We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor not very fair.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foulsyke Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Foulsyke Farmhouse to your Saves list
Foulsyke Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Barmoor Lane, Scalby, Scarborough YO13 OPG, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Scalby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tripadvisor not very fair.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After visiting Foulsyke Farmhouse in early July this year I read some comments on Tripadvisor regarding cobwebs, I then sent a review in myself saying my wife and I had stayed at Foulsyke Farmhouse and would give it 10/10 for everything and would return. Tripadvisor refused to show my comments saying they did not contain enough relevant information.They have now put another poor review on by someone who never actually stayed there saying the owner was rude. I find this very unfair, on our visit the owners were very friendly and helpful. I bet they don't show this either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulsyke, Owner at Foulsyke Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for attempting review us after your stay and rest assured we are putting together a letter to TA to look into this. We quite agree how unfair the selection of reviews being posted are which we have no control over. Therefore, anyone can put anything they like on here and as you have seen usually do!! However, that is for us to sort out and we just glad that you both enjoyed your stay........as most do :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alsager
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is our second visit to the farmhouse and it was just as good if not better than our first! This time we stayed for a week in the Loft Suite - a beautiful spacious room with an equally spacious bathroom filled with a wide range of toiletries personally provide by Karen for the guests use.
Karen and Owen are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast they provide is superb (I don't normally eat cooked breakfast, but here I make an exception!) The rooms are spotless - not even a cobweb to be found!
The bonus for a mature couple like ourselves is the lack of children as this is an adults only accommodation, and talking to other guests that were staying there they say the same!
We would definitely recommend the farmhouse for anyone wanting a peaceful good value holiday. We will definitely be returning next year!

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is spacious with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

just returned from a great four days stay with owen and karen would recommened to friends and travellers alike room was lovely and had everything you needed good location well worth four stars A good start to the day with the lovely home cooked breakfast choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and found Owen and Karen very welcoming and helpful. The lovely breakfasts set us up for the day. Their attention to detail is remarkable and they deserve the four star rating.
We have recommended Foulsyke Farmhouse to our friend who lives in Scarborough who is looking for local accommodation for visitors. We will certainly stay here next time we come to Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Been stopping at this B&B for a number of years now The owners Karen and Owen really make you feel welcome and that nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is always freshly prepared and of high quality. The rooms are well appointed ,warm and homely and the beds comfortable and the linen spotless.

The owners take a real pride in looking after their guests and in their property, and it offers real value for money. I will certainly be staying there again next year

Room Tip: Room in the attic has a lovely en suite- but if your tall watch your head as some of the rustic roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend and were delighted with the attention to detail and friendly owners. We had been recommended the farmhouse by our daughter who stayed last year. We had the loft room - a really nice room but probably not a good idea for anyone really tall. Lots of beams and places to bump your head. The bathroom is GORGEOUS. A huge slipper bath and also a fab separate shower cubicle. I tried both - no complaints. There are loads of different (quality) toiletries to try (Boots, FCUK, Body shop etc), shower gels, bubble bath, body sprays, body lotion etc. The bed was very comfy (and we have experienced some terrible beds on our travels). The room was decorated to high standard, modern but in keeping with the farmhouse experience. Lovely views over the stables next door and countryside beyond and also very quiet. We had wine, nibbles and chocolates on arrival. Plenty of tea bags and coffee, not rationed as in some b & b's. We were going to a wedding on the morning after check-in. We did not set off until lunch time so had plenty of time to get ready. There was no hurry to get in and 'do' our room. We had 2 great breakfasts, well cooked and presented. We would definitely stay again. Highly recommende

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulsyke, Owner at Foulsyke Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, it is always a pleasure to have guests from our hometown especially when they enjoy it so much. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your day and hope to see you again sometime. Next time we'll have the bandages ready for the bumped heads!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This B&B has had so much thought put into it, I cannot begin to say how great it is!

Firstly Karen has been very accommodating to us, we needed to be in the room before the check in time due to a wedding and Karen said yes she would ensure we could go in and freshen up even if the room was not totally ready.
I also spoke to her a few days before and mentioned about having soya milk and she said not a problem.
So when we arrived, we were greeted like old friends, shown to the superior room which is lovely and spacious. Karen also brought me up a flask of soya milk as she said I bet you need a cup of tea - and yes i did and that was brilliant!!
Lovely toiletries in the bathroom - and a good selection too not just one bath wash etc.
We had miniature bottles of wine in the room - another great touch - although we had to rush off so didn't get to drink them!!
Breakfast was lovely and plenty of selection for other types of breakfast if you don't want a cooked breakfast.
All in all, Karen and Owen are doing an amazing job, if I ever needed a b&b in this area i wouldn't hesitate to go back.
It seems that the two bad reviews i have seen are complaining about their own inadequacy to inform Karen and Owen what they actually needed from them - therefore, for me they really have no place in putting this lovely b&b down
Thanks again
Louise and Chris Catchpole

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulsyke, Owner at Foulsyke Farmhouse, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you both so much for taking the time to put this lovely review. It is so refreshing after having one or two 'iffy' reviews to know we have genuine guest reviews that show us we are still pleasing people. We both enjoyed meeting you and you would be more than welcome back at anytime. Have a great holiday, you both deserve it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foulsyke Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foulsyke Farmhouse

Address: Barmoor Lane, Scalby, Scarborough YO13 OPG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Scalby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scalby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foulsyke Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foulsyke Farmhouse 4* AA Farmhouse B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Foulsyke Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foulsyke Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.