We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is magical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Vagator

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Vagator to your Saves list
Casa Vagator
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   House No. 594/4, Vozran, Vagator 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vagator
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The location is magical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

If we could award half stars I would give this place a 3 and a half instead of a 4. What makes this place stand out is its location. It is situated right above the beach in a setting that is just magical. You have breakfast in an outdoor restaurant that has an unobstructed view of the ocean. You eat your eggs watching the waves roll in, and ships leaving the Goan coast in the far distance. The grounds of Casa Vagator are impeccably landscaped--not a speck of dirt around. Same with the two swimming pools (during our stay, I was the only one swimming laps). What then is not to like? There are odd things about the place. When we went into our room, we found a made bed, but a pillow with no pillowcase on it. When I told the staff, they said, "It's a new pillow." Really? So you want all your guests' discharges from the mouth and the nose to go directly on the pillow? It was peculiar that I had to make my case for obtaining something essential to basic hygiene in the hotel industry. Similarly, I wanted a little extra security and looked for the safe in the room--something you would expect of a place of this caliber (I really don't feel comfortable putting passports in a drawer). No safe. But you can order one from the reception, for 50 rupees a day. They brought an old clunky 1930 type safe hardly worth 50 rupees. A room safe in a high class resort like this should be standard. Similarly, when we asked for beach towels, they wanted a 500 rupee deposit. Why not ask for an imprint of guests' credit card at the time of check in, and if they steal the towel charge them? They have a small gym that needed some TLC and a basic set of weights, in addition to the two running machines. Finally, hot water was an issue in the bathroom, as were tiny issues -- like a sink faucet that was a bit loose and an unsightly crack in the basin. All in all, however, these things were minor compared to the setting. (And may I add that the service at breakfast was superb-- the waiter was friendly, attentive and just a pleasure to interact with). In summary, if you want to simply chill out in Goa, in a place close to but separate from all the activity on the beach, if you want to sip French press coffee (what a nice touch!) and look out at the turquoise expanse of the ocean and hear the rhythmic ebb and flow of the waves, then you can't top this place in Vagator. Truly, the location of Casa Vagator is magical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    46
    12
    14
    6
See reviews for
14
52
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here one night with a friend. We had spent the 2-previous nights at their sister property Casa Anjuna, while waiting on a room to open here. It's a lovely property with great potential. Once again, small signs of wear and tear, aging, and updating that they need to get a handle on soon. The room was nice, but too close to the front desk for any privacy. When we opened the drapes you look at the at the front desk. One of the rooms away from this area would be much nicer. The location itself is lovely with spectacular views of the sea. The swimming pool was clean. Take the short cut to the beach down the path, not the path near the 9-Bar, very steep decent. I'd' like to suggest they pay their staff to clean the path to the beach. There is a ton of rubbish which of course detracts from the sheer beauty of their property and the beach. Great views from the restaurant for breakfast. The breakfast is included with small portions given and limited choices. But the view, easy to overlook other issues.............. Attentive staff. Easy walking distance to nearby restaurants. Will recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front desk for privacy issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love this place, very special memories...it was so cozy. Loved the views and the location, minutes away from all the action, you can walk to neighbouring restaurants and its right on top of the beach. Great rooms, very well done, comfortable bed and cute bathroom. Each room has a lil porch to sit and drink tea and relax. Breakfast was included and the food was delicious. I loved the fresh watermelon and pineapple juices, they were so fresh and delicious. The most beautiful sunset with the beach on one side and coconut groves on the other. I loved that when the sun set the fireflies began their lil dance, it was truly magical. To top it all if you go during monsoon they have a lovely pool to swim in since the tide gets rough at sea. Please come and stay here with your loved ones and friends, its home away from home.

Room Tip: Get the room towards the path going down to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were supposed to travel in mid august but had to postpone by a couple of weeks...blessing in disguise...we had almost the entire property to ourselves. First impressions are not always the right ones...the main entrance to the property would make you doubt about your choice...walk further in and doubts keep going strong...but hey KEEP WALKING and stay atleast a night...your doubts will vanish. Its a small boutique property where everything is small but for the staff's hearts...always smiling always eager to help...helping you to feel at home. We had pre booked with a special request for the best view and thats what we got...ROOM 15...great room with an almost private sit out balcony. Food is good but towards the end of the stay was average. Its true that the pictures on the web site are misleading but i guess its because the property is into expansion. For beach lovers its a short walk and the beach itself is not much used by the junta but am not too sure about season time. Readers mind you this property is not for a family...kids would hate it. Albeit its excellent for couples looking for solitude...its sleepy. One final word...for the price that we got it (4K a night with breakfast)...it was worth every paisa....and more....WE LOVED IT

Room Tip: room 15 and 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Value for money in off season...Property is just next to CLUB 9 and few kms away from curlies...Went there in August 2013 end... didnt get any problem in reaching there.. we were the only one staying there and felt like we were the owner of the property.. staff is really helpful though service is poor and take time to bring your order...

