We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all around, staff is outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Casino and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added South Beach Casino and Resort to your Saves list
South Beach Casino and Resort
One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great all around, staff is outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at Southbeach. We had a great time and Southbeach continues to impress. If you want to visit/stay at a casino hotel you cannot find a better overall place to go within a day's drive of Winnipeg than Southbeach.

Hotel - the rooms are very nice, clean, and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are equipped with decent sized flat screen tvs, IPOD docking stations, and coffee makers, amongst other amenities. Housekeeping service is excellent and front desk staff friendly and efficient. The hotel has a large beautiful pool and pool area with a large skylight area. There is no spa in the pool area. The room rates are very reasonable compared to other places we've been too.

Restaurants/food - the resort's main restaurant is Mango's which offers both menu ordering and a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Prices are reasonable and the food is generally very good. Buffet prices on weekend are a little higher when they have seafood and prime rib featured, but still a good value. You can also eat in the Blue Dolphin lounge. The food is very good and reasonably priced. On weekends they have a "beer and steer" special in the lounge for a reasonable $12.59. You can order food in the lounge till about 12:30 AM. Beside the front desk their is deli with ready made sandwiches, pastries etc. You can get food there 24 hours a day which is an improvement from last time we stayed as they used to close it around 12-1AM. Southbeach also offers room service. We tried food in all the various outlets and every meal was good and reasonably priced.

Lounge/entertainment - The Blue Dolphin lounge is open daily from 11AM (I think) to 1:15AM. It's a great lounge with a good atmosphere. We were there Fri, Sat, Sun and on Fri, Sat they offer free entertainment/bands in the evening from about 8PM-12AM. On the Sunday they featured NFL and NHL games, there is about 5-6 large screen TVs. They also have daily drink specials and during Jets games they have specials as well.

Casino - Southbeach has a good size casino with a wide variety of slots, and video poker and video keno machines. They also have table games like blackjack, roulette, and a poker room.The poker room did not appear to be as active as it had been when we visited in the past. The casino was recently renovated and is nice and clean, bright, and easy to find your way around.

Promotions - Southbeach offers a lot of promos which is one of the things that makes it much more attractive than the Winnipeg casinos and other casinos within a few hours drive of Winnipeg. On Tuesday's and Fridays you can earn a free buffet for either 3 or 4 hours play. There are numerous days when you can earn multiple points on your club card account. They also have a 50th plus club which entitles you to 20% off food any day and 50% off on Sundays. They also offer a stay and play package which is a great value. In short Southbeach is just loaded with promos! There are also at least 3 (maybe more?) self serve beverage areas in the casino where you can get various coffee beverages as well as soda drinks. They also offer a free valet parking service.

Staff - The staff at Southbeach is really what makes the difference and makes the resort more attractive than other casino/resorts/hotels. In a word the staff is exceptional. Every staff member we've encountered at Southbeach is friendly and treated us well. Obviously it is their jobs to be hospitable but you really get the sense that most of them really enjoy their jobs and enjoy interacting with customers, making them feel welcome and ensuring they have a good time. It's pretty apparent to me that Southbeach's management/owners have created a resort and atmosphere such that their top priority is to ensure that guests are well taken care of and all the staff has bought in. You really feel welcome and valued at Southbeach from the moment you walk in till the moment you leave.

In summary Southbeach is a great resort/casino that is well worth visiting and staying at. We highly recommend Southbeach to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
44
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was hesitant to stay at a casino hotel, but as it is the only location close to Grand Beach, I had no choice. I have been to this hotel twice now, two years apart, and I
continue to be very pleased with how management is running this hotel. The staff are all very professional, courteous and attentive to your needs. The hotel itself is clean, well managed and comfortable. The rooms are bright and well furnished. The beds are very comfortable, the linens are crisp with a nice duvet over top. Management has done an amazing job of separating the hotel from the casino in terms of the activity. There is an all you can eat buffet in the restaurant, although a little on the pricey side. I applaud the management staff, It is well run with a level of professionalism rarely seen these days. I enjoyed my stay here and will likely return when visiting friends at grand beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What can I say about South Beach? In one word fabulous! Top notch staff great food, fantastic atmosphere. Excellent entertainment on weekends. Excellent cliental compared to those casinos in Winnipeg. Worth driving the extra miles to go there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The old girl and I just dropped in for a night stay, on my way north.
This time we found the room and hotel very clean, the food was much better than last year.
Service could improve. We did find the slots in casino to be tight, and so only spent half as much as last year. However that is how the game goes, better luck next time. overall good time.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Although the name and address are somewhat misleading as the hotel is surrounded by prairies and there isn't an ocean for hundreds of miles we always enjoy staying there. Reasonable rates, clean rooms and a fun casino. Also probably the best wifi that I have encountered in years of travelling. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'll start by saying that this was the first time in 30 years that my husband and I have spent the night away from home. We were really excited and looking forward to a night away! ... and perhaps that made this experience sting more ....
Check in was great and fast. Only 1 of the 2 elevators was in working order, and I get it, these things happen. The room was small but clean and the beds were very comfortably to sleep in. A small coffee pot, coffee, powdered creamer (brand name), sugar, diet sugar and tea were in the room for our use. TV was ok but the majority of the stations were sports, which is great if you're into sports but we are NOT. We weren't there to watch TV all the time anyway :)
We had a horrible night sleep, we should have but didn't notice that the room with the ice machine, "pop" machine and "junk" food machine were right on the other side of our room wall. The room wasn't very sound proof not only did we hear everyone walking down the hall but we got to hear their conversations very clearly ... The room air conditioner/heater, although it cooled the room fine, was very noisy and we finally turned it off. We decided to head for the pool which is open to kids/family until 10 pm and then 10-11 for adults. We went down after 10 heading to 10:30 and it was filled with kids .... forget that!
All in all, it was a ok night, not great, but we're not overly fussy people.
The next morning though at checkout ... I mentioned about the noise from the ice machine room ... it was a comment, nothing nasty ... and the clerk said "well next time you have to ask for a room away from it" ... I thought it and didn't say it ... use you're imagination! A comment about sorry to hear that would have been nice ...
Part of the room package was 2 breakfast with us paying $5 for each. We were fine with that but we went for breakfast and was told it was closed .at 10:30 a.m. and it was now 10:40 a.m. and lunch buffet would be ready for about 45 minutes. Absolutely nowhere was it stated that breakfast would be finished at 10:30 a.m. and we were not the only guests going without breakfast. We landed up in the bar, sharing some chicken wings. Dissappoint, we had planned on spending the day in the casino, staying for supper. It was very disappointing end to what should have been a pleasant experience.
Casino lost out because of this, the husband was so angry we headed home with our gambling money in our pockets all $1000 of it! It was supposed to be a great time to remember, we'll remember it alriight but not for the reasons we thought we would!
Will be go back to spend the night ??? I have a bitter taste in my mouth from this experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only drove up for the day to check out the casino - it was very nice, lots of my favourite slot machines. It wasn't that crowded, even on a Saturday - could always get a machine I liked. The no smoking is great, makes it much more enjoyable. We also tried the Saturday prime rib buffet - it was delicious. Not a huge buffet, but the salads and side dishes were nice and the prime rib was excellent - perfectly medium rare. We also enjoyed the selection of pies for dessert, especially the pecan. We joined the players club 50 +, and even got a discount on the buffet, which was already reasonably priced, and some free slot play. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Will certainly make the trip back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and live poker room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury
South Beach Casino And Resort Manitoba/Scanterbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Casino and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.