We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shame..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vagator

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Vagator to your Saves list
Casa Vagator
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   House No. 594/4, Vozran, Vagator 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vagator
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A shame..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

..that a property with such potential given its stunning location has really done absolutely nothing about it. The rooms too have the potential to be great with some effort on the managements part. Unfortunately when we arrived at Casa Vagator our room was musty and did not feel clean, bathroom was dirty. Then it came to sleeping, we returned to our room after dinner and there was no water. The AC did not work throughout the night. All in all a disappointing experience. The staff were good about it the next day when it came to checking out however I can't say I will be returning ever again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Casa Vagator, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Many thanks for your review and we have taken note of your comments. Please see below.
a) As per our records , we do not have any feedback about the room being unclean or musty from our housekeeping manager's checklist, nor was there any mention in the Guest Comments Book.
b) There was a slight water problem due to non-supply from the municipal pipeline on the night of 14th Dec 2013 & we had provided water the next morning by 6 am. As I do not know of your date of stay, I would be unable to comment, if this was indeed the source of the problem.
c) We also have no mention or complaint of AC non working, since last 2 months as all the ACs are relatively new. There is a mains switch for the AC inside/outside the room, which needs to be switched on for the AC to work. It is is switched on by housekeeping or guest on check in. If this was on and the AC did not work, then we should have got a complaint from the staff immediately . The check in staff always switch on the AC and keep it at required setting for guest. It is part of the check-in procedure. Casa Vagator has a full night maintenance staff including an AC technician 24 hrs, but no complaint was noted in our records.
d) We are sure you will get a better experience, especially in our new category 1 rooms. Please do try us again. Write to us on our email for a special offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
14
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

If we could award half stars I would give this place a 3 and a half instead of a 4. What makes this place stand out is its location. It is situated right above the beach in a setting that is just magical. You have breakfast in an outdoor restaurant that has an unobstructed view of the ocean. You eat your eggs watching the waves roll in, and ships leaving the Goan coast in the far distance. The grounds of Casa Vagator are impeccably landscaped--not a speck of dirt around. Same with the two swimming pools (during our stay, I was the only one swimming laps). What then is not to like? There are odd things about the place. When we went into our room, we found a made bed, but a pillow with no pillowcase on it. When I told the staff, they said, "It's a new pillow." Really? So you want all your guests' discharges from the mouth and the nose to go directly on the pillow? It was peculiar that I had to make my case for obtaining something essential to basic hygiene in the hotel industry. Similarly, I wanted a little extra security and looked for the safe in the room--something you would expect of a place of this caliber (I really don't feel comfortable putting passports in a drawer). No safe. But you can order one from the reception, for 50 rupees a day. They brought an old clunky 1930 type safe hardly worth 50 rupees. A room safe in a high class resort like this should be standard. Similarly, when we asked for beach towels, they wanted a 500 rupee deposit. Why not ask for an imprint of guests' credit card at the time of check in, and if they steal the towel charge them? They have a small gym that needed some TLC and a basic set of weights, in addition to the two running machines. Finally, hot water was an issue in the bathroom, as were tiny issues -- like a sink faucet that was a bit loose and an unsightly crack in the basin. All in all, however, these things were minor compared to the setting. (And may I add that the service at breakfast was superb-- the waiter was friendly, attentive and just a pleasure to interact with). In summary, if you want to simply chill out in Goa, in a place close to but separate from all the activity on the beach, if you want to sip French press coffee (what a nice touch!) and look out at the turquoise expanse of the ocean and hear the rhythmic ebb and flow of the waves, then you can't top this place in Vagator. Truly, the location of Casa Vagator is magical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here one night with a friend. We had spent the 2-previous nights at their sister property Casa Anjuna, while waiting on a room to open here. It's a lovely property with great potential. Once again, small signs of wear and tear, aging, and updating that they need to get a handle on soon. The room was nice, but too close to the front desk for any privacy. When we opened the drapes you look at the at the front desk. One of the rooms away from this area would be much nicer. The location itself is lovely with spectacular views of the sea. The swimming pool was clean. Take the short cut to the beach down the path, not the path near the 9-Bar, very steep decent. I'd' like to suggest they pay their staff to clean the path to the beach. There is a ton of rubbish which of course detracts from the sheer beauty of their property and the beach. Great views from the restaurant for breakfast. The breakfast is included with small portions given and limited choices. But the view, easy to overlook other issues.............. Attentive staff. Easy walking distance to nearby restaurants. Will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front desk for privacy issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love this place, very special memories...it was so cozy. Loved the views and the location, minutes away from all the action, you can walk to neighbouring restaurants and its right on top of the beach. Great rooms, very well done, comfortable bed and cute bathroom. Each room has a lil porch to sit and drink tea and relax. Breakfast was included and the food was delicious. I loved the fresh watermelon and pineapple juices, they were so fresh and delicious. The most beautiful sunset with the beach on one side and coconut groves on the other. I loved that when the sun set the fireflies began their lil dance, it was truly magical. To top it all if you go during monsoon they have a lovely pool to swim in since the tide gets rough at sea. Please come and stay here with your loved ones and friends, its home away from home.

