We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with Cousins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West View Hotel to your Saves list
West View Hotel
Chapel Street, Louisburgh, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Clinton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun with Cousins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Being a SHERIDAN from Aillemore, Grandfather Patrick Sheridan, I was surprised to find that I was related to the Walsh family, who are the proprietors of the West View. It seems the Sheridans, the Needhams, and others extended the roots to the Walsh family. My stay with friends was extremely hospitable, the lamb stew was the best and of couse cold beer and warm conversation made for the perfect stay. There are no finer people than those in Louisbourgh. Good friends like Joe MCNamara, the owner of McNamara's pub, his bartender Laurence O'Toole, Gerald Kerrigan, Vincent Kerrigan, the Davitt family, the Gavins, the Burkes, the O'Malleys, the Maxwell family, Padraig McHale and so many others. Always enjoy my stay and plan to return to the West View Hotel this sprig. -- Ed Sheridan, HIMSELF

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff and everyone involved in this hotel deserve a gold medal, they are the most friendly and giving people we have ever met. Food was great Irish home cooked food, room was very very clean and spacious, great views and the location is a home away from home, strongly recommend for anyone traveling too the west of Ireland.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Went back this year and all much as before. Didn't stay but used the bar - OK. Noticed the lift does not now work (seems to have been off for a while) although there are ground floor rooms (I belive) that guests who cant manage the stairs can use. Prices though do seem much the same as in Westport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The bar/restaurant does not seem to be open as much as you'd expect from a hotel. Rooms are clean but very ordinary. No real restaurant - seems the room doubles as a function room - decore quite dark and odd. Not bad but not what you'd expect from literature. Derelict building very close - doesn't do much for first impressions. Reasoably friendly. OK but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Rear looks onto river and countryside. Front looks onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We opted for the West View Hotel in Louisburgh after first looking at hotels in Westport which we found to be way overpriced. The West View Hotel was a perfect alternative in so far as the price was very reasonable and the location suited us very well. Easy drive to Croagh Patrick (10mins) and Westport (approx. 20mins).
The rooms are all on the first floor and the hotel has a lift. The decor is not modern, but it is clean and comfortable with a cooked breakfast included. There is free parking at the back of the hotel and some good pubs and restaurants in Louisburgh. We found it a great alternative to the expensive Westport options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Terrific hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel rooms were first class as was the excellent service and great food at very reasonable prices. A truly family friendly hotel with great staff & service. Looking forward to our next visit already. The only negative is that we has no idea about just how much this location has to offer with fabulous beaches nearby & stunning scenic drives surrounded by mountains and lakes. Definitely one of Ireland's hidden treasures.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Last July, My family and I stayed for a week in "The West View Hotel," Louisburgh. On arrival we were greeted by the manageress/owner Mary Walsh. She was so welcoming to our family, we had made a long journey from Dublin after our long flight and we were exhausted! Thankfully Mrs Walsh and her staff were there to look after our every needs. The hotel was spotless, the rooms were spacious and the decor complimented the traditional yet modern Irish! Which myself and my family loved. JJ's bar and restaurant was the traditional Irish pub with warm and friendly locals there to welcome you to the village. The food from breakfast to dinner was fantastic, I work as a food and restaurant critic for a news paper in London and I found the food in JJ's to be the best I tasted while on holiday in Ireland. (try the cod or steak, yum!) We filled our days with different activities from mountain climbing to surfing to scenic walks Louisburgh and the surrounding area has everything holidaymakers look for if you want to relax and put your feet up or push yourself to the limits! Louisburgh, "The West View" and their staff made our trip to Ireland one we will never forget..... we have already booked our holiday for next July. We cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Louisburgh, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West View Hotel is a modern, recently developed 18 bedroom hotel in County Mayo, where you can step back in time to an olde-world charm of days gone by. Enter into a relaxed setting where you will be met with the unique personal friendliness for which the west of Ireland is famous, with some good old fashioned Irish hospitality. All rooms have been luxuriously furnished and offer a homely atmosphere. There is a choice of single, double, twin and family rooms all with en-suite facilities, TV, internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. The West View Hotel combines efficient service with flexibility, while maintaining a warm inviting atmosphere. Whether you are enjoying sophisticated dining in The Weir Restaurant or you are a guest at a wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your West View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.