We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West View - OK but not the 'luxury' promised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West View Hotel to your Saves list
West View Hotel
Chapel Street, Louisburgh, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“West View - OK but not the 'luxury' promised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The bar/restaurant does not seem to be open as much as you'd expect from a hotel. Rooms are clean but very ordinary. No real restaurant - seems the room doubles as a function room - decore quite dark and odd. Not bad but not what you'd expect from literature. Derelict building very close - doesn't do much for first impressions. Reasoably friendly. OK but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Rear looks onto river and countryside. Front looks onto street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We opted for the West View Hotel in Louisburgh after first looking at hotels in Westport which we found to be way overpriced. The West View Hotel was a perfect alternative in so far as the price was very reasonable and the location suited us very well. Easy drive to Croagh Patrick (10mins) and Westport (approx. 20mins).
The rooms are all on the first floor and the hotel has a lift. The decor is not modern, but it is clean and comfortable with a cooked breakfast included. There is free parking at the back of the hotel and some good pubs and restaurants in Louisburgh. We found it a great alternative to the expensive Westport options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Terrific hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel rooms were first class as was the excellent service and great food at very reasonable prices. A truly family friendly hotel with great staff & service. Looking forward to our next visit already. The only negative is that we has no idea about just how much this location has to offer with fabulous beaches nearby & stunning scenic drives surrounded by mountains and lakes. Definitely one of Ireland's hidden treasures.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Last July, My family and I stayed for a week in "The West View Hotel," Louisburgh. On arrival we were greeted by the manageress/owner Mary Walsh. She was so welcoming to our family, we had made a long journey from Dublin after our long flight and we were exhausted! Thankfully Mrs Walsh and her staff were there to look after our every needs. The hotel was spotless, the rooms were spacious and the decor complimented the traditional yet modern Irish! Which myself and my family loved. JJ's bar and restaurant was the traditional Irish pub with warm and friendly locals there to welcome you to the village. The food from breakfast to dinner was fantastic, I work as a food and restaurant critic for a news paper in London and I found the food in JJ's to be the best I tasted while on holiday in Ireland. (try the cod or steak, yum!) We filled our days with different activities from mountain climbing to surfing to scenic walks Louisburgh and the surrounding area has everything holidaymakers look for if you want to relax and put your feet up or push yourself to the limits! Louisburgh, "The West View" and their staff made our trip to Ireland one we will never forget..... we have already booked our holiday for next July. We cant wait!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I stayed at the West View in April 2008. I thought it was a wonderful hotel - very attentive and friendly host and staff. My room was comfortable, nice decor. Breakfast and pub meals were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Stayed here for 1 night while attending friend’s party in the town.

This is a clean, comfortable hotel. Not in the luxury category but we were more than happy with it. We had a ;arge bright room with a nice bathroom. The bar food was good and we had a very pleasant stay overall.

The exceptional thing about this hotel was the staff, they were so so friendly. We had long conversations with numerous staff members, they just could not have made us feel any more welcome.

The people we met in Louisburgh also surprised us by how friendly they were. If you are planning a trip to Ireland, I think this would be a nice place to visit to experience true Irish warmth and hospitality.

I would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Hotel

Address: Chapel Street, Louisburgh, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West View Hotel is a modern, recently developed 18 bedroom hotel in County Mayo, where you can step back in time to an olde-world charm of days gone by. Enter into a relaxed setting where you will be met with the unique personal friendliness for which the west of Ireland is famous, with some good old fashioned Irish hospitality. All rooms have been luxuriously furnished and offer a homely atmosphere. There is a choice of single, double, twin and family rooms all with en-suite facilities, TV, internet access, tea- and coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. The West View Hotel combines efficient service with flexibility, while maintaining a warm inviting atmosphere. Whether you are enjoying sophisticated dining in The Weir Restaurant or you are a guest at a wedding or celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.