We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Popa Paradise Beach Resort to your Saves list
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Excellent service- great food- super location. Even better than we hoped.
We would recommend Popa to anyone looking for a beautiful island get away and we plan on returning at our earliest convenience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Popa Paradise in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
90
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friend and I booked three nights here.....it was the perfect amount of time.
I won't repeat all the wonderful things everyone has said about the staff.....ALL
TRUE!! Food fabulous.....drinks flowing.....only ten clients when we were there
So super personalized service. Loved the kayaking right from the beach, which
BTW was deserted!! We were soooo tired when we arrived and we were soooo
Relaxed when we left. Great value for the money. IF you like laid back
Then this is the place for you in Panama.
Thanks Dyllan, Darien, Cara and TY!!
PS. We still talking about the POPA Coma

Room Tip: We liked number 10 right by the beach where we could hear the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
The Popa Coma, loving it! Many thanks for the great review and your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My apologies Popa, this review is WAY overdue! My husband and I spent a week-long honeymoon at Popa this past June and had a MAGICAL time. We wanted something "tropical and exotic" and got exactly that. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and our Casita was charming and luxurious (for being on a secluded, "off the grid," island in Panama). The staff (Dyllan, Ty, Darien, Ernesto) was incredibly gracious and made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We had a fabulous time on the two snorkeling trips that we took. The snorkeling was great and we saw some amazing corals, fish, etc. The resort's beach is adorable and secluded and a great place to swim.

We spend a lot of our vacation lounging in or around the pool, that my husband described as "epic." The pool has a swim-up bar, infinity edge all round, "beach access," fountain and underwater rock ledge, perfect for lounging or doing your best Shamu impersonation. We ate our lunches poolside, often accompanied by a fruity, frozen cocktail. The service was exceptional. We merely had to envision a cocktail or beer and someone would appear, drink in hand. Even on the day that it rained we had a great time playing ping-pong and Scrabble in the club house and were treated to warm, homemade cookies as we watched a movie in our Casita.

The food was amazing! I think we each gained 10lbs, we ate so much! Breakfast was eggs, bacon, omelets or pancakes, always served with fresh fruit, juices, delicious bread and Panamanian coffee. The dinners that Darien prepared were all wonderful, always several courses and beautifully presented. Henry and I still talk about (and obsess over) the soups that Darien made. They were honestly the BEST soups I've ever had. For main courses we had shrimp and steak, delicious pork curry, calamari steaks and fish and chips, just to name a few. They were all delicious!

I also highly recommend taking a kick-boxing class with Ty. My over-zealous husband kicked the bag so hard that he could barely walk the next day, but we both had a great time and would love to do it again! If the thought of exercising while on vacation doesn't appeal to you, at least go check out Ty's "jungle gym." It's awesome!!

I could go on and on about all the wonderful things we did and saw. Overall, the trip was amazing. We had such a great time getting to know Dyllan, Darien and Ty. They all are such intriguing people and we LOVED hearing their many stories. My husband and I will never forget this trip and are already plotting our next visit to Popa. Bottom line, we went for a beautiful, tropical scenery, but we will return for the great service, friendly staff and overall AMAZING experience. Thanks guys (and Carrie!!) -Alice and Henry

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed you honeymoon at Popa Paradise! We look forward to seeing you back at the resort for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights on return leg of a sea kayaking expedition. Was the best treat after a challenging trip. Everything was wonderful but highlight was the incredible hospitality and care we received from Dylan, Darien, Tai, Cari and the team.
Loads of great activities to explore the area. Amazing food, really amazing! Great birding in the resort grounds. Lots of fun.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for you great review! You guys were testament to the amazing kayaking available in Bocas del Toro for both the serious and not so serious kayak enthusiasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Popa Paradise was my first experience with Panama. If you are looking for an authentic island get away than look no further. The entire hotel is beautiful as was as secluded. The entire place screams relaxation. Its truly a barefoot experience. The food was fresh and amazing and never disappointed. The pool and beaches are never crowded, in fact if you go in the off seasons theres a good chance you man be the only people using them. The staff (Ty, Dyllan, and Darien) are all great personalities that serve to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They are friendly, funny, and full of the most amazing stories, but will never be overly intrusive to your vacation. Its a perfect balance between isolation and enjoyable socializing depending on your mood. The excursions are also lots of fun, make sure you go snorkeling, you will have missed the true beauty of Bocas if you don't! I will absolutely be back for another stay once I am able to. Thanks guys for the great trip I hope to see you again!