Room Tip: Room no 3 & 4 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were a large group. We stayed here from the 15th to 18th August. All pictures are misleading. All rooms are so - so. The property badly needs pest controlling. Insects all over. My milk at breakfast had an ant in it. Food was of poor standards. We always ended up eating out. All places are a long drive from Casa Vagator so be prepared. It is located very out of the way in a small lane. Didn't like the location at all. Staff was BAD. We had to request the, several times before they could send someone for housekeeping or send bottles of water. Room 15 didn't even have a lock, however that was the best rom. The pool was very dirty. The staff was made to clean it before we used it. Very disappointing experience. Do not recommend it at all !!

Room Tip: Room 15 is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Casa Vagator, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are grateful to you for taking the time to review our property. I would like to mention a few points.
a)As per the reception, your group were booked on breakfast only basis, and as you were out most of the time, so you possibly did not get a chance to eat any other meals. Judging our food by breakfast alone would not be fair.
b) The Casa theme is "Back to Nature"; our hotels thrive on their greenery and foliage and most of our customers love the natural surroundings. With nature, plants & flowers, come insects. Our covered or enclosed areas are pest controlled to the extent possible. Eating out in the open by the poolside, under the trees, it is possible that insects such as ants may fall down from the trees, on uncovered food. This could have been the reason for your problem. I am sure they replaced the order free of charge. Still, your point is noted and has been conveyed to the staff.
c) The hotel was fully sold out during the long weekend and the staff were very busy. It is possible that your orders took a little longer than they should have, and we do apologize for the same. We are working on adding more staff shortly to the premises .
d) Given the modern map tools available online, we do ask our guests to check if the location meets their needs. That said, most of our guests love the relative isolation that Vagator gives.
e)We promise that your next stay will be better and we invite you to see the property once it is fully refurbished , by next month end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was nothing like we saw on the reviews and pictures. Though the location and layout is nice, the property is very poorly done up and very poorly maintained. Not at all like the other casa group properties. Plus the pictures of this property on the net are completely misleading. Please dont go by them.

Apart from the infrastructure, there is a big question mark on the service levels. We faced a very unnerving incident. We booked through Agoda which showed various categories of rooms with descriptions and pictures. The description and the pictures clearly showed a sea view location. When we reached the hotel, the reception proudly told us that there is a problem with Agoda and the categories and descriptions mentioned by them are wrong. So what they had for us was a completely different looking and located room, much more basic without any view whatsoever. They were also not shy to mention that it is Agoda's problem and not theirs, and that their sea view rooms are anyways under maintainence!!!

After a lot of argument and threat to speak to their management, they gave us a better room for one night, out of two, and for the second night, we had to settle into the same basic room. Of course the threat and argument worked to get them to be nice to us for the stay, but the rooms were extremely disappointing, and we repented on chosing this property out of so many available in the off season in that isolated area of Vagatore.

All in all, i was pretty disappointed with my first ever stay in a casa property. Not at all like what we had heard or seen on the net.

There is another property next to them called 'Ozean Heights'. Much better property, in location and infra. I would strongly recommend that to people reading this. There are many more in that area. Casa Vagatore doesnt really deserve us.

Room Tip: If you still decide to stay after the above review, dont book through Agoda and specifically ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Casa Vagator, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are grateful for your review and for giving your views on your stay. After a discussion with the staff, we wish to point out the following facts mentioned by reception.

a) You had booked the Category 4 room, the most economical available room on Agoda. And your friend had booked the Category 3 room. After your check in , to accommodate your request to have rooms next to each other and with Sea View, the reception upgraded both rooms for 1 night to Suite rooms. Thus you received a large amount in room discount for 2 rooms due to the upgrade.

b) As both suites were booked the following day, you were both accommodated in adjacent Valley Suites, our category 3 Room, at a big discount for 2 rooms. For both days, no additional amount was charged for the upgrades

c) As you have yourself mentioned, the staff went out of their way to look after you and accommodate your needs.

d)On a general note, several of the common and room areas are subject to gale force winds and rain in the monsoon. The hotel uses protective shielding to minimise damage to the furnishings and fittings, but maintenance remains a continuous activity till the monsoon season ends. Some minor damage to finish on wood does occur, and we do our best to rectify the same immediately.

e) In spite of all these efforts, we regret that you are not satisfied with your stay. We hope you will give us another chance. You have yourself recommended the Suite No 15. for its view. We invite you to visit the property once after the monsoon ends in October, to see how beautiful it can be.

f) Our management has written a strongly worded email to Agoda regards the misrepresentation, and we will try to ensure it is corrected at earliest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Vagator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vagator

Address: House No. 594/4, Vozran, Vagator 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Vagator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vagator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Vagator 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Casa Vagator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vagator Hotel Vagator
Casa Vagator Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Vagator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.