya milk was provided although I had not initially requested it. I would certainly go back and will recommend it to friends

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After visiting Foulsyke Farmhouse in early July this year I read some comments on Tripadvisor regarding cobwebs, I then sent a review in myself saying my wife and I had stayed at Foulsyke Farmhouse and would give it 10/10 for everything and would return. Tripadvisor refused to show my comments saying they did not contain enough relevant information.They have now put another poor review on by someone who never actually stayed there saying the owner was rude. I find this very unfair, on our visit the owners were very friendly and helpful. I bet they don't show this either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulsyke, Owner at Foulsyke Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for attempting review us after your stay and rest assured we are putting together a letter to TA to look into this. We quite agree how unfair the selection of reviews being posted are which we have no control over. Therefore, anyone can put anything they like on here and as you have seen usually do!! However, that is for us to sort out and we just glad that you both enjoyed your stay........as most do :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is our second visit to the farmhouse and it was just as good if not better than our first! This time we stayed for a week in the Loft Suite - a beautiful spacious room with an equally spacious bathroom filled with a wide range of toiletries personally provide by Karen for the guests use.
Karen and Owen are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast they provide is superb (I don't normally eat cooked breakfast, but here I make an exception!) The rooms are spotless - not even a cobweb to be found!
The bonus for a mature couple like ourselves is the lack of children as this is an adults only accommodation, and talking to other guests that were staying there they say the same!
We would definitely recommend the farmhouse for anyone wanting a peaceful good value holiday. We will definitely be returning next year!

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is spacious with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

just returned from a great four days stay with owen and karen would recommened to friends and travellers alike room was lovely and had everything you needed good location well worth four stars A good start to the day with the lovely home cooked breakfast choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and found Owen and Karen very welcoming and helpful. The lovely breakfasts set us up for the day. Their attention to detail is remarkable and they deserve the four star rating.
We have recommended Foulsyke Farmhouse to our friend who lives in Scarborough who is looking for local accommodation for visitors. We will certainly stay here next time we come to Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Been stopping at this B&B for a number of years now The owners Karen and Owen really make you feel welcome and that nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is always freshly prepared and of high quality. The rooms are well appointed ,warm and homely and the beds comfortable and the linen spotless.

The owners take a real pride in looking after their guests and in their property, and it offers real value for money. I will certainly be staying there again next year

Room Tip: Room in the attic has a lovely en suite- but if your tall watch your head as some of the rustic roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foulsyke Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foulsyke Farmhouse

Address: Barmoor Lane, Scalby, Scarborough YO13 OPG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Scalby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scalby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foulsyke Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foulsyke Farmhouse 4* AA Farmhouse B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Foulsyke Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foulsyke Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.