We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to return to Cuaneen House . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuaneen House

Cuaneen House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cuaneen House
Beach Road | Carramore, Louisburgh, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Louisburgh B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love to return to Cuaneen House . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have had two lovely holidays at Cuaneen House where Teresa and family are so welcoming. Views are stunning and the beach is one of the best in Ireland. Food is wonderful and this is a lovely old-fashioned farmhouse B and B where you will be made to feel completely at home. Very, very good value and in a spectacular, unspoilt and off-the-beaten-track location which makes this place very special and well worth seeking out . . .thoroughly recommended although I am tempted to keep Cuaneen House a secret . . . . shhhhhhhh. . . ..

Room Tip: Carrowmore Beach room is larger I think . . . we had Achill View room this time and it's not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. There were 5 of us doing a cycle trip along the west coast taking place over 7 days. Louisburgh being our 5th stop.
The house is located at the top of the hill with magnificent view of the sea and the surrounding hills and country side.
Greeted by a warm welcome and a cup of tea/coffee, followed by a dip in the Atlantic.
The hostess, Therese was very friendly and helpful and suggested places to eat in the town. We were even offered a lift into town which we gratefully accepted.
The breakfast the following morning was first class. Although a bit slow to come out, the taste and quality was delicious.
I would highly recommend this B&B. It's relaxing and has a warm feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hostess, Mrs. Therese Sammon, was gracious and helpful. The gardens were untended - a bit of a disappointment. We learned a valuable lesson about B&Bs - NO upstairs room. It was very difficult to navigate narrow stairs with two weeks worth of luggage. Fortunately, Mr. Sammon helped carry the heavy bags, but still, for two ladies with bad knees, those steps were formidable. Breakfast was OK, but this coffee-holic truly hated the instant coffee! Still, the location was perfect for our purposes and the view of Crogh Patrick was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night, and were very impressed. Our triple room was large and beautifully appointed, as was the rest of the house, and the windows let in the wonderful sounds, scents, and sea breezes. Our hostess offered tea or coffee in the sun room, which was lovely, as was the full Irish breakfast the next morning. The short walk to Blue Flag beach was the highlight of the day, and we stayed to watch the sun set over Clew Bay and Achill Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had the good fortune to stay in this beautiful guest house. What a find!The house is warm and welcoming as is the owner Theresa(and husband Frank of course!) The bedrooms are good and eating that hearty breakfast while enjoying the magnigicent views is such a delight.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Despite the cold weather, we headed for Louisburgh on the sometimes wild but ever beautiful Clew Bay. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the magnificently located Cuaneen House. The wonderful views from this B and B were only bettered by the warmth of the welcome (and of course legendry Full.Irish breakfasts) from our host, Theresa .Her comfortable,warm and well appointed guest house afforded us a memorable few days in a truly lovely place.Thanks- we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our hostess opened the door in her overcoat. Alarm bells rang. We stepped into a very cold, chilly porch. Sad to say this temperature prevailed as we climbed the stairs, entered our rooms, and returned to have our tea- shivering in the sitting room. There was no heat at all. When we asked if she planned to put the heating on, she said it came on at eight and surely we didn't expect her to have it on all day and night. There was a heater in each room. The bed was cold and a couple of layers were necessary to get warm. There was an electric blanket on one bed, but it wasn't up to the job. In the morning I put my hand on the radiator; mildly tepid is overstating the temperature.

We were charged 40 euro each per night. We would have been happy to exchange the beautiful view, the well cooked breakfast for a nice warm stay. We were extremely disappointed: the glowing reports from others irrelevant in the driving rain, high winds and freezing temperatures(both inside and out) of the coldest March evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuaneen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuaneen House

Address: Beach Road | Carramore, Louisburgh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Louisburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuaneen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cuaneen House to your Saves list