We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urraca Private Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Popa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Urraca Private Island
Save
You added Urraca Private Island to your Saves list
Ile Privee | Near Isla Popa, Isla Popa PA, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our times at urraca, Francine a fine cook will prepare you the most delicious dishes out the fresh fish and lobsters that you can go catch yourself whit captain hector!! She propose a tons a activity in the area and just doing nothing in pretty much amazing in her litle paradise. A must see!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
30
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Urraca is a piece of paradise on earth. Francine, the prowd owner, have built this magnificent isle in a total respect of nature. It is surreal to walk the elevated sidewalks a sea fish doing their business in the water below. It must be quite difficult to give people hotel-grade comfort in such a remote and wild area and Francine, with the help of Ngöbe people and Touti, her ever-friendly monkey does it admirably. I can't wait to get back, and I look forward to bring a date to this lovable place!

who need a fitness center or a spa when you live in the wild?

Room Tip: All rooms a nice with a surreal view to the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

No! Until this owner provides hot water for washing dishes and fresh water for guest to drink do not go! Someone will ultimately die because they were a guest at this resort. My husband and I spent 3 days of our 8 day honeymoon here and we are currently taking antibiotics for gardia? It's a bacterial infection that stems from dirty water, but we feel fortunate to be alive. We paid for an "excursion" on a canyon that took us an hour and a half into the open ocean with no life vest. A water vessel that seats 5 people had nine people on it and 4, yes 4 life vests. FYI, it's not an island, it's huts built on stilts in a mangrove swamp. There was no electricity after about midnight so it was very hot and humid, impossible to sleep. Not worth the money and time to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrracaPrivateIsland, Responsable relations publiques at Urraca Private Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Hello Mary D,

Thank you for your comment. We care about your opinion because it is from these that we can maintain a continuous maintenance of our complex.

We are first truly sorry that our complex didn't meet the expectations you had about our complex. We believe that there might have been a gap between the image and the theme we want the complex to project on our website and what you expected. Our complex wants to be an ecolodge in harmony with nature where it promotes the Ngöbe culture in our various services. We try to highlight on our website that it is for customers seeking adventure, a trip off the beaten path.

Regarding your comment, our complex is not built in a swamp, but in an environment surrounded by mangroves with sand and starfish. This environment is described repeatedly on our website.

Regarding water, the staff takes care of washing the dishes and we had before you, no complaints to this matter. We also constantly provide fresh water on the site in a large 5 gallon bottle which different visitors can use. We are sorry you had to consume antibiotics, but these were useless in our complex as the water is safe to drink.

On the tour, you had indeed safety vests on board, but it seems that you use them as a seating cushion. For 7 clients in the Cayuco, there were 8 seat belts. As responsible owners, it is not in our interest to send customers in a trip which is not safe. Moreover, the owner has asked the captain to be very careful that everyone puts on their life jacket. It is the responsability of the customer to follow the instructions.

There is electricity in the evening powered by solar panels and we are running a generator when it becomes dark. However, the night is a period of rest for our visitors so we turn off the generator in a pro-environmental behavior. There is no air conditioning, but as mentioned above, it is the concept of the complex, an eco -lodge in harmony with nature.

Thus, we are sorry that the trip was not up to your expectations. We know that satisfaction varies widely according to the visitor as Xavier, a visitor who was in the same trip than you have evaluated very positively. We highly value your comments. Moreover, they have already allowed us to improve ourselves by buying a basis for the 5 gallon water bottle that identifies the source of this water so our visitors feel confident.

Thank you very much for your visit, your contribution to the improvement of our complex and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Mitchell Dion
Responsible for marketing communications and public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I spent beautiful time in Urraca in the beginning of March. To me it is a perfect blend of nature and sophistication. I enjoyed to discover elements of nature are utilized and used in a such an easy and yet unpredictable way. The harmonious balance of friendliness, elegance, adventure and comfort. And of course lots of hugs from Touti are priceless!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Staying at the hotel was a wonderful experience.  Francine and Captain Hector picked us up in Bocas Town, and 45 minutes later, out of the mangrove, this rustic view of the hotel appearead and we were impressed.  Touti, the cariblanco monkey was waiting for us, as well as the Ngöbe staff who live close by.

The entire experience was remarkable.   Although there were a lot of available activities to do during the day, we chose to enjoy the hotel’s cayuco, raft made out of logs, the hammocks, and the clean and comfortable room on the ocean.  Food was delicious.  Made from scratch with fresh product daily, and Francine’s recipes made for special flavors every meal.

Highly recommended for adventure-seekers who stay away from the crowded, noisy, and less-than-clean town of Bocas who want to fill themselves with very good energy and peace.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This was the third time at Urruca Private Island, This place is an incredible, The food was excellent, Francine...XXX, My two ado. (14 and 15) love it, the nature is strong and beautiful. We will come back next year! Thanks for everything...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is truly a unique piece of paradise. The hospitality of this place is incredible. Francine and her staff are warm and more than welcoming. The sea air relaxes you and puts you to sleep. Your sleeping cabanas are directly over the water and the gently waves to put you to sleep. The food is made with love. It is the most local fare you will ever have. Fresh from the sea and local farms. The island has no land. It is built directly on mangroves over the ocean, although it is very shallow water. The Ngobe indians added a special warmth to this place. Recommendations to visit the Ngobe indian village...i believe on sundays only. This is a trip that is so special and nothing like a 5 star all inclusive experience you may of had before, although is a 5 star adventure experience. We went with our two children, 5 & 8, who loved to chill out, climb the mangroves and play with Tuti. Recommendations with children for 3 nights max.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Urraca Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urraca Private Island

Address: Ile Privee | Near Isla Popa, Isla Popa PA, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Isla Popa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urraca Private Island it is a perfect place for a family getaway or for romance - it is a place to relax and enjoy the island lifestyle most of people dreamed about without ever been able to encounter it. The excellent cuisine of Urraca Private Idland features food freshly cook especially for you. Our fish and seafood are the catch of the day and they are dressed for your dining pleasure with great care. We cook with our heart. Urraca the sweetness of total nature environment with quality and luxury approach. Is it for you? ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urraca Private Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.