Room Tip: Get the room towards the path going down to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were supposed to travel in mid august but had to postpone by a couple of weeks...blessing in disguise...we had almost the entire property to ourselves. First impressions are not always the right ones...the main entrance to the property would make you doubt about your choice...walk further in and doubts keep going strong...but hey KEEP WALKING and stay atleast a night...your doubts will vanish. Its a small boutique property where everything is small but for the staff's hearts...always smiling always eager to help...helping you to feel at home. We had pre booked with a special request for the best view and thats what we got...ROOM 15...great room with an almost private sit out balcony. Food is good but towards the end of the stay was average. Its true that the pictures on the web site are misleading but i guess its because the property is into expansion. For beach lovers its a short walk and the beach itself is not much used by the junta but am not too sure about season time. Readers mind you this property is not for a family...kids would hate it. Albeit its excellent for couples looking for solitude...its sleepy. One final word...for the price that we got it (4K a night with breakfast)...it was worth every paisa....and more....WE LOVED IT

Room Tip: room 15 and 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Value for money in off season...Property is just next to CLUB 9 and few kms away from curlies...Went there in August 2013 end... didnt get any problem in reaching there.. we were the only one staying there and felt like we were the owner of the property.. staff is really helpful though service is poor and take time to bring your order...

Room Tip: Room no 3 & 4 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were a large group. We stayed here from the 15th to 18th August. All pictures are misleading. All rooms are so - so. The property badly needs pest controlling. Insects all over. My milk at breakfast had an ant in it. Food was of poor standards. We always ended up eating out. All places are a long drive from Casa Vagator so be prepared. It is located very out of the way in a small lane. Didn't like the location at all. Staff was BAD. We had to request the, several times before they could send someone for housekeeping or send bottles of water. Room 15 didn't even have a lock, however that was the best rom. The pool was very dirty. The staff was made to clean it before we used it. Very disappointing experience. Do not recommend it at all !!

Room Tip: Room 15 is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Casa Vagator, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are grateful to you for taking the time to review our property. I would like to mention a few points.
a)As per the reception, your group were booked on breakfast only basis, and as you were out most of the time, so you possibly did not get a chance to eat any other meals. Judging our food by breakfast alone would not be fair.
b) The Casa theme is "Back to Nature"; our hotels thrive on their greenery and foliage and most of our customers love the natural surroundings. With nature, plants & flowers, come insects. Our covered or enclosed areas are pest controlled to the extent possible. Eating out in the open by the poolside, under the trees, it is possible that insects such as ants may fall down from the trees, on uncovered food. This could have been the reason for your problem. I am sure they replaced the order free of charge. Still, your point is noted and has been conveyed to the staff.
c) The hotel was fully sold out during the long weekend and the staff were very busy. It is possible that your orders took a little longer than they should have, and we do apologize for the same. We are working on adding more staff shortly to the premises .
d) Given the modern map tools available online, we do ask our guests to check if the location meets their needs. That said, most of our guests love the relative isolation that Vagator gives.
e)We promise that your next stay will be better and we invite you to see the property once it is fully refurbished , by next month end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Vagator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vagator

Address: House No. 594/4, Vozran, Vagator 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Vagator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vagator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Vagator 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Vagator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vagator Hotel Vagator
Casa Vagator Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vagator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.