Paul & Amanda

Room Tip: Get Casita number 6! Theres no debate that this is the most enjoyable one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased your first experience with Panama was such a good one. Hope to see you back here sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was taken by friends on an overnight stay from Isla Carenero to celebrate my birthday here and I can't say enough good things about this beautiful eco resort & the wonderful owners & staff.

The boat ride there was absolutely stunning, about an hour from Isla Carenero. We saw tons of majestic pelicans and loads of other birds, and during slower stretches in the ride could see varieties of fish swimming in the crystal clear water below the boat in the shallow waters.

The resort was not full due to it being low season, but there were a few other interesting guests there that we had an opportunity to chat with after dinner and enjoy listening to great music in great company.

They do everything right - from the flowers and petals perfectly placed on your bed upon arrival to the fabulous food.

Sadly we didn't have time to explore much of the island, but the grounds were impeccably kept and the beach was amazing. No sand flies or no-see-ums that I could notice anyway (not so for many other surrounding islands, especially during that time period, end of May)

On the way home, our water taxi ran out of gas - nothing to do with the hotel it was our own private hire- but even THAT was fun, as we got to see another village that would have otherwise gone unnoticed.

I still remember some of the conversations with Darrion and my inability to stop laughing….(not to mention the amazing food he cooks up on an island, literally in the middle of nowhere)

I'm smiling a year later, so I'd say that's more than a job well done.

Thank you for an unforgettable stay ~ and the most special birthday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and birthday with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Where to even begin...Our 3 1/2 day stay at Popa Paradise was simply perfect. The reviews on TripAdvisor are spot on. From the moment we were greeted at the airport until we stepped off the island to return to Panama City, Popa had every detail covered. Dyllan, Darian and Ty are amazing and have created a heaven on earth! We stayed in a Casita by the beach which was clean and simply lovely. The pool was wonderful and allowed for ample relaxation. As a vegetarian, I was a little nervous about the food, but every single meal I had was fresh and delicious. Popa has done a fantastic job of keeping the island almost untouched, so the resort setting is beautiful and almost pristine. Anytime I needed anything, Popa was always one step ahead of me...almost reading my mind! PopaPopa Paradise is truly amazing. We were looking for some rest and relaxation and we certainly found it! We would definitely return and definitely recommend Popa to others. I have traveled to several islands and stayed at lots resorts, but nothing compares to Popa Paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and your great review! We are so please you enjoyed your vegetarian meals, we cater to all types of "foodies" to ensure everyone eats well at Popa Paradise. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Popa Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Address: Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popa Paradise is the only Adults Only (18+) All-Inclusive hotel in Panama. Popa Paradise Beach Resort is located on a stunning island called Isla Popa in the Bocas del Toro archipelago, off the Panamanian coast in the Caribbean Sea. We are located about 30 minutes away from Bocas del Toro by boat. Stay with us for an unforgettable vacation where you can relax, snorkel in beautiful clear water and visit the amazing outer islands. Our chef creates a spectacular, tasty, unique and healthy menu and can cater to vegetarians and vegans, which is all included in our all inclusive rate. We have a large range of activities and excursions from diving, fishing, zip lines to the spectacular Zapatilla islands marine park or simply relax by our swimming pool and enjoy a Popa Paradise cocktail at our swim up bar, enjoy a massage on the spa or take a walk on one of our stunning beaches. Our new beach bar and restaurant "Rosie's" is great for cool drinks on the beach all day and at night beach BBQs, bonfires, and occasionally live music under the stars. Our dedicated team of professionals will take care of your every need and ensure you have a memorable stay at our boutique resort. We look forward to meeting you at Popa Paradise - barefoot luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Popa Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Paradise Beach Hotel Isla Popa
Popa Paradise Beach Isla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popa Paradise Